We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nika Island Resort & Spa(Kudafolhudhoo Island)
US$501
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Velidhu Island Resort(Velidhoo Island)
US$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
Starry Night at Ukulhas(Ukulhas)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Maldives(Fesdhoo Island)
US$1,833
US$318
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,274
US$579
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aloha Rasdhoo(Rasdhoo)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Constance Halaveli(Halaveli Island)
US$2,070
US$690
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$834/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kandolhu Maldives(North Ari Atoll)
US$1,731
US$801
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$965/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
722
216
53
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
216
53
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarine biologistoverwater villalunch and dinnerfishsea planediving centerice creama la carte restauranthead chefper dayegg stationeagle raysfree activitiessand bankour waiteritalian chefmaldivian food
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017

My partner and I had a truly wonderful two weeks. We've stayed in the Maldives before, but enjoyed Gangehi more because it is a smaller island, therefore with fewer guests, and the more intimate atmosphere made a difference, and the staff were uniformly charming.

We came primarily for the diving which we found to be excellent. The core team of Stefano, Paola and Nino as well as the Maldivians on the boat were super helpful and friendly. The size of the resort (smaller than most) meant that the dive excursions were not over-crowded; usually just five or six divers, sometimes as few as two. The equipment was well-maintained and of good quality.

The over-water villa was large and comfortable with great views towards the sunset and across the incredible sand bank. The sunset was different every evening, mostly serene, with a few stormy evening, but all beautiful.

The restaurant building is beautiful, overhanging the water,with great food; plenty of choice, which varied through the week. We enjoyed watching baby sharks swim up and down the shore whilst we ate our breakfast. The bar, next door, had deck chairs facing the sunset which got plenty of use. We thought the music was a bit 1980's but who doesn't like a bit of Whitney Houston.

I tried the Yoga. We made use of the canoes to paddle through across the reef and around the island. I used the gym. All good.

At the bottom of the steps going into the water from our villa (31) we regularly found a Lion Fish - most days in fact; seemed to be its favourite spot. They are beautiful creatures but with a horribly painful and potentially dangerous venom in the spines. We knew to avoid it, but wondered if everyone would.

Note to hotel: perhaps a word with guests when they arrive?

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear David W, thanks for staying at Gangehi Island Resort and for your excellent feedback. For sure a small island is beautiful and more intimate atmosphere makes the difference. Thanks for awarding our diving instructors who guide the divers under water with passion and competence. Thanks for your kind words dedicated to our uniformly charming staff. Our gro and front office team warm welcome all guests upon arrival and they serve refreshing towels and drink. After a fast check-in, they always escort the guests in the rooms and give some useful information on the way. We do hope to welcome you back for a second stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Traveling to Gangehi is far from easy…. This was our 3rd visit having been in 2013 & 2014, & we had a 5 hour delay from landing at 09:40 & not departing on the seaplane transfer until 14:45. TMA the seaplane company declared that there was an early issue with weather & that they were also awaiting further international arrivals to enable the flight to leave to Gangehi. The airline blamed the resort, & subsequently the resort blamed the airline…. Farcical! We then were informed at the departure gate that due to lack of fuel only 1 of our 3 pieces of luggage were on the seaplane with the other 2 to follow either that evening or the next morning! So having travelled for more than 30 hours which included 4 flights, 2 road trips & a boat, one of us was without a change of clothing!!!(my wife wasn’t happy)
On our arrival we were treated like VIP’s due to it being our 3rd visit, & the luggage that was missing was collected by speedboat from another island some hours later that day which was organized by the resort.
Ok, now the resort & its “All Inclusive” policy….. having been twice previously we thought we knew the procedure with drinks that were included etc… But no, things had changed. We had a few cocktails through the afternoon & it seemed that this was the same as before with a cocktail list that includes a large number of cocktails, but not all. This was quite strange as a number contained the same ingredients but some where & some were not within the indicated AI package….strange. The wine list had changed from our previous visits. Previously there were several choices of each of the red, white & rose wines along with their chosen house sparkling white prosecco, but this year the AI only had 1 chosen Sauvignon Blanc white, a Cabernet Sauvignon Chilean red & a Spanish rosado. All were drinkable but nothing to write home about. Now, ordering was a different matter…. I ordered a bottle of prosecco, as this is the tipple choice of my wife, only to be told that we could only order by the glass. This is in my opinion ridiculous as have to wait to reorder further glasses rather than pouring your own becomes quite tedious. Again previously, at dinner, I had no problem ordering a bottle of prosecco for my wife as well as a bottle of red for myself but this was not possible , this was also a major problem for beach drinks as we were informed during the conversation with the manageress regarding their “only by the glass” conversation that drinks were only available to be drunk at the bar… again ridiculous! When you pay “through the nose” prices(111€ pp per day, over the full board prices for drinks alone) you’d expect to be able to have the odd bottle of bubbles whilst on your beach lounger. Again on our last 2 visits, no problem. I believe that maybe they owner of the island needs to read a bit of Dale Carnegie as antagonizing guests who pay top dollar & travel vast distances should be treated better than a night stop in a cheap motel! We compromised with the efforts of the beach boy and bar staff who brought us cocktails & bubbles duly appreciated( make sure to take small notes to tip, we took 5€’s $1… perfect)
On a plus side the beach hadn’t really changed with some outstanding powder soft sand along with mixed coral & shell areas, the sand bar is a major feature & a great way to walk off breakfast. Directly outside our villa the sea is crystal clear with a wealth of sea life including the resident baby black tip sharks & a more than friendly large trigger fish( our daughter named it Bob back in 2013)which was good to see after a 3 year break. Abundant species of fish as well as turtles star fish etc are still there even at only waist height when snorkeling, unfortunately the house reef coral is now dead & has lost a lot of colour. The villa that we stayed in before & requested on this occasion, No.8, is in our opinion the best as it has the largest part of allocated “private” beach with sun through until 16:30+. Villa is looking tired and needs a revamp with all others as many of their visual features such as their frontal veranda reed fringe has completely disappeared & really would not take much to replace. Lighting inside is very poor as is the overhead fan, the air conditioning is just about adequate & the bed a little hard . Housekeeping is excellent with flower displays on the bed & cushions most days.
Ok…… food, this was our only major grumble previously, I dedicated my last review in 2014 on how this could be rectified quite simply with the use of both restaurants on an a la carte basis with a 2 sitting booking system. At present the main restaurant is buffet & has gone down more than a notch or 2 on its quality before. Take a look at Kuramathi, I’ve said it before, good quality food counts! The other restaurant has next to no clients other than those enjoying a sunset cocktail. We ate there on 1 evening & were the only clients. On other nights we visited for the sunset, when we left they were empty. There are more than enough staff to run both restaurants as a la carte & it would be a major improvement to your overall holiday experience.
Breakfast is the usual toast, pastry & preserves, yoghurt & cereal, & egg station with a very limited “extras” hot area consisting of stewed veg, frankfurter style sausages & soggy hash browns along with under grilled & over steamed bacon. Each of our 9 visits we were very surprised to note that their fruit offering was very poor compared with past visits, with only passion fruit, pineapple & papaya, this was half of what was offered before. Lunch….. very poor! Every day the same salad area offered a lack of variety & on every occasion only 1 dressing(Greek yoghurt). Over cooked cold fish nibbles along with good steamed fresh catch of the day along with curry dishes. 1 bonus here is if you’re a pasta lover their pasta station supplied different daily specials, which is to be expected from an Italian owned island. Dinner…. Again poor….. stewed & cold dishes. The Curry’s & pasta were the only saving graces in the evening along with some good desserts, ice cream & twice the fruit choice that you get at breakfast.
Within our AI we had a ½ hr spar treatment included, which was nice, we also had a voucher for a snorkeling trip. We, on previous visits enjoyed the sunset fishing trip & asked to change the included excursion to the fishing which was agreed only to have it on our final bill on check out.
The local staff are superb & need to be appreciated more rather than cutting down their privileges(football on other island), they should be given more. Very attentive service was one of our best memories.
Overall we feel that this islands location is outstanding but everything is in need of a major overhaul with the penny pinching tactics really leaving a sour taste in your mouth when you leave.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank apls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Good morning, after being three times at Gangehi Island Resort and after posting three bad reviews on Trip Advisor, it is not really clear to us the reason you are still choosing our lovely island for your holidays. Once again, with regards to the seaplane transfer we delivered you the letter of Tma where they clearly explained the immense operational challenges beyond their control on November 16, 2017 due to extreme bad weather “Force Majeure” conditions at the airport and many parts of Maldives, causing multiple closure of Velana International Airport for all VFR (Visual Flight Rule) flight operations. Also, most of the flights got stranded in many areas due to extreme bad weather conditions at the morning forcing Tma to delay their flights as their flights were not reaching to Male’ as scheduled. Every possible efforts were made to minimize the waiting time of passengers as much as possible but for misfortune majority of their aircraft returned back to their base way later than expected due to airport closure. As explained due to above mentioned challenges they faced huge delays to their schedule from morning and had a cascading effect to the schedule for the entire day. As soon as Tma received the airplanes back to the base they made the aircraft ready for departure but due to the bad weather conditions throughout Maldives, they had to take extra fuel onboard than the usual to do some extra flying if they had to face any bad weather en route. Since they had to take extra fuel onboard they were forced to offload some luggage from the flight in order to keep the operational weight limit of the aircraft and the luggages were sent on a later flight the same day. Your luggage (one on three pieces) that was missing was collected by our boat from another island some hours later. Finally same day was delivered. Your disappointment regarding the all inclusive policy seems to be due to the fact that you did not want to read/accept the hotel policy. It is clearly stated that wines are served by glass only and should be consumed within the restaurants and bars. You should have been grateful seen that we made an exception for you only (you were not the only all inclusive guest in house) and our beach boy delivered, with smile and kindness, the glasses to your sunbeds, directly in front of your room, on the beach many times a day. It is not correct what you are writing regarding the wine selection which is huge for the all inclusive too. Seen that you prefer Kuramathi cuisine, once again, we don’t understand why you continue to choose Gangehi Island Resort for your enjoyable holiday. We receive a lot of compliments for our Kitchen Team who are working hard to make an excellent buffet at all meals. There is a large variety of international food, cold and hot dishes, salads, fruits, desserts are always available and served fresh. Our cooks are always at guests service for any request and they introduce the dishes to every single guest to every meal. We would like to assure you that our local and multicultural staff have a lot of privileges here and management take care a lot of all the staff. This is, indeed, the reason that most of our staff have been working here for 15-20 years. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We had a lovely two weeks here and was mostly very good but had a few things that could be improved. Slightly miffed we didn't get a room upgrade having booked and paid directly as others have - thus saving them booking fees but we were happy with our water villa.
Island- small and compact with a great sandy spit which is very nice for a walk. You can just about walk all the way round and it takes about 15 minutes - add the walk out on the spit and its another 20 minutes at low tide. The paths are boarded and wind through the trees and bushes. a downside is that it is very poor signed and takes a few days to find your way about!
Snorkelling - good! Not too much current and there is a big area for learners and two main areas for the more experienced - the marine biologist, Andrea, a very pleasant and informative young man, takes a free group snorkel every day.
Trips - good and reasonably priced trips to mantas, whale sharks, snorkelling places, dolphins, local island and fishing - so plenty to do.
Rooms - beach, garden, over-water and deluxe over-water. roomy and well laid out - nice bathrooms and good access to the sea.
Staff - great and very friendly - except one of the maldivian chefs - but everyone wanted you to have a great time, and we did! Our waiter, Resal, was efficient and always smiling, room boy kept the place clean and tidy twice a day, there is an Italian chef (don't know his name) who was very pleasant and always had a smile and a few words for us each mealtime.
food - good quality and generally nicely presented and cooked. BUT - it was very much the same all the time - especially breakfast. Lunch was good but some nights the evening meal lacked any imagination and flair - it needed to have a wow factor and it didn't. No cheese, cold meats, sushi, nice sauces, very few potatoes but a few fries at lunchtime were available. The food was generally a bit overcooked and dry, in our opinion, and lacked flavour. Good stuff was salads, curries and ice cream! We ate twice at the Thari restaurant, it was my birthday on one of the days, and it was superb, Nice table on the deck with a lovely sunset for one evening, inside the other as it had rained heavily. Made a big fuss of me on my birthday, including a cake and lots of good wishes.
We thought it best to go FB as AI is $125pppd extra and really not worth it. Drinks are quite reasonable - wine $6, beer $6 for draught and gin and tonics around $10 i think, nobody can drink $125 a day, although some excursions are also included as well.
All in all a lovely island, good but not fantastic food, and generally pretty good value for money in our opinion.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear kenty, thank you for your positive review of our lovely resort. We have shared your feedback about the marine biologist Andrea and the waiter Rusel to the management. Our goal is always to have the highest quality of service. We are happy that you appreciated Thari a’ la carte restaurant (happy birthday again!). Our Kitchen Team is working hard every day to give the best quality of food, presentation and cooking. A large variety of international cold and hot dishes (meat and fish), vegetables, salads, fruits, desserts are always available and served fresh. One night is dedicated to the Maldivian cuisine as well. Our cooks always attend the buffet and they are at guests service for any request. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We upgraded our room to deluxe overwater bungalow, but the position of the regular overwater bungalows may be better. Our room was lovely, beautiful bathroom open to the sealife below. Comfortable bed, limited bar fridge items (mainly soft drinks & juices). Large sliding glass doors onto our deck, but also sliding glass doors looking onto the neighbours bungalow is a bit weird. They provided bathrobes, but suitable maybe for a 12 year old! Funny, but not a big issue.

We paid for full board, which included all meals. Fantastic. We couldn't fault the food. In the restaurant the chef described every meal prepared in the buffet, to each customer as they arrived. Everything was clean and sanitary, important to us. The waits people were friendly, obliging and willing to do whatever to please. We didnt pay for all inclusive, as the extra cost was much more and although we consumed considerable alcohol, it was far cheaper to pay for it than go all inclusive. We didn't go to the a la carte restaurant, not sure anyone did while we were there.

We turned up regularly in the bar for a drink, even morning tea time! Amazing huge beers at good price! Prices of alcohol weren't as inflated as we had expected.the bar staff were friendly, and as we became 'regulars', anticipated our order. Nice touch.

There are a few little glitches that we wondered what was the issue. They were minor. Like ordering a bottle of wine in the bar, to have one glass there, but take the rest back to the room. That took some thinking and organising, but thats part of the language and custom barrier and not an issue. You just have to expect that things might be done differently to home. Also I lost a camera filter there, but trying to negotiate lost property was again a language problem, but not a big issue.

Its a small resort. So opportunities to do things arent huge. But in our 5 days we went on 2 morning snorkeling trips by boat, saw mantarays and were happy with that. The snorkeling around the island is ok, but not incredibke. If you can fit goggles snorkel and flippers in your luggage, you'll save a heap, as hiring their gear was expensive. About $US 100 for 5 days for 2 sets.

The only thing I'd grumble about, and its minor, is that when it rains, the outdoor seating ( recliners and daybeds) cushion soaks up the water, so later when its sunny, the wetness soaks into towels, clothing etc. Annoying. Extra beach towels provided each day, not just beach towel would help this.

We love the peace and quiet and isolation. Walking out onto the long sandy spit at low tide was iconic. A dreamy place.

Room Tip: The overwater bungalows have better views than the deluxe overwater bungalows.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Jen C, thanks for visiting us and for posting such a lovely comment after your stay. As you well highlighted, Gangehi Island Resorts is a pearl of white sand, shaded by coconut palms and surrounded by crystal-clear sea. The marine life is one of rare beauty: an amazing variety of tropical fish in all shapes and sizes swim around beautiful corals along with marine turtles and sharks. We do hope you will choose Gangehi Island Resort for your next stay in the Maldives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Arrived by seaplane from Male and the relaxation started immediately. We had 2 beach villas which consisted of a large bedroom and shower room, a good size deck and a view over the small beach to the open ocean to far away Nika Island. The rooms are comfortable with air con and WiFi, which was a little frustrating as the signal was patchy and the kids ended up sitting outside the front door.
The is a boardwalk path round the island which take about 4 minutes to walk or 40 minute snorkel.
The restaurant food is buffet style for all meals and the quality and choice of food is excellent. The restaurant overlooks a long white sandbar which is a must to walk out on.
There are some excursions you can take, a tv room, gym, spa and a small library and two kayaks. We mostly snorkelled and swam. The house reef is beautiful and teeming with fish.
Stafano runs the dive shop and he is excellent. My son and I went on 4 dives while we were there and his choice of dives sites were excellent. The equipment was good and the marine life was stunning.
So, an unprentious Island which is just great for relaxing. Friendly staff and a stunning sandbar.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anton250family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Sunny greetings from the Maldives. We appreciate greatly for taking time to give us a detailed review of your stay with us. We are very much thankful on your feedback regarding our facilities and service. Thanks for awarding our friendly staff and our professional base leader of the diving center Mr Stefano. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews