We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
14
4
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
4
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peanut butter local community real africa community center zambia tiko lodge accommodation team meal experience life project products poverty skills children
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2021

We stayed for a week at Tikondane Community Centre and volunteered. To be honest, we received so much more than we gave. We learned so much about Katete and Zambia, the running of an NGO, permaculture activities and how to fight poverty. The people there were incredible. Don't hesitate to go there if you want a true sense of community and an authentic experience. We will come back!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anouckp549
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 May 2020

As a family we visited Tiko Lodge twice on our trip ... on the way from Lusaka to South Luangwa and again on the way back to Lower Zambezi. Tiko was the highlight of our whole trip, welcoming and friendly, safe and secure. The accommodation was amazing: authentic Zambian, clean and tidy with comfortable beds and two bathrooms. It gave our children (aged 7 and 4 years) a real insight into Zambian life. We were given an tour of the community and learnt all about the education and opportunities Tiko gives to the very vulnerable in society. We joined in Saturday Pocketmoney Club with local children (who came to learn how to make compost and other life skills), were taught how to make peanut butter and were served simple, tasty meals on the verandah. All money raised goes directly to the community ... cannot recommend more highly!!!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomeEd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
374elkek, volunteer director at Tiko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2020

Dear Readers, we are very grateful for Mandy's wonderful feedback - we do accept it gratefully since almost all of our guests tell us later that they are homesick for the Tiko family. I am the one Muzungu (white person) running it (and if you are interested in taking over and are financially independent, try us out, as I am getting old) with 75 local volunteer workers, who are the very best representatives of their culture: warm and charming and welcoming and generous, a typical example of their belief that 'a stranger is a friend one has not yet met'. They will show you their life, which is so very different from yours, but with many traits, that one should learn for enjoying life more when living in an affluent society.
We are very sad to not invite you right now. We do all the right things about covid l9, but the country does not yet provide the clinical care it needs, should the virus catch you. The moment we feel we can guarantee your safety, we expect you with both hands, till then WE SHALL OVERCOME without any income, unless you start building your account now, with a little amount every month. What do you think?
With warmest regards and the hope that you s t a y s a f e Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

I visited Tikonda on my way from Lilongwe in Malawi to Lusaka in Zambia. The perfect place to stay if you want to experience local life. Tikondane is a community centre in Katete. It's a beautiful place where local women are trained to be subsistence farmers to achieve better living conditions, like. The prices are very affordable and all the money goes right where it should be.
They offer a lot of activities like a workshop for drumming, making your own jam, peanut butter, soap. Learn about permaculture or visit a traditional ghost dance in a community nearby. I did them all! The people of Tikondane are so warm and welcoming, I felt at home immediately. I had an amazing time, so if you travel to the east of Zambia you should definitely stop at Tikodane.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mariainafrica2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Tikondane is many things. First it´s a community centre that teaches „19 steps out of poverty“ to help locals turn self-sufficient in a cash-strapped economy. Second, it is a cozy little lodge that you can use as a convenient stopover on your way to Malawi or the national parks on the Luangwa river. You can always choose to stay longer, enjoy the tidyness of the spacious rooms, opt for your own bathroom with a shower and hot/cold running water and eat the delicious home made African food that´s served on the shady verandah. I stayed for over a week, tried to learn the complicated greeting rituals (and produced roaring laughter at every turn) and slowly adapted to the rhythm of the community. I watched the gardening, drying of Cassava with solar power and the production of drinking glasses from empty wine or beer bottles. Eventually (like probably 95% of white female guests) I opted for a closer look at the 95-strong preschool class and met Mwasei who not only manages close to a hundred kids in the morning, but also nine of her own in the afternoon. You want to get a glimpse not only of lion, leopard and elephant in Zambia, but also of peoples´ lifes? You want to meet strong and inspiring Zambian women? There´s no better place to start than at Tikondane. And the best part: Your money does not feed a Western tourism tycoon, but goes to sustain an environment-minded community of approximately 1000 people with a 75-year old German-Australian female founder and a consent-oriented, grassroots democratic structure.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Of all the accommodation alternative on this route to Lusaka this was probably the best budget place to stay. It is a little community project. The rooms were nice and the food was good. If you want a hot shower you have to let them know in advance. It sells home made peanut butter and jam which is definately worth buying. We enjoyed our stay here. A nice overnight place and you are helping the community too.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank stuart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews