We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous- in every way. Only bad bit was leaving!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Corrodale Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Corrodale Cottage garden and outhouse
Beach at Ardivachair Bay Iochdar South Uist
Profusion of vibrant colour on South Uist machair
South Uist from Eriskay
Bathroom
Uist beach
Uist beach
Some wildlife red throated divers
Machair South Uist
seal on the east coast of South Uist
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KinderSco...
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous- in every way. Only bad bit was leaving!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A week of perfection. What an amazing cottage owned by genuine, kind and lovely people who went that little bit further to give a first class service with a personal touch. The cottage is very high spec, extremely comfortable with an amazing bath. A fabulous welcome with lots of treats and special touches such as bunches of fresh flowers, champagne, shellfish, gorgeous toiletries and nice fluffy towels. The cottage is fabulously located to access Benbecula, south and north Uist, Barra and Berneray. The wildlife seen from the cottage garden is amazing and you don't have to venture far to see otters, owls, hen harriers and seals. The roads are great for cycling and the beaches amazing for walks and runs. Co-op is only 5 mins drive away and is well stocked. Bakery on airport road makes shortbread that is heavenly and the shellfish shop at Kallin harbour is well worth a visit. Lots of mackerel caught for our tea at Loch Skipport and amazing photos of sea and mountains on road to Peter's port ( lots of owls here too). Cannot recommend this beautiful cottage enough. Katie and John will look after you extremely well and I am sure you will fall in love with this very special place. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything- location, setting, champagne, shellfish, bath, wildlife, I could go on and on and on.......
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goasoul
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“THE place to stay on South Uist”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Corrodale Cottage for a week last year,we enjoyed it so much we returned again this year, this time for two weeks.
We were warmly welcomed by Katie, and found champagne on ice and delicious seafood and other treats waiting for us. There were also fresh flowers including red roses in the bedroom.
We spent a delightful fortnight exploring Berneray, the UIsts and Benbecula and it was such a pleasure to return to the cottage each day and enjoy the wonderful spa bath.
The cottage is in a great central location and so is ideally placed for exploring all that the islands have to offer.It is beautifully furnished and decorated, and everything is of the highest quality.
Katie and her family live nearby, but are not intrusive, they are just there if you need them and are always willing to help. We bought a lobster from Kallin harbour and then when we got back to the cottage, we realised we needed a very big pan to cook it, Katie immediately came to the rescue.
We loved our two weeks here and were sad to leave, we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spa bath and the peat fire
Liked least: Nothing that I can think of
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire...
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect location to relax in comfort”
Reviewed 29 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We were given a great welcome- peat fire burning and delicious Hebridean hamper awaited us.. Beautifully restored cottage in perfect location for exploring the Uists and Barra.
This is the perfect venue to return to after a day exploring the wonderful beaches and lochs and seeing the amazing array of wildlife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iainmairi
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A treat for Corrodale guests.”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many a holiday cottage and Corrodale has to be the best. From the genuine warm welcome from Katie, the champagne on ice awaiting us on arrival, the gourmet welcome pack of treats to the comfort and style of the cottage, our stay was an absolute treat!! Corrodale is beyond comfortable, fitted out to the highest standard to cater for guests' every need. The cottage is very stylish without losing it's character. No place better to return to after a day exploring the Uists. My only complaint? We weren't there long enough!
Genuine Highland hospitality at it's best!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 5* luxury of the cottage
Liked least: Wasn't there long enough!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2012 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome pack from owners
Liked least: small sofa
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing