We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep pockets needed for this resort ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One&Only Reethi Rah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Firstly this is one of the larger island resorts in the Maldives , however apart from the main restaurant , you hardly saw any other guests.The water villa was stunning , spacious and clean , attention to details were second to none.The only negatives being the uneven mattress and the lights around the bed.These under-bed lights would come on automatically if there was any movement around the bed at night.I guess this system was to make it easier seeing your way around in the dark, but it was like Blackpool illuminations , it really needs to be a more subtle lighting.

The food was exceptional , some of the best resort food I have ever had , the breakfast was sumptuous and so much choice , both from the buffet and a la carte, dinner was also impressive especially the Japanese restaurant.

The service , well if you like a personal service with managers hanging around at breakfast , enquiring how your vacation is going ( which my partner and myself hate ) you’ll be disappointed, but for us it was fine.The breakfast staff could be ‘hit and miss ‘ some were definitely more approachable and welcoming than others.

Fitness center was impeccable , the team there were exceptionally knowledgeable and made a great protein shake!

You really do need deep pockets to stay at the one and only and things do not come cheap.A simple birthday cake for my partner came in at nearly £300 , even for the Maldives this was an extortionate amount, I don’t necessarily feel that the prices you paid at the One and only was reflected in the service you received.

I can’t finish this review without mentioning our fabulous concierge Yoshi, she really had her work cut out with the rather demanding guests we were with , but her professionalism , enthusiasm for her work shone through and she really made the trip for us, especially for helping me with the preparations for my partners birthday, thank you so much Yoshi!

Altogether a fantastic , large and spacious resort , just ensure your pockets are deep enough for the One and only experience.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Delsey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORR_RM_LeonPink, General Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Delsey76,

We are grateful for the time you have taken to leave us such a thoughtful review. It is wonderful to discover that you were impressed with our luxurious private villas, exquisite cuisine and state-of-the-art amenities. We will also be sure to pass along your kind praises to Yoshi, who will be elated to hear that her services exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure to host you during a memorable stay in the Maldives, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future for an all-around five-star experience.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017

We recently spent a week at O&O Reethi Rai. The island is even more beautiful than the photographs, if that is even possible. Yes, it is man-made and yes, there are probably more groundskeepers than guests, but it's still a fact.
Travelers should be aware that O&O is physically a large resort with over 100 villas. The positives of this are multiple restaurants, larger spa facilities and lots of water sports options. The Kids Club is probably one of the nicest I've seen. The negatives are that you often have to wait for a long time for buggies, most (but not all) service is pretty impersonal, and you need to plan ahead/be organized about making bookings for excursions, photo shoots, etc. This is not a "snap your fingers and it happens immediately type of place." If you like large resorts, you will probably like O&O.
Pros:
- Villas are large, design is very tasteful, amenities are nice, linens are excellent.
- My kids absolutely loved the ice cream bar, especially the homemade frozen yogurt.
Cons:
- The water is gorgeous turquoise blue, but not as clear as other places we've been and snorkeling/sealife are not great.
- Everything is outrageously expensive, and you do feel you are being "nickeled and dimed." Even worse, you generally don't receive good value for money. I can't remember exact prices but over $100 for a kids' painting class? Charging (a lot) for a ceramics class for kids under the age of 10? The only prices that seemed reasonably compared to 5-star international standards were at the spa.
- Service is inconsistent. Sometimes, it was great (a few beach attendants, guys at the beach snack bar, one butler), sometimes it was pretty bad (our original butler, main restaurant) and usually it was just ok, nothing to write home about. Probably in keeping with the size of the place, but it would go a long ways to bring the lower end of service up. I felt like no one knew our names -- not the norm for super-high-end resorts, and no senior managers introduced themselves to us.
- Food. This complaint is about value for money. If I were paying $100 or $150 per meal without alcohol, I can accept some imperfections. However, when dinner is close to $200/$250 pp for food, it better be amazing. Most of the food was ok and some was quite good, but just not worth the prices we were paying. As many have said, breakfast was the best meal of the day and the Japanese restaurant was our favorite.
- Kids menu. Generally, it's the same limited list in all food outlets. It would be nice if each outlet had some "specials" in keeping with the outlet (like Japanese, etc), as it gets quite boring to have the same meals for lunch and dinner every day over the course of a week!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ny traveler 02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORR_RM_LeonPink, Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear ny traveler 02,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience at One&Only Reethi Rah. It was a pleasure having you as our guest throughout your stay in the Maldives. How wonderful it is to know that you were impressed with our beautiful island scenery and luxurious private villas. We are, however, concerned to hear that certain aspects of your stay did not quite meet expectations. We apologise for any lapses in service you may have encountered, and ask for your understanding in regards to the pricing of our resort offerings. It is always a challenge to offer comparable rates when our food products are all imported and taxes are highly levied on each purchase. We hope this did not take away too much from your overall pleasant experience, and we encourage you to contact us directly if you wish to further discuss your experience. Should you find yourself travelling in the future, we would love to welcome you and your family back for an all-around impeccable experience.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We returned after 10 years, now as a family. We all had an amazing time including our 8-year-old son. One of the best vacations we ever had. Pricey but very much worth it! If you need to tank up with positive energy and to find your inner calmness it is a place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sushi414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORR_RM_LeonPink, Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear sushi414,

We greatly appreciate your kind review of One&Only Reethi Rah. It was an honour to see you again after all these years, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed another impeccable experience. The next time you are looking to get away, it would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back for another memorable stay in the Maldives.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

The island is surreal. From the accomodation to facilities and service is top notch. We loved our Beach Bungalow and the food served at Reethi Restaurant and Fanditha was just amazing.

There is so much more including watersports, diving and excursions.

Looking forward for my next trip. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Abulhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORR_RM_LeonPink, Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Abulhi,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your review and for choosing One&Only Reethi Rah. We are elated to hear that your expectations were exceeded throughout your visit to the Maldives. It brings us great joy to know that you appreciated our exceptional restaurants, impeccable service and one-of-a-kind activities. We look forward to your next visit and hope it comes very soon.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Poor Value for Money. Although the resort is beautiful and the staff wonderful, the resort lets itself down with poor quality food in the main restaurant and aggressive pricing policies. Despite paying a very high room rate the resort then sets out to charge inflated prices on food, beverages and in room dining. The end result is that you feel 'nickeled and dimed' throughout the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 2susanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLNaret, General Manager at One&Only Reethi Rah, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear 2susanner,

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful home and impeccable service. However, we regret that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation, which is directed to the pricing of our offerings at the resort. It is indeed a challenge to offer comparable prices due to high taxes that are levied on each purchase. Furthermore, all food items proposed in our outlets are imported and such at a very high cost.

We encourage you to contact us directly at your earliest convenience, so that we may better understand your experience at One&Only Reethi Rah. We look forward to hearing from you and, hopefully, restoring your faith in our resort.

With my warmest regards,

Leon Pink
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reethirah Island
35.5 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,838 reviews
26.7 km away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,287 reviews
36.4 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 km away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,872 reviews
33 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa
16.6 km away
Huvafen Fushi Maldives
Huvafen Fushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Huvafen Fushi Island
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Reethi Rah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Reethi Rah

Address: North Male' Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Reethirah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reethirah Island
Price Range: €1,138 - €3,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Reethi Rah 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene and private Maldives resort. One&Only Reethi Rah offers 128 private resort villas well separated along the shore, either on the beach secluded by lush tropical greenery, or set above the clear, protected waters of the lagoon. Designed in an elegant contemporary style, these are among the largest resort villas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your One&Only Reethi Rah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Reethi Rah, Maldives
One&Only Reethi Rah, Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Reethi Rah Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing