We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday rental in the West”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of An Taigh Soilleir

An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
King size bedroom with ensuite wet room Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
King size bedroom with ensuite wet room
Double Bedroom
Dining Room
Some of the local wildlife
View of hills to the South from rear of An Taigh Soilleir
The machair and beach
Upstairs Sofa/TV area
Upstairs Sofa/TV area - Sofa Bed
Preparing the kitchen for holidaymakers!
Living Room
Lewis Chessmen
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best holiday rental in the West”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A wonderful modern well built house which is tastefully furnished with everything anyone could wish for. We were sorry to leave it at the end of holiday! My husband is confined to a wheelchair but was able to access the house with minimal assistance and he really appreciated the space inside as well as the neat wet room(s). We have stayed in many rental properties here and abroad some advertised as wheelchair friendly but none was more suitable than An Taigh Soilleir.
The views of the hills from the kitchen window and of the sea from others was a delight as was the total peace and tranquility of the township.
We were blessed with wonderful sunny warm weather waking every day to sunshine which enhanced the entire island.
Loch Sgiport and the islands of Bernaray(North Uist) and Eriskay are well worth visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and amenities of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
St Laurent en Royans, France
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We spent a week at An Taigh Soileir in October, and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The key word for house itself is 'quality': furniture, decoration, fittings, bedding and equipment are all top of the range and make for an extremely comfortable base, where you immediately feel at home, and which is ideal to explore the Uists and Benbecula. We particularly appreciated the peace and quiet, both inside (with a separate sleeping area) and out (we even had a glimpse of Northern Lights one evening). A well –stocked supermarket only 5 minutes away was an added luxury in the Isles! If we return to this part of the world one day, this is definitely where we'll stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort. An extremely well-appointed house
Liked least: Too far away to go more often!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPM_9
Glasgow
1 review
“A lovely comfortable house providing excellent facilities.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

First class self-catering accommodation. This is a lovely comfortable house with plenty of room and excellent facilities, from a well-stocked kitchen to big fluffy bathroom towels. There was a vast array of information on local amenities and activities, with some extra handy tips from previous visitors in the visitors' book. Will definitley be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavisonSt...
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic - perfect quality accommodation in beautiful location.”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Just returned from one of the best family holidays ever!, and in Scotland! An Taigh Soilleir is a perfect family or group accommodation. Best self catering property I have stayed in. Recently refurbished, everything was in 5 star condition and every possible thing you could need was provided. We were fortunate to have good sunny weather which also enabled us to take full advantage of the outside terrace and BBQ patio and garden.
Every view from the bright large windows is fantastic, with beautiful sunsets to the West. It is a good location for getting to the nearby beach and central for going both North to Benbecula and South to Eriskay. We are desperate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Shear comfort, relaxing, warm and homely.
Liked least: Very little, if pushed I would say a log burner fire would be nice in cooler climes!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family house, wonderful location”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed in the house the first week of July. As other reviews say it has been completely re-furbished to a very high standard, and very thoughtfully kitted out with everything you might need. We got lovely weather, and the views from the house are great with fantastic sunsets. The house is in a good location for going North and South in the chain of islands. The house is very spacious. There are really four bedrooms. While feeling luxurious it is very practical for a large family and we did not feel as if we had to tip-toe round lush furnishings. We really enjoyed ourselves and I would wholeheartedly recommend the house to a family. The owners met us at the house and all the arrangements went smoothly. Like other reviewers on ours tay we say deer and seals. Also, while it rained everywere else - even France - we had lovely weather, but I guess this can't be guaranteed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and baking in the really good kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing