We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
218
121
42
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
121
42
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews summer holiday salad buffet wonderful place reception tourists guests beach
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The staff at this hotel couldn't be more charming and helpful, and the rooms are comfortable, but there are a lot of other downsides unfortunately. Firstly the hotel is most definitely not wheelchair accessible, despite its claim to be so on travel booking internet sites. There is a very steep metal ramp to reception which is positively dangerous. No grip underfoot and too steep if, like me, you are a smallish woman pushing a largish man in a wheelchair! But worse there is no ramp at all to the bar and pool area, which is up several steps. And the lift to the rooms could only take the wheelchair if it was semi lifted in. Secondly the hotel is situated on the only stony stretch of beach in the area (which is famous for its soft sand). The beach furniture is not the best, and the services at the beach are minimal. And the hotel is really between Grottamare and San Benedetto del Tronto, so there is not much else in the immediate area. It's a drive or bike ride to shops, ice cream and a proper seafront with bars and restaurants. Finally the drinks are pricey (30 euros for a bottle of prosecco) and the food was not great. The salad buffet is fine. Pasta ok. The main courses were tired, often lukewarm and unappealing. The main course meat or fish was accompanied by stone cold chips or oven baked potatoes and overcooked cold greens from a self service area. Puddings ran out if you weren't quick and the fruit was largely unripe. Sorry for a negative review, if it was wheelchair accessible I would be much more positive but being misled on that made our holiday so much more troublesome than expected

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank judeandrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo O, Proprietario at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest,
from your nickname we deduced that you are still our Guest, I am very sorry that you wrote a review before coming directly to me that I am always here in the Hotel from the morning when you wake up until evening when you go to bed, to assist and help you personally also for your ambulation problems.

All my Staff is humanely careful to your condition and we inform you that our Hotel is certificate to host every kind of disability and every department is reachable easily.
About the restaurant, we have a full board treatment with an unique menù à la carte and I am astounded about your considerations.

I hope you will find the courage to come directly to me in the next days. Filippo Olivieri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

My family and I (two children - 6 and 3) stayed here for a week in July.

I think we were the only non-Italian guests, which was absolutely great. It was a real experience to observe how Italians go on holiday.

The hotel is located just fifty metres from a sandy beach, with umbrellas and sunbeds allocated per room.

The hotel has a regular pool and then a shallower childrens pool. Most guests seemed to go to the beach in the morning and the pool in the afternoon, so we normally had the pool to ourselves in the morning.

Before we travelled, we read that there was 'entertainment' provided, but we assumed that this was for children. We were wrong - it's mostly for adults. Apparently this is the norm for all hotels in Grottammare, that there are reps employed who engage the guests in various games etc. in the afternoon (from around 4pm until 6:30pm at Hotel Parco dei Principi) and then again in the evening (from 9:30 pm until around 11 pm at Hotel Parco dei Principi). The evenings entertainment offerings included a conjuerer, a falcon show and a cabaret, performed by the reps.

We stayed with full-board, which I think is the only option available. We were expecting a buffet but were very positively surprised when it wasn't. Breakfast is a buffet, but lunch and dinner only have a salad buffet. The rest of the food, is ordered from a menu and prepared freshly (three choices of both primi and secondi). The waiters are very friendly and helpful, although many of them don't speak much English.

The reception staff were very patient and helpful with our numerous questions and really tried their best to ensure we had a a good stay.

The only downside, was our room was located right beside where the entertainment took place (often with loud music playing), which isn't great when you have young children who need to sleep. The suites are the biggest rooms, so we could see the logic in being allocated it, it was just frustrating when we arrived. Most Italian children stayed up to see the entertainment, so it's obviously not a problem for them that there rooms are located here, and after a few nights, we concluded this was probably the best solution, so ours stayed up as well!

Grottamarre old town is well worth a visit, which is about ten minutes drive away from the hotel. It's very charming, and without the huge numbers of tourists that we encountered in the second part of our holiday in Tuscany.

Overall an excellent week in the sunshine.

Room tip: The suites are apparently the biggest rooms, although located by where the entertainment occurs.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo041271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

A family run hotel that has been in the area for years, the rooms are ageing a bit, but are kept clean. The position of the hotel is optimum as it is a stones throw from the beach and it has a large fresh water pool that is well maintained, too. Prices for a stay are reasonable compared to hotels in general in Italy. During the high season, of course, these prices will change as with anywhere. Grottemare is a wonderful place to take long walks along the beach. The people are friendly, without that snobby attitude that you can get in other areas. Along 'lungo mare' the beach is dotted with cozy chalets for seasonal guests and tourists and one can have a pleasant aperativo as the sun sets over the sea.

Room tip: Restaurants in hotels can vary widely and this one follows that trend. Full board menus for holidays, I have never liked as one gets 'locked in' at the residence and their food. For a more pleasant and varied stay opt for a B&B plan where only breakfast is paid for and then choose to either eat lunch or not and dinner becomes more pleasurable with the many choices of restaurant in the region; from fish along the coast to more hearty meaty fares in the hills close to the sea. Certainly, the full board option will cost less in the end, but there will always lack that holiday, eating out sensation.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DRJPS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo O, Proprietario at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Thank You for Your feedback and we Hope to see You soon!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Another business trip another hotel, it was OK, the room was clean and typical Italian, in need of modernisation. The hotel consists of 2 buildings with an out door pool, the reception is nice with a small bar and seating area, the restaurant is quite big and slightly dated. The food in the evening was reasonable but breakfast lacked quality and choice. cereal in plastic bowls wasn't 4 star!
I visited in february so its hard to be critical of the town, being out of season, but the hotel restaurant was closed on tuesday which meant a bit of a trek to a restaurant in the town.
The location was right on the beach, but the beach is very stoney, the best sand is about 1/2 mile up the promenade, which is nice and flat ideal if you have walking issues. Overall OK for a short stay but not 4 star and not for a week.

Room tip: Odd number rooms face north along the cost, even numbers south.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angNpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Lovely location,between Grottmmare and S.Bened.del Tronto,so you can walk or rent a bike on the 3 km long beach.
The rooms are very small,you could hit your feet trying to enter the bathroom or go out at the balcony and they are crying for a total renovation.The maid comes to clean every day but except changing the sheets the rooms still remains not really cleaned.
We were promised on written form 2 pool view rooms but on arrivel we got only one and -a sorry for the other room.But that doesn t bother us too much.
The pool remained cold all the time,you can swim only if the air temperature is over 35 degrees so you dont feel the cold.The beach is nice but there is no coffee shop belonging to the hotel so you need to take cash and go somewere else and buy an icecream or coffee.
The stuff is very gentle trying to help in any situation.The restaurant is all italian,the main courses are on demand and they always came hot and well prepared,we liked it,but we were surprised they served pizza as a occassion at 22.30 h only once(and this happens in Italy).The salads and fruits are in a buffet style and if smth finished they dont replace it.
Comparing to were we have been the hotel is not worth for the money they ask for and the conditions they offer.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreativeSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews