We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceedingly cosy and welcoming.”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Kingsize Mezzanine Bedroom in the Old Parlour looking onto sitting room with real fire below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The Kingsize Mezzanine Bedroom in the Old Parlour looking onto sitting room with real fire below
Open plan lounge, kitchen, diner with surround sound and real fire plus v well equipped kitchen
Inspiring decor, squashy sofas, great walks from your doorstep, games, DVDs, books, magazines
Second cosy double bedroom, Crisp white cotton sheets, complimentary robes and toiletries
Heald Country House between 2 great pubs one has been voted one of the best rural pubs in Britain
Double height vaulted ceiling looking up to the mezzanine bedroom
All the luxury of a hotel suite with the privacy of a country house - a seceret celeb hangout!
Ultimate Romantic Retreat
Relax by the fire
The Old Parlour Courtyard Garden
The Old Parlour Courtyard Garden
The Old Parlour Welcome
The Old Parlour Boutique Retreat
The Old Parlour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cholmondley, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AuntyAsh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceedingly cosy and welcoming.”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A perfect hideaway. Welcoming hosts and lovely surroundInge. The Cholmondeley Arms is a great pub with fabulous food with fab though sadly bearded bar staff. I would strongly recommrecommend this relaxing haven x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivHarrin...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most perfect&snug break away from the real world”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

On first impressions the cottage is idyllic set in the rural countryside,and on being greeted by a most welcoming host... and walking through the door we were met by the most inviting and cosy interior, perfected by the crackling log fire the host had so generously already lit for our arrival. As soon as we got there just wanted to curl up on one of the sofas with a drink...
Personally me my boyfriend and our friends came to this cottage to chill inside and relax which is what the cottage enabled us to do so cosily.
It was really handy the cottage came already stocked with essentials tea etc and for food we ordered in from one of the many places nearby and brought food with us, but it was great to know we had the option of having the host cook dinner for us in the comfort of the cottage or had great places nearby.
There was nothing any of us disliked or had a problem with, however I can see how the poor wifi/internet signal could be a problem for certain guests.Personally it was nice that everyone couldnt go on their phones every two minutes and could really enjoy each others company and be away from all the busyness. Best thing hands down was the log fire we sat by that all day and all night and it really made the experience.
If you want a cosy break away this is the place to go!!
I'd like to add the host,Racheal was super welcoming and on hand with anything we needed, I accidentally left a very sentimental item at the cottage and she was so helpful and kind in getting this returned to me,great host to a great place!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The snug and cosy interior design + log fire
Liked least: The lack of wifi/internet signal.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Robi...
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect up-market retreat for a luxurious few days away.”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Old Parlour is an extremely well presented luxury accommodation with so many nice finishing touches. Lovely fluffy dressing gowns, fresh milk on arrival and delightful furnishings.
Rachel, the owner is extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay in the Cheshire countryside. There are lots of lovely walks, two great pubs within two miles for those who did not want to self cater.
My wife and I will definitely be returning to this wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the accommodatioon had been decorated. Many lovely touches/
Liked least: The smoke alarm was very sensitive but we understand from the owner that this is being sorted w/c 26/1/2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay John. We really appreciate it and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon we hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mick306
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Wonderful experience in an excellent setting. The quality and finish of the barn were first class. All of the equipment was new and modern, and all of the 'little' things were either in a drawer or in a cupboard when you needed it!
The bed(s) were comfortable and the farm is wonderfully isolated, but near enough to great restaurants and pubs when you want them. Rachael was a friendly host, and made sure that we had everything we needed, including lighting the log burner for us before we arrived.
We visited Chester and North Wales whilst there, and Cholmondeley is very convenient for all these places. A great base for exploration and peace & quiet. We would thoroughly recommend a stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Delighted you enjoyed it!! xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSCOW
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect romantic escape!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our 2 night stay was a last minute getaway to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and it was made perfect by the attention to detail that Rachael and Louis have put into the Old Parlour.

So much thought has gone into making this property a relaxing, luxury and indulgent space perfect for spending time with loved ones. From the candles, cushions, throws, dressing gowns, subtle lighting, luxury bedding and toiletries to the excellent docking and sound system, well equipped kitchen, log burner (coming back in winter) and very comfy bed, it was a surprise we ever ventured out!

We made use of the excellent outside space, small and compact but very private with everything you need. We ate outside twice wanting to enjoy the space and sat under the log store wrapped in blankets in the rain - bliss!

Despite enjoying the Old Parlour so much we did venture out and often by foot heading to the Dusty Miller at Wrenbury and a stroll along the canal and also the Cholmondeley Arms (still on foot although a good couple of miles). We ate at the latter and the food was excellent, so too was the chilli gin! We also made it as far as Dearnford Lake, not a huge walk but a great tea shop and view. We headed to Higher Burwardsley and picked up a map in the candle workshop and walked along the Sandstone trail, excellent views and a great spot for a picnic!

Thank you to Rachael for meeting all our needs despite being on holiday! We will definitely be back to sample the garden room!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing