We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”
Review of Sandpiper Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed in the Sand Piper Inn for 8 days in June. If you are looking for a beautiful Beach, it is hard to beat the view from the Palapa. We sat with our friends and enjoyed the beautiful breeze and a Beach you only dream about back home. No big crowds, perfect waves, clean and soft sand between your toes as you walk in the morning. We also really enjoyed getting a massage with the sound of the ocean to relax you.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The furniture was crafted by a local artist using trees from the area. Very interesting and beautiful. The bathrooms were spotless and the air conditioners worked perfectly. The view from our room was fantastic. The room had a refrigerator which was nice to keep our beverages cold.
The Ocean temperature was perfect. Swimming in 80 degree water was a fantastic treat. After swimming in the Ocean, we would go in the swimming pool which we named the think tank. It was the perfect size to relax and talk in. The 5 foot depth was wonderful and shaded by the trees. We got to watch the Iguanas and the Macaw Parrots flying by too.
Greg and his wife are wonderful. His manager does a wonderful job of making you feel at home. She picked a Mango off the tree and sliced it for us to try. It was delicious. The grounds were always kept clean and well groomed. You can see how much they all care about doing a good job and making your stay pleasant. If you need a place to eat they had some great suggestions too. If that isn't enough, there was Cory, the Chocolate Lab to provide a fix if you are a dog lover.
Is it the Ritz, No. Was it a great trip, you bet.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have views, but they are ALL only steps away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jahappyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2016

We were 4 adults: one couple and 2 women so we booked two rooms. Upon arrival we were disappointed that the rooms (and hotel) were quite rustic. Although the rooms were fair size, they seemed small because of all the beds. Our double room for my husband and me had extra beds so there really wasn't room for comfortable chairs to sit in the airconditioned room when the outside is too hot, something that one would expect with an ocean view room for over $100 a night. As soon as we walked into the rooms, the moldy smell, something quite common in the tropics, made it impossible for one of the women to stay. The cleanliness of the bathroom left something to be desired. So we had to leave, we were not able to spend even one night. The hosts were very nice and welcoming, absolutely no complaints there although we really did not have a chance to interact with Greg. They were kind enough not to charge us for the night we booked. Be aware that the pool is very small and that this hotel is best suited for young people who want to surf and spend their time on the beach, who do not mind the cost because they share the room with 4 or 5 others. But we think it is overpriced and needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TicaGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This was my first time to Costa Rica. I met other parts of my family there and we stayed in one of the upstairs (larger) rooms which accommodated 5 of us. It is not a super large room, but plenty for our needs, especially because "who stays in the room too long anyways while visiting Costa Rica"? It is such a wonderful and cozy place to stay, with the waves of the beach just outside your room and a balcony to catch it all! Greg and Saritha were the perfect hosts. Not only do they keep the property well maintained, but they are so helpful with everything from picking us up and taking us to the airport, to arranging or suggesting so many of the activities we did. Greg has so much knowledge of the best places to see, eat at, etc. and everything he suggested, what right on!!! He was even so kind as to pick up my son from Jaco (a nearby town where my son was visiting) as opposed to my son having to taking a taxi back to the hotel.

I hope to come back again and if I am lucky enough to do so, I will be back!

Thank you Greg and Saritha!

Room Tip: Get the upstairs larger room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

First time to Costa Rica and boy did we find the most fantastic place to stay. Greg and new wife Saritha could not be any better of hosts! The location of the Inn is right on the black sand beach so every morning you wake up to the view of waves and tranquility of the area. Sandpiper is 10 minutes from Jaco, the closest town, which is perfect for heading in at night for dinner and shopping. Greg runs his Inn like a B & B in that he is so helpful in locating everything you want to do on your vacation; zip lining, water rafting, restaurants, hiking, and more! He always took time to answer questions, run us into town and just was available and resourceful the entire time. We happen to be there the week he and Saritha were married and was invited to the actual ceremony and festivities....My family and I were so honored to witness that great occasion. This shows how hospitable Greg and Saritha are! It was super fun!!!!

Room Tip: For bigger parties the larger room upstairs was perfect, not to mention the view from the balcony is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ronda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Thank you, Greg, for an awesome time at the Sandpiper. We woke up each morning to an excellent cup of coffee and an equally excellent view. The black-sand beach is quite beautiful. While we didn't surf ourselves, it was fun watching those braver than us take on some incredible waves. Greg, serving as concierge too, pointed us in the right direction of beautifully swimmable beaches.
The room is simple and clean. The grounds are lush and green. We had an amazing view from our front porch and the waves at night lulled us to sleep. And for those of you worrying about the rain during green season- it's a farce! Yes, it rained but not all day and it certainly never put a damper on our plans. And it was so cool to sit under the palapa and watch the passing weather. Don't pay attention to your iPhone weather report...
Playa Hermosa is a great location as well. We had lots of fun exploring the area; it's really quite beautiful.
We will be back! 'So glad to have made a new friend in Greg, and of course his pups- Cory and Maya.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lvgMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 km away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
99 reviews
0.6 km away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
210 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.8 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
13.3 km away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#2 of 48 in Jaco District
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Address: On the beach, in front of Soccer field | Playa Hermosa / Jaco / Costa Rica, Playa Hermosa, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms have FULL kitchens with Microwave, Stove, Toaster, Coffee Maker, Fridge, Dishes, pots & pans..Great A/C, WiFi, Cable TV with English stations - HBO, TNT, CNN etc..Free Beach chairs & beach Umbrellas, Pool, Ping-pong, Rancho with Hammocks, secure parking & we are ON the beach / Sand!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing