We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
593
82
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
82
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportquito airporthumming birdsla jimenitahis sonminutes from the airportbeautiful propertynext morningstayed longerbird watchinginternational airportflight pathbetween flightstwo nightsextensive groundshome away from homerooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This family owned inn is a beautifully rebuilt/restored hacienda which includes much family and local history. We were in room 4 which is very large with an extremely comfortable bed, seating area, and beautiful, huge bathroom. We needed laundry done, which was returned to us within a few hours. We ate dinner in the hacienda on three nights. The menu was fairly limited but delicious and included Ecuadorian specialties. Each night we were surprised with an appetizer 'compliments of the house' which was very good.

This is a self contained location about 15 minutes from the airport. It is not a location from which you would walk to dinner or sightsee (plan to eat on-site), but we found it a very good stopover between our Galapagos and jungle adventures. They do have some hiking on the property and a visit to the lamas is a must-do.

We enjoyed meeting other people and discussing our travels in front of one of the many fireplaces and comfortable seating areas throughout the spacious public areas. The owners are very helpful and can arrange airport transportation or sightseeing trips into Quito.

Room Tip: Room 4 was large and very comfortable
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Owner at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Hello Robin,
Great to hear from you and thanks for your review.
Room #4 is Antizana, our deluxe suite, very comfortable king size bed in the main house. Thanks for having the time to enjoy our grounds and our llamas, they are very friendly.
Please keep in touch and visit us again.
Diego and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

This is a delightful hacienda about 15 minutes from the airport. It is located on a nature preserve with lookouts for birders and hiking paths. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Diego arranged our transportation to and from the airport and for a day outing. We also got a tour of bird watching sites on the property in the morning. There are a number of interesting artifacts on the property including an archaeological cave/tunnel. The buildings were clean and comfortable but not modern. The pool and some of the paths were needing maintenance.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cam627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Owner at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Hello and thanks so much for your comments and observations. Its great to enjoy the breakfast looking at the humming birds feeders. Our walks and hikes are all maintain everyday, but the land is quite big so you will experience some vegatation in the path.
The pool will not be opened again, we dont advertise a swimming pool since we dont have it.
Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

My wife Barbara and I stayed at this hotel upon our arrival in Ecuador and again on the night of our departure. The location is only 15 minutes from the international airport making it a prime location for travelers entering or leaving the country. The ambiance is relaxing, the staff friendly and pleasant, and the grounds excellent for strolling or bird watching. Dinner or after dinner drinks beside the wood burning fireplace is the perfect way to end the day. The owner could not be more helpful assisting with the needs of his guests and is extremely informative and engaging regarding the history of this family owned property. We were particularly impressed when he arose at 5:30 a.m. on the date of our departure to personally bid us farewell and see us safely off. This is the perfect place to stay if you are transiting between Quito and the amazon rain forest or the Galapagos Islands.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryWaddell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Owner at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Hello Harry,
thanks for your visit and comments. It was great to meet you as well, we always want to say goodbye to our guests specially when they leave early for their international flights. Hope you arrived safe. Regards,
Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located outside Quito about 15 minutes away from Quito airport. I have chosen it as we were arriving late in the afternoon on one day, were planning to spend one day exploring Quito and departing early in the morning the day after. Since it is half way between the airport and Quito centre, I thought it made more sense to stay closer to the airport and venture into Quito just for one day. It worked well for us.

The hotel is wonderful. The room we had was very nice, large and comfortable. It was warm but not hot and all in all was pretty good. The shower required a bit of playing with first time I used it but was not a problem.

The hotel is located on large beautiful grounds and there are some archeological tunnels on site. We unfortunately didn't explore them as ran out of time.

The service is excellent, friendly and efficient. The food was very good. Breakfast was simple but nice (fresh fruits, fresh juice, eggs and bread). All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel. And it is really good value for money.

One thing to note though, the hotel is located directly under the flight path. It was pretty cool to see the planes through the sky line in our room and the sound didn't bother us even though I am a light sleeper.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Owner at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Hello Svetlana, thanks for your visit and comments. We appreaciate your time and experience at La Jimenita. Regards,
Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We flew into Quito very late and were very tired. Hotel La Jimenita had arranged a ride for us and were so accommodating when we arrived at the hotel. Waking up to a delicious breakfast and the beautiful gardens was a perfect way to start our trip in Ecuador. Everyone was so friendly and the place is absolutely beautiful!! I highly recommend this place! :)

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego C, Owner at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Hello Sally,
Great to hear from you. Im glad you enjoyed our nourishing breakfast after all the travels, our place is very special, amazing small hikes and views. I hope you visit us again.
Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews