We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect introduction to the Outer...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Corrodale Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Corrodale Cottage garden and outhouse
Beach at Ardivachair Bay Iochdar South Uist
Profusion of vibrant colour on South Uist machair
South Uist from Eriskay
Bathroom
Uist beach
Uist beach
Some wildlife red throated divers
Machair South Uist
seal on the east coast of South Uist
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
P_M_Howar...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect introduction to the Outer Hebrides”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage after seeing a friend's holiday photos and weren't disappointed when we arrived after a long journey. Fresh flowers, champagne and local treats, with a very welcoming host. Corrodale is a delightful cottage, in immaculate condition and with everything you need during your stay, down to a picnic hamper in the outhouse, although it was a little blustery for that during our stay. There are two good shops within a mile and a half and the location means it's quite easy to access most of the islands within 45 minutes or so. Even when the weather closed down for the day we had a lovely time staying cosy by the peat stove, reading and watching films. Highly recommended and we look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable, cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great location for exploring the islands.
Felt very welcomed to the cottage. Great treats, flowers and more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewaygr...
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just enjoyed 2 weeks in this wonderful cottage. We had high hopes having read the reviews on the owners' website and everything previous guests have written is absolutely true. Katie and John are friendly hosts and keen to help and know that you are enjoying your stay. The cottage is a real delight and luxurious in every respect. We travelled extensively during our 2 weeks, enjoying trips to Harris, Barra and Vatersay on wonderfully sunny days and we were so lucky to see these islands at their best - Calmac ferries are easy to book on the telephone in the cottage. Walking is also superb and our favourites were at the RSPB reserve and on the Udal peninsula on North Uist and the walk at Howmore on South Uist. The beaches are unforgettable.
Another highlight was having the opportunity to fish the lochs with experienced ghillies and Storas Uibhist in Daliburgh made this possible, resulting in some special wild brown trout for supper! If you are a fish/ shellfish lover, you will be in your element. Katie even arranged to have a visiting fishmonger call at the cottage with a van bursting with fresh produce.
We had one of our best holidays here and Corrodale Cottage played a large part in our enjoyment of it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia d
Lockerbie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“look no further than this”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

the cottage is ideally located for petrol stations, beaches and supermarkets.
the cottage is extremely well equipped.
we would return again, over and over and over.
the island is very friendly, all passing cars will wave to you.
the air here smells clean and sweet.
there is a coffee shop a short walk away if you want a break from cooking.
we were met there by the owner and her husband who explained the surrounding islands on the landscape and who talked us through things we could do on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience of island life and the cosy cottage is a welcome retreat
Liked least: the bed was a little soft for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderfully relaxing stay in charming accommodation amidst spectacular highland scenery”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We will definitely return as we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Corrodale Cottage which is a beautifully appointed, character accommodation offering everything one could want - and much more! Our first time to these beautiful islands and the welcome from Katie was so warm and inviting. Most certainly a way of escaping normal day-to-day life! An idyllic part of the world especially if one enjoys great walking, magnificent wildlife, wild flowers and spectacular scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property was well appointed and very quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing