We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
61
28
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
28
10
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

What a fab little place, very hospitable hosts, excellent home cooked food and totally great value for money, would definitely return for a weekend away. Very accommodating place when traveling with a baby, it truly felt like being at home but without the washing up!! If your looking for a simple place out of the city then this really is perfect.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnW635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

me and my wife spent 4 nights in this extraordinary location. The area around the hotel is beautiful and very special. The service and the restaurant was very good. The owner was very kind and gave us tips for walking. Maybe we choose a unfortunate time because the temperature in the restaurant and in our room were unconfortable. All in all, we advise this hotel for people, who are looking for a silently and unique place.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heribert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Lovely auberge in a beautiful area and just a few miles away from the Puy Sancy range and the ski-resorts of Super-Besse and Mont-Dore. This is superb walking country and at the end of the day you want to return to a warm, cosy and welcoming establishment. The Auberge de La Providence ticks all these boxes and many more besides. The owners are friendly and welcoming and the rooms warm and cosy. The cooking provided by Caroline is excellent and although Dutch she has embraced the Auvergnate style of cooking to a high level (I can thoroughly recommend the pork cheeks in a honey sauce). The area is well worth a visit and I would highly recommend staying at the Auberge as a base.

Room tip: We had a rear room, the Hindu Kush, which was very quiet with the exception of a vocal cockerel at sunrise. However, if you stay in the country this is to be expected.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Auberge de la Providence from 11th to 14th April 2012. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. After our daily explorations, Eric and Caroline welcomed us “home” to the relaxing bar and cozy dining room. We enjoyed Eric’s cocktails, one specially created by him with the local Avèze, and he even had lime for a “proper” gin and tonic! A local chef had passed his secrets on to Caroline, and we relished her delicious Auvergnat cooking. The tiny village of St. Donat is picturesque and is a great base for exploring the beautiful countryside. We enjoyed meeting the amiable locals, both at the Auberge and at the little grocery store behind the church where we purchased and learned a lot about local specialties. We will definitely return and highly recommend l’Auberge de la Providence.

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gelamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We spend a lot of time at our house in the Dordogne but decided on a break in the Auvergne..we came across this little hotel and couldn't have been luckier. The place is a gem in a totally unspoilt village close to the Puy de Sancy. Our room was lovely and our two little dogs were made most welcome! This Auberge is strongly recommended and we'll certainly be regular visitors

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stugletKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews