We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yew Tree Cottage

Yew Tree Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yew Tree Cottage
Living room Master bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Yew Tree Cottage
Living room
Master bedroom with king size bed
Bedroom 2
Yew Tree Cottage
Inglenook fireplace with multi-fuel stove
Living room
Living room
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom with WC and separate shower
Entrance
The Yew tree
Exmoor view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Timberscombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marcus S
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable accomodation including a great mattress on the king size bed. Everything that could be required is supplied even a selection of childrens toys. Excellent communications with the owners.
Shame the local pub has closed has down. Otherwise, all excellent.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou221b
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a fantastic contrast to our normal city living, the cottage is lovely. Everything was provided including two chests of toys which my daughter was thrilled with. It can be a little chilly in the evenings but was fun to try out the wood burning stove. There are lots of great places within an hours drive ans some great beaches to explore. Jonathan's information was very clear and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Yew Tree Cottage for our four month old son's first ever holiday and we certainly were not disappointed. The cottage is excellently appointed - spacious and well furnished.The furniture and fittings are of high quality, especially the farmhouse style kitchen. The cottage itself had a really cosy feel and we loved coming back there after we had been out for the day.

Timberscombe is in a perfect area to explore Exmoor and is a real walkers' paradise. Iconic walks such as Dunkery Beacon are within easy reach but there are also some really wonderful walks straight from the door of the cottage. Nearby Dunster is a great place to explore and also has excellent restaurants and pubs for lunch / evening meals.

Communication and directions from Jonathan before our stay were regular and clear and helped to make our stay stress-free.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda08...
1 review
“Relaxing week away at Yew Tree Cottage”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Yew Tree Cottage for a week from Fri 4th March.
Cottage was lovely, beautiful beams, kitchen was clean and the king size bed was incredibly comfortable- I am very difficult to please when it comes to a comfy bed but this was perfect, including the soft pillows!
Cosy lounge area but would suggest updating to gas central heating as rather chilly at times.
Friendly neighbours and nice area for walks and villages/towns all a short drive away.
We stayed for our anniversary and found the cottage a delight.
Make sure washing machine/ dishwasher/ taps aren't in use when using the shower otherwise very cold shock!
The only downfall was the local pub (literally a minutes walk away) has been closed down for some time, would suggest rental website needs an update as a lot of people may have a preference to be close to a pub.
Overall a great place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiden2016
Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were very happy with our stay at Yew Tree cottage, the village and local area was quiet and full of places to explore! It's the perfect base for venturing through Exmoor, Dunster, Porlock, Minehead etc. The cottage itself was perfectly equipped and although it was just the two of us, it would be ideal for a family of four (plenty of board games for children and adults). Although there isn't any allocated parking we found a space was readily available a minutes walk and visible from the house, so no need to worry! Plus the internet wasn't an issue at all and the shower is fine as long as the taps and dishwasher aren't turned on mid-shower (as we discovered). There is also a garage at Wheddon Cross which supplies almost everything you need including much needed firewood. All in all a steal, Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom needs some love and care
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing