We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't ask for more”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Corrodale Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Corrodale Cottage garden and outhouse
Beach at Ardivachair Bay Iochdar South Uist
Profusion of vibrant colour on South Uist machair
South Uist from Eriskay
Bathroom
Uist beach
Uist beach
Some wildlife red throated divers
Machair South Uist
seal on the east coast of South Uist
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diabaig
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is a very nicely appointed traditional style Hebridean cottage with a thatched roof and stone tie downs around the edges - all work done by the owners. There is a comfortable lounge with one oversized chair (almost a love seat) and one leather chair. All mod cons including flat screen TV with satellite reception, wi-fi that could have been better but Katie mentioned that the service to the islands will be improved upon in the near future. A fully equipped kitchenette has a stove, electric burners, microwave and small fridge - everything is compact and well thought out. The bathroom is well appointed with a rain forest type shower head in a glass enclosure and a jacuzzi bath. I damaged the auto-raising and lowering plug so could not use the tub but in my experience that happens a lot with jacuzzi tubs. Plenty of hot water and good pressure. Also plenty of towels provided. The bedroom has a 4 poster type queen bed which I wished was 6 inches longer because I am 6'3" tall but, as a single I could sleep on a slight diagonal. I would say the bed would be problem free for anyone 6'1" or shorter. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows which I think were foam (that I prefer but my wife would not have liked) but there may have been alternatives available from Katie, the owner if I had asked. I could comfortably read in bed by leaving the ceiling lights on as well as the bedside lamps. Slippers and a robe were provided which is a nice touch as well as a welcome hamper with some local delights such as scallops, black pudding and local fudge. There is an outbuilding which has a washer/dryer and spare peat and wood for the peat burning fire in the lounge. All in all, I had a pleasant stay, and thought that Corrodale cottage offered good value for money in a luxury cottage. Of especial importance to me was the fact that the owners were friendly and helpful at all times, despite my handling of the jacuzzi and were respectful of my need for peace and quiet. They were always just a phone call away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Bed not quite long enough for a very tall person
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinderSco...
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2nd time here and just as perfect!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to this beautiful cottage and it was even better than last year. Cannot fault this amazing cottage or these stunning islands in any way. Stayed for two weeks this time and already booked for next year. Dread doing reviews like this as I know it will draw attention to the cottage and make it harder for us to book in the future. Absolutely first class - only issue was having to go home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah A
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage and brilliant for cyclists/walkers!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The other reviews are spot on. We have stayed at a lot of self-catering around the UK and this was easily one of the best. The cottage has been renovated beautifully and to a very high standard. It is a former crofting cottage so is "cosy" but clever interior design means it's still very practical. The bathroom is stunning, and the jet bath lovely after a day out walking or biking. We were quite glad to get one cold and wet day as it gave us an excuse to light the peat fire!

The out-house is a brilliant facility. It's huge and Katie said I was welcome to store my bike in it, which was much easier than keeping it in the car! Really, really handy to be able to put my bike, our walking boots etc in there. Big enough for ten bikes so also handy for empty luggage bags etc while you're staying in the cottage.

If you haven't been to the Uist island chain before this is brilliantly located for exploring, as it's about halfway up the length. You can reach either tip (Eriskay or Berneray) in an hour by car. It's 30-40 minutes from either ferry terminal (Lochboisdale or Lochmaddy).

One final thought - we visited the Museum of Island Life on Skye in the week before we went to Uist and saw another crofting cottage with the interior as it would have been in 1900. Apparently, at its peak, 14 people lived inside!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppyfiel...
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage....... five star plus!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Corrodale Cottage would be hard to beat. Katie met us in the cottage with a roaring peat fire, champagne on ice, flowers in entrance hall and bedroom and a basket full of Hebridean goodies in the fridge including eggs and milk. The cottage is decorated to a very high standard throughout...... the bed is delightfully comfortable with lovely bedding. There are slippers and bathrobes and a plentiful supply of towels.
The kitchen area had everything needed to cook a meal including a dishwasher to help with the washing up!
We had a wonderful week, the weather being kind!
Katie and John were nearby if we needed them.
It was very sad indeed having to pack up and leave on Saturday.

Highly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to base themselves on the Uists in order to explore, walk, birdwatch and so on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high level of comfort and its position
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreckleFr...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This snug and cosy little cottage was the perfect base for two weeks of peace and quiet and exploring the Uists.
When we arrived Katie was there to greet us with a lovely peat fire, champagne and other edibles. We were shown where to find the information about how everything in the cottage worked (all simply explained in one handy booklet) and given recommendations for walks etc.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated throughout. It was lovely to have pictures from local artists on the walls. Lots of books of local interest were also provided so you can find out all about the history of the islands snuggled up in front of a peat fire on a wet and windy evening.
The cottage was equipped with almost everything we could have possibly needed including good quality kitchen equipment so you could cook properly. The one thing we didn't find in the kitchen was a vegetable peeler.
The outhouse has good facilities for washing, drying and ironing and is a great place to store extra stuff like wellies or bikes.
The bed was so wonderfully comfortable it was hard to get out of it. All bedding was lovely cotton and the fluffy towels were in abundant supply.
The bathroom is nice and we liked the idea of an open shower but in practice it makes it quite hard to avoid swamping half the bathroom every morning. We looked for a shower squeegee in week one but failed to find it. It was kindly left out for us in week two and that made dealing with the extra water a lot easier. The spa bath is fun but beware running out of hot water to fill it if you have used a lot of hot water to wash up and shower beforehand.
On the saturday of our second week all the bed linen, towels and bath robes were changed for us, the cottage was cleaned and we were left with more fresh eggs, shortbread, jam and other delicious things. Even the throw and cushions on the bed were changed to match the new colour of the towels which again showed a lovely attention to detail.
Katie was also very understanding when we broke two of the nice Denby mugs by knocking them into the sink (very sorry!).
All in all, this was by far the best holiday cottage we have ever had and we would heartily recommend it to anyone.
We'd also recommend the islands themselves a great place to relax and see (or just hear in the case of corncrakes) lots of lovely wildlife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing