We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most horrifying experience EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allamanda Beach Club
Reviewed 22 August 2016

This property is NOT located beachfront (its approx 1 mile from any decent stretch of beach). There was a ton of damage to the room, the restaurant was NOT open for dinner as advertised (it closed at 4pm and never reopened), the room was completely disgusting, the manager was NOT there at 9am for check out (a maintenance guy told us to leave the key with him), we were left ALONE on the property overnight with no other guests and NO lights on property...PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank july7socal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allamanda-Angui... M, Front Office Manager at Allamanda Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Thanks for your observation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2016

I know it was low season when we visited which was fine by me as I don't like crowds.
The rooms were very clean but it could use a little bit of airing out as their was a weird smell. For a person with asthma like me it wasn't good. Would've given a better rating if it wasn't for this!
I took my son for breakfast at the onsite restaurant and it was by far the best pancakes I think I've ever tasted in my life.
The hotel is not far from Shoal Bay beach. The resort had a nice beach which is visible but was washed away. Not safe to walk on it to shoal bay beach. Probably will not return .
I was lucky to get a ride shoal bay beach by the hotel manager who's really friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allamanda-Angui... M, Front Office Manager at Allamanda Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Allamanda Beach Club for 8 days recently (Feb./Mar. 2016). It was the perfect place for us as it was affordable, quiet, clean, and it had a friendly staff. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the pool area. The grounds were well kept and the pool was always clean and large enough for doing my laps. We had the room with a king-sized bed, a fully-equiped kitchen with all of the appliances in good working order, a good-sized bathroom area, and a lovely private patio in front of our door. Anything that we required (hair dryer, can opener) was promptly arranged. Our manager, Ernie, was a delightful woman, who made our trip to Anguilla extra special.

The location of the hotel is near the Shoal Beach East area. There is a short walk down a cleared path to the beach closest to the hotel. This little beach has been affected by erosion and hurricane damage in recent years, but there are still areas where one can go snorkelling. There are over 33 beautiful beaches on Anguilla so there are lots of other beaches to explore while on this island.

Unless you are staying at one of the very expensive, mega resorts (over $1000 U.S./night), you need a car to get around Anguilla if you want to visit more than one beach or have lunch/dinner at several of the excellent restaurants found on the island.
We would often have a late lunch at a restaurant after a day on the beach and then we would have a quiet, casual dinner in our room. We prefer staying at hotels where we have our own kitchen so that we are not obligated to always eat at the same resort restaurants.

Anguilla is a very special island with the some of the most beautiful, pristine beaches and warm, calm seas. There are no casinos, crowded beaches, or duty-free shopping. There are beach places and resorts where there is entertainment, especially on the weekends, but to me, Anguilla is all about total relaxation, away from the hustle and bustle of resort living.

My husband and I would recommend Allamanda Beach Club to anyone who is looking for this kind of holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank scochrane72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTBYTEST, Front Office Manager at Allamanda Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Suzanne,

Your kind remarks are heart warming. I am delighted that your stay was an enjoyable one and that by God's help you will return in the not too distant future.

Thank you and Peter for coming.

Await and anticipate your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

The Allamanda Beach Club is a nice little hotel, conveniently located near Shoal Bay East on the North East end of Anguilla. We stayed at the Allamanda for three nights recently. The group included my wife and two teenagers.

The hotel is very quiet, it has 12 rooms in the main building and there may be a few more in the property as well. We stayed in Room #9 on the second floor. This room as two double beds.

Staff: The hotel is lightly staffed, Ernie (female) in the office with a couple of other ladies doing cleaning. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. Ernie in particular is a lovely lady with a beautiful smile and an engaging personality. The cleaning ladies were a little quieter, possibly a little shy. The office was open Monday to Friday so Saturday and Sunday are self serve.

Rooms: We arrived on a Saturday, Ernie had left the key and welcome letter for us in the box on the stairs. It was easy to find and the instructions simple to follow. We let ourselves into our room, the room was extremely clean in all respects, the towels were of good quality and plentiful, the sheets and bedspreads were all of good quality. The kitchen was fairly well equipped, certainly for our purposes as we did not plan to do any cooking. The appliances are getting a little dated, but everything worked, similarly the kitchen was also dated but quite functional. The bathroom was clean and everything worked well.

The view from our room was of the pool, partially obstructed. Rooms on the third floor are afforded an ocean view, also partially obstructed by palm trees and the mangroves but still a very nice view of the azure blue waters of Shoal Bay.

Location: The hotel is located on Upper Shoal Bay-East. The hotel used to have a very nice beach of it's own but in recent years erosion and rising water has for the most part eliminated this attribute. It is only a short drive to Lower Shoal Bay East, one of the best beaches on the island. The hotel is also very close to Island Harbour and Savannah Bay where you will find some wonderful restaurants and another lovely quiet beach.

Food: The east end of Anguilla is quieter than the west end and "The Valley" but offers so much! Hibernia (fine dining), Le Bon Pain (excellent coffee and pastries) Artisan Pizza (wonderful wood oven, Nepalese style pies and On Da Rocks for fresh seafood, right off the boats. Finally at Savannah Bay and Junk's Hole is Nat's Palm Grove an incredible (but not inexpensive) find for some of the best lobster, crayfish and johnny cakes on the island.

Value: Ernie has posted rates but depending on time of year and vacancy was happy to discuss pricing and so we were able to establish an acceptable rate for our stay. In my opinion Allamanda represents wonderful value, as the location, cleanliness, quiet environment and functional nature of the property was really good.

Pool: This was the only disappointment. The pool did not seem to be fully functional. The water levels had been dropped so we were unsure and avoided using it. The Hot Tub was also not in service. These were not big issues for us as we went to the beach each day but it would have been nice to have them operating.

If you are looking for good basic accommodation with kitchen facilities in a great location Allamanda should not be overlooked.

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple, then rooms 1-6 on the third floor provide the best views. Families requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank CDN-RS-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allamanda-Angui... M, Front Office Manager at Allamanda Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Thank you for your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our second time at the Anguilla Allamanda in the last 12 years so we thought we knew what to expect. The price is no doubt the best on the island, but one of the reasons we were prepared to put up with the tired and less than spotless resort was its proximity to Shoal Bay East beach. You used to be able to walk to the beach (about 3 minutes walk) through the Allamanda property. The beach has now been washed away.....so a 15 minute walk to the beach or a 5 minute car ride. Very disappointing especially as we weren't told this upon booking. The rooms, bed and air conditioning are Ok but very basic. Also bring your body bug spray as I was eaten alive, even on the third floor. Once I started to use some Deet I was Ok - spouse did not have a problem. I am sweeter I guess. Be prepared to drive as no amenities , except Gwen's and Zara's for food and now without beach access to the magnificent Shoal Bay east, the Allamanda has lost the main thing it had going for it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor maybe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BRCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTBYTEST, Front Office Manager at Allamanda Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hi BR thank you so much for this review. We do hope that we can make your stay a more memorable yet comfortable one. Once again Thank you for choosing the Allamanda as your place to stay we appreciate it and hope to see you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay Village
13 km away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
517 reviews
0.6 km away
Shoal Bay Villas
Shoal Bay Villas
#2 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
204 reviews
4.7 km away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
3.3 km away
Arawak Beach Inn
Arawak Beach Inn
#1 of 4 in Island Harbour
122 reviews
0.3 km away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allamanda Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Beach Club

Address: Shoal Bay East, Shoal Bay Village AI2640, Anguilla
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > Shoal Bay Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shoal Bay Village
Price Range: €228 - €334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Allamanda Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allamanda Beach Club sits on one of the worlds finest beaches - Shoal Bay Beach East Anguilla, known for the best snorkeling on the island. The resort comprises of 16 relaxing rooms in the following categories. 8 Standard Double rooms, 4 Deluxe Double rooms, 2 Deluxe Apartments and 2 Studio Apartments.Our Standad and Deluxe rooms offer breath taking views of the ocean while our Deluxe and Studio Apartments offer the garden and pool view. Each unit has a fully equiped kitchen, private balcony/patio, Dish TV, Radio and fully air condition. Allamanda Beach is in close proximity to many wonderful restaurants including Zara's Seafood Restaurant. Whether you are looking for a relaxing romantic getaway or place for some family fun, Allamanda Beach Club makes it easy. Come and enjoy the "Ultimate Caribbean Hideaway Allamanda Beach Club" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Allamanda Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Beach Club Hotel Anguilla
Allamanda Beach Hotel
Allamanda Beach The Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing