We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Too Many Rough Edges To Honestly Recommend This Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amphibi-Ko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphibi-Ko
Ranked #10 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Coron
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
374 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
“Too Many Rough Edges To Honestly Recommend This Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed at Amphibi-Ko for a week in mid-January 2011 based on some positive feedback I read on Travelblog.org. Ground floor room was 1,200 Peso/ Nite ($28 US) Hotel sits on a 20-foot wide pier jutting out into the bay. Large Filipino families live on either side of the hotel. It gets pretty noisy between the crying kids, the hogs and the roosters all going off at the same time. Take a room as high up in the hotel as you can.

Room is small, rattan-walled. Has TV, A/C and a fridge. No hot water. The problem is that there is no electricity on the island between 6 AM and 6 PM so the A/C cannot be used during the hottest part of the day. We thought this a quaint custom when we first arrived but after three days of sweating it out we were ready to scream. Cisterns are filled by electric pump so make sure you take a shower early as the water has a tendency to run out around 4 PM. We brought a camping shower with us. Available at Wal-Mart for $7. This thing was a life saver as we would fill it in the morning and leave it on the front porch to heat up. We also brought a portable DVD viewer which we charged at night so we could watch a movie during the day. WI-FI only available when the power is on. Family on our left held a cock fight every Sunday around noon. Very popular with the locals. The family on our right had a total of three hogs in a small pen directly behind our room. Very vociferous animals. Everybody on the island owns a rooster. When the power goes on at 6 PM you discover that pretty much everybody also owns a Karaoke machine.

Breakfast (included with room) consists of 1 egg, 2 rolls, 2 hot dogs and some of the weakest coffee I've ever drunk. Restaurant sits right on busy road. Very noisy and exhaust filled air. We bought some instant coffee and had the restaurant provide us with hot water. The restaurant specializes in Japanese food which means Sushi and Sashimi. We tried it once. That was enough. We took our meals at Lolo's up the street. Very good Filipino food. 150 Pesos feeds two.

Staff tries very hard. Inah is the general manager. Her English is passable. She spends a lot of her time pushing day trips and boat tickets. Nicole runs the restaurant as well as she/ he can. Ben is the all around fix-it guy. Very friendly. The hotel also has a boat which you can rent for 1,500 Peso a day. It's captained by Juan and Jun Jun. Very capable guys who provided us with the best day we spent on the island.

Hotel was under construction the entire time we were there. They're adding more rooms. Impossible to nap during the day as they were banging away from morning till evening. This hotel was not a great intro to the wonders of the Philippines.

Room Tip: Take an upper floor to escape the neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Very accommodating and friendly staff. The room is nothing fancy but it suits our basic needs for a restful comfy sleep and have nice warm bath in a fairly clean restroom. They have japanese food in their menu; limited choices so we have to walk around town come dinner time to try other cuisine (our package includes free breakfast and lunch during the tours c/o www.corontour.com). The location is perfect because they have their own port at the back of the lodge where the boat picks you up for the island tours -- so you don't have to wake up extra early to travel to Coron port since you're already there.It's also walking distance to the market and the harbour center, the church, and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank superkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Honestly, I don't recommend the place. Bad customer service and false advertisement. The Japanese dish was good but you have to wait for a long time before you can eat.When you request for water, you even have to wait for like 10 minutes. The room looks great when you get there but then the water service, it was awful. The shower is not working properly, same as the bidette and the sink pipe was not even properly placed. No soap and they dont even change the plastic in the bin in the bathroom. The breakfast was not that great.We had to go out and look for another place where we can eat to satisfy our hunger...so you decide. but for me, its a big NO

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mintedberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

The room was big and new. The bathroom was clean, spacious, had hot and cold shower and basic toiletries (shampoo, soap and toothpaste). Location wise, everything is within walking distance. Bistro Coron (try the Margharita Pizza), the public market, the souvenir shop and the dock. They have their own dock which make it easy to ride the boat and island hop.

The only problem was that construction is currently being done for the second floor, while the first floor was already being rented out. We arrived on a weekday and it was really noisy, all the hammering and grinding of steel, made it hard to rest and relax.

Aside from the construction noises, the roosters will make it hard for you not to wake up early in the mornings. They start crowing at the break of dawn. The neighbors of the the lodge are the local residents of Coron, so this is a good place to watch how the locals go about their daily lives.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Hotel location is OK though sorrounding neighbors leaves a lot to be desired ( there was a male flasher who walks up and down his house on stilts every morning and we had kids and teenagers with us)
We booked all (6) rooms in this hotel ,as all other possible hotels were fully booked, rented their boat for our whole 5 day stay which was negotiated in early Jan by a very good friend who lives in Coron town. Rates given were fantastic & whole group was excited! We got the shock of our life when boat rate changed two days after we got there, and previous agreed upon rate was jacked up due ,accdg to the "manager" to the # of guests in the boat... hmmm As early as Jan she knew that we were going to be a group of 19-20 pax. So after much arguing with the "manager", we all agreed to just pay up, as it was too late to look for another boat and crew ,and we did not want our negotiator to pay the difference. What a bomber! To add insult to injury, as soon as we checked out said "manager" went to my amiga's house to drop off an envelope with "commission"-- which our friend stressed from the start was NOT necessary, so we could be given the best possible price for the rooms (which we did) and boat.
Whats so ironic is that the amount manager TRIED to foist upon my friend as commission was the same amount we were arguing about with regards to the boat rate.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank barcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coron
6.9 km away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
15.9 km away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#6 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
14.5 km away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Busuanga Bay Lodge
Busuanga Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Concepcion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
16.2 km away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
19.1 km away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphibi-Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphibi-Ko

Property: Amphibi-Ko
Address: Poblacion 5, National Highway, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Amphibi-Ko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphibi-Ko Hotel Coron
Amphibi-Ko Coron, Palawan Island, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing