We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveller rating
1,032
84
47
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
84
47
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club kids club villa host japanese restaurant water villa our honeymoon private yacht main restaurant personal concierge other resorts buggy service four seasons half board golf buggy big island fish heaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We recently spent a week at O&O Reethi Rai. The island is even more beautiful than the photographs, if that is even possible. Yes, it is man-made and yes, there are probably more groundskeepers than guests, but it's still a fact.
Travelers should be aware that O&O is physically a large resort with over 100 villas. The positives of this are multiple restaurants, larger spa facilities and lots of water sports options. The Kids Club is probably one of the nicest I've seen. The negatives are that you often have to wait for a long time for buggies, most (but not all) service is pretty impersonal, and you need to plan ahead/be organized about making bookings for excursions, photo shoots, etc. This is not a "snap your fingers and it happens immediately type of place." If you like large resorts, you will probably like O&O.
Pros:
- Villas are large, design is very tasteful, amenities are nice, linens are excellent.
- My kids absolutely loved the ice cream bar, especially the homemade frozen yogurt.
Cons:
- The water is gorgeous turquoise blue, but not as clear as other places we've been and snorkeling/sealife are not great.
- Everything is outrageously expensive, and you do feel you are being "nickeled and dimed." Even worse, you generally don't receive good value for money. I can't remember exact prices but over $100 for a kids' painting class? Charging (a lot) for a ceramics class for kids under the age of 10? The only prices that seemed reasonably compared to 5-star international standards were at the spa.
- Service is inconsistent. Sometimes, it was great (a few beach attendants, guys at the beach snack bar, one butler), sometimes it was pretty bad (our original butler, main restaurant) and usually it was just ok, nothing to write home about. Probably in keeping with the size of the place, but it would go a long ways to bring the lower end of service up. I felt like no one knew our names -- not the norm for super-high-end resorts, and no senior managers introduced themselves to us.
- Food. This complaint is about value for money. If I were paying $100 or $150 per meal without alcohol, I can accept some imperfections. However, when dinner is close to $200/$250 pp for food, it better be amazing. Most of the food was ok and some was quite good, but just not worth the prices we were paying. As many have said, breakfast was the best meal of the day and the Japanese restaurant was our favorite.
- Kids menu. Generally, it's the same limited list in all food outlets. It would be nice if each outlet had some "specials" in keeping with the outlet (like Japanese, etc), as it gets quite boring to have the same meals for lunch and dinner every day over the course of a week!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navigate808802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORR_RM_LeonPink, Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear ny traveler 02,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience at One&Only Reethi Rah. It was a pleasure having you as our guest throughout your stay in the Maldives. How wonderful it is to know that you were impressed with our beautiful island scenery and luxurious private villas. We are, however, concerned to hear that certain aspects of your stay did not quite meet expectations. We apologise for any lapses in service you may have encountered, and ask for your understanding in regards to the pricing of our resort offerings. It is always a challenge to offer comparable rates when our food products are all imported and taxes are highly levied on each purchase. We hope this did not take away too much from your overall pleasant experience, and we encourage you to contact us directly if you wish to further discuss your experience. Should you find yourself travelling in the future, we would love to welcome you and your family back for an all-around impeccable experience.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We returned after 10 years, now as a family. We all had an amazing time including our 8-year-old son. One of the best vacations we ever had. Pricey but very much worth it! If you need to tank up with positive energy and to find your inner calmness it is a place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sushi414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORR_RM_LeonPink, Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear sushi414,

We greatly appreciate your kind review of One&Only Reethi Rah. It was an honour to see you again after all these years, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed another impeccable experience. The next time you are looking to get away, it would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back for another memorable stay in the Maldives.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

The island is surreal. From the accomodation to facilities and service is top notch. We loved our Beach Bungalow and the food served at Reethi Restaurant and Fanditha was just amazing.

There is so much more including watersports, diving and excursions.

Looking forward for my next trip. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Abulhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORR_RM_LeonPink, Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Abulhi,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your review and for choosing One&Only Reethi Rah. We are elated to hear that your expectations were exceeded throughout your visit to the Maldives. It brings us great joy to know that you appreciated our exceptional restaurants, impeccable service and one-of-a-kind activities. We look forward to your next visit and hope it comes very soon.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Poor Value for Money. Although the resort is beautiful and the staff wonderful, the resort lets itself down with poor quality food in the main restaurant and aggressive pricing policies. Despite paying a very high room rate the resort then sets out to charge inflated prices on food, beverages and in room dining. The end result is that you feel 'nickeled and dimed' throughout the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank 2susanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNaret, General Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear 2susanner,

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful home and impeccable service. However, we regret that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation, which is directed to the pricing of our offerings at the resort. It is indeed a challenge to offer comparable prices due to high taxes that are levied on each purchase. Furthermore, all food items proposed in our outlets are imported and such at a very high cost.

We encourage you to contact us directly at your earliest convenience, so that we may better understand your experience at One&Only Reethi Rah. We look forward to hearing from you and, hopefully, restoring your faith in our resort.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This was my second time to stay in One and Only Reethi Rah in September with my wife and 3 kids (ages: 9, 8, 2), we stayed in the beach villa with pool which is spectacular, especially when you have a butler service who's available 24/7. The house keeping were doing an amazing job by taking care of the villa twice a day.
The kids club stuff are professional and the kids never complained about them, they provide a lot of activities for the kids, and sometimes the kids don't want to leave the kids club.
My ratings for One and Only Reethi Rah as below:

Villa 10/10
Butler 10/10
House keeping 10/10
water sports and diving 8/10
Restaurants 9/10
Swimming pools and Beach 8/10
Kidsonly 8/10
SPA 8/10
Buggy service 8/10
Management 10/10

And of course we'll be going back soon

Room Tip: In September it is better to stay in the villas which are located on Reethi restaurant side for example 225 to 230.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yyyj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNaret, General Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear yyyj1979,

We thank you for your wonderful review and loyalty to One&Only Reethi Rah. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Maldives, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed a five-star luxury experience. It is particularly heartwarming to hear that your children found our Kids’ Club to be memorable, and that you were well taken care of by our exceptional staff. We look forward to your next visit and hope it comes soon.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews