We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marine biologist overwater villa lunch and dinner fish sea plane diving center ice cream a la carte restaurant during high tide head chef per day egg station eagle rays free activities italian chef sand bank our waiter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Great vacation and only best memories!

I adore the ocean, and this is a really great place to meet and enjoy it. Crystal-clear warm and calm water, lots of underwater life, fresh green leaves, refreshing breeze. Everything you can dream about when you're thinking about Maldives.

The hotel team is doing an excellent work to welcome guests and making them feel comfortable - great thanks to all of you!

Very good room (I stayed in an Over Water Villa), beautiful territory, fresh and tasty food, attentive personnel, great excursions helping you to feel and explore even more ocean!

P.S. Take a lot of sun protection cream :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra_Zhiltsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Alexandra_Zhiltsova, thank you for dedicating your valuable time to review our Gangehi Island Resort. We are grateful that you well described every detail of your experience with us. The fact that you found our team welcoming and very polite means a lot to us. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I, with our 2 children (8&10), visited Gangehi for the first time early September in honor of my brother in law's wedding. We traveled over via seaplane and we're happy with our decision to do so. The speedboat option would've taken too long and would've been a waste if our time. Not to mention if the weather was bad it could've been a disastrous experience! We stayed for 7 days. The island is just spectacular! They do a phenomenal job of maintaining the grounds. There are some mosquitos around but it's not terrible. They do spray the grounds every few days to control the mosquito population. The staff is super friendly and helpful! Their goal is to make sure you're enjoying your stay. The room cleaning service was amazing! It was so nice to have our room cleaned twice a day since we tracked a lot of sand each day, especially with kids. The buffet restaurant was never boring. My kids always found plenty to eat. The choices were endless! Our waiters were so accommodating. Nasir, our waiter, was so kind to bring us a Maldivian specialty dish, Boryani rice. It was delicious!
The beach was incredible! So serene! It felt like you are on another planet!!!! We all snorkeled for the first time and found it was the perfect location for beginners. We had a tidal pool outside our beach villa (#8) and we discovered lots of neat creatures right there! After getting comfortable we were able to venture further out.
The marine biologist presentation we attended one evening was super interesting. It was cool to learn about the history of the island and the different wildlife in the ocean.
The Ginger Spa had incredible service. Natu was my masseuse and he was very professional. I was a little unsure of having a male masseuse (I've always used females)however the female one was on holiday but I don't regret it! Natu is also a great yoga instructor! My sister in laws, my 8 year old daughter and I loved doing yoga over the water at Thari restaurant's deck!
The staff did a wonderful job with my brother in law's wedding ceremony. They were so accommodating with everything. The whole evening was relaxing and beautiful!
Our favorite location on the whole island (hard to actually pick one because it's all so beautiful) was the sand bank. Nature's beauty with the infinity waves coming from the left and right.
And, even the nights are amazing. If it's a clear night, you can see a sky lit with tons of stars and the Milky Way!!
The weather was only bad one day out of seven so we can't complain. We were very lucky to have had sunny weather for most of it!
Everything during our stay was perfect. We can't wait to return one day!
We never felt like leaving.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank nasrinsafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Warm greetings from Gangehi Island Resort and thank you for sharing your lovely review with us and the entire Trip Advisor community! We do appreciate your wonderfully comprehensive and detailed feedback. We were delighted to read your comments about our super friendly and helpful team, the excellent service and our facilities. It is great to hear you enjoyed the accommodation, the cleanliness, the well maintained island, the Thari as special venue for daily yoga lessons and for your family special occasion. All of you were so kind with us and it was our immense pleasure to work for your brother in law's wedding ceremony. Thanks for awarding our professional waiter Mr Naseer, our yoga teacher/spa therapist Mr Natu and our marine biologist Mr Andrea. We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for a second stay in Gangehi in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

First of all I'd like to say the staff are fantastic, the location is stunning and the cleanliness of the hotel on what is essentially a dessert island is very good.

We were in the overwater delux villa which was beautifully positioned for a view and very nicely decorated throughout. I'd highly recommend.

We clicked nicely with our flight times and sea plane times, basically getting a whole day arriving at 1000hrs. The property already had our room ready for us which was great...and we got lunch too. If your flight times sent so favourable they might charge you for a lunch you never have so watch out for that!

We choose right in getting full board; this is the right choice as all inclusive is restrictive and you could never possibly drink the extra $125 per day, even with the high prices.

The buffet food was great. Some fantastic curries and much of it quite healthy. A great Italian influence from a previous head chef remains but blended with some regional flavours the fusion is at time fantastic. Each night was slightly different and the staff were very proud on 'Maldivian Night' when they got to show us some local delicacies. I think some of my fellow reviewers need to appreciate the isolation of the location when placing high expectations on the range of foods that can be prepared for guests.

Unfortunately there is quite a bit to whinge about despite my overriding feeling that we had a great time.

The air con is weak throughout the island even in a delux overwater villa. It's none existent at dinner as you are outside but this doesn't stop the heat.

The wifi is awful and barely used all week.

The toilet was weak to flush and then wouldn't flush again for a few minutes after.

All of those things I can deal with. The terrible al a carte restaurant however was unforgivable.

The 2 courses we had were unimaginative and none complex. They were also clearly prepared by someone of low skill / interest in their performance. I got the sea food platter which was just griddles sea fish with iceberg lettuce. No sauce, no nothing. Cattle fish pressed to the grill then just put on the plate. A child could do this! Certainly not al a carte. Certainly not a $38 plate (plus service and tax!!). The sea food risotto also lacked flavour and was served just plopped on the plate with no presentation. Certainly not a $32 plate (plus service and tax!!).

When checking out I noticed drinks (in our case 300ml bottles of Diet Coke) were charged at $7 instead of the usual $4 everywhere else on the island (plus tax and service). Outrageous! I nearly refused to pay until the wife reminded me we were on honeymoon. The worst value meal I have had anywhere in the world and believe me I have eat some rubbish.

What made this worse is that the food in the main buffet was outstanding, if you were willing to be adventurous and the cooks there clearly knew what they were doing. So as a resort they ARE capable of MUCH better!

They also knew (when asked) how poor the cooks were at the al a carte as many people before had mentioned this. When I did I just got 'yeah we know, many people say these thing'.

When I blasted the reception staff whilst settling the bill (this started over the $9 coke issue) he tried to suggest that you were paying for the romantic setting. It wasn't as nobody else was in there was no atmosphere. Outside was pitch black by the time it opened so no view. He couldn't explain why the drinks were more expensive though just shrugged and nervously laughed.

Essentially you will most likely have already paid for the buffet which is far superior anyway so don't waste your money going to the al a carte. They know it's a bad product yet peddle it anyway and the lazy cooking (which isn't remotely Thai cuisine anyway by the way) ain't worth paying for.

Stayed: August 2017
4  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Direttore at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Sunny greetings from the Maldives and thanks for staying at Gangehi Island Resort for your honeymoon. Thanks for awarding the amazing location of the resort, the stunning overwater deluxe and the fantastic staff. Be sure that all guests who book full board are entitled to have all meals from the first day till the last day. They never miss one meal. The guests who miss lunch on arrival day will have lunch on the departure day. In case of early departure, before the restaurant opening, the lunch will be offered in the bar. We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience at our a’ la carte restaurant Thari. Our Chef has been successfully cooking there since seven years and guests always appreciate the menu, the food and the service. If something is going wrong during the dinner, guests can talk directly to the Chef, seen that he is cooking in an open kitchen very close to the tables. In this way he can meet the expectations, suggest dishes and even replace in case. We did not receive any complaint from you during dinner, after dinner or few days after. Only upon departure at the reception you complained to the cashier as it seems you were unhappy with the bill. Sorry to say it is not the right way. Prices of food and drinks are clearly mentioned on the menu and they can be checked before seating. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My husband and I chose Gangehi after a wide and tedious research and our efforts paid off. Gangehi is a heaven on earth and our honeymoon was everything we'd ever hoped for and so much more!

Before arrival we had a detailed email and telephonic correspondence with the reservations team at Gangehi (Mr. Dikson Vijerathna and Mr. Ahmed Fauzi), which was very helpful in planning our vacation just the way we wanted. We booked via Gangehi's official website and got competitive rates. We arrived on the morning of June 24th via Nevi Speedboat and were greeted with warm smiles on the Jetty of the resort by the captain. Upon arrival we were taken to the reception (our luggage was handled by the staff) where Reception team was ready to welcomed us. The check-in process was a breeze, we had opted to pay on arrival and the reception staff was ready with whatever documentation was necessary. While we stood at the reception fresh lemonade and cold towels were served. Needless to say the vacation started off on a good note. We had a split booking between beach bungalow (4 nights) and water villa (3 nights) and were taken to our bungalow by Victor. We had requested a bungalow with maximum privacy and no sandbags in front and our request was met. Our bungalow (Room 17) was perfect! located just a short walk from the Veli Restaurant but far enough that the noises from the restaurant didn't reach us. the room was like a water Vila during the day since the bottom of the stairs from the bungalow would be in water during high tide! But during the early hours of morning the beach would clear and you could walk on the beach! So it was best of both! The room was decorated with towels and exotic flowers and a fruit basket awaited us on arrival. Their was a mini bar in the room and the room was stalked with 2 bottles of water (free) every day. Our 'room boy', Vetrival was a delight! room service is offered twice daily and he would decorate the bed each time with mesmerizing decors! as creative as he was, he was also intelligent. He remembered every tiny little detail and we didn't need to remind him twice. Since we are Muslims, we use water at the toilet and not just tissue. The Beach villa Bathroom didn't have the 'Muslim Shower' (water villa bathroom has a bidet) so we had put bottles there instead. Vetrival has been the only room boy to date who understood why they were kept and didn't remove them from the bathroom without being told. Now on to the staff. Staff is friendly, makes small talks, meets you with a smile and a greeting every time. when we arrived we were fasting since it was Ramadan. The staff at the Veli restaurant opened early for us so that we could break our fast on time. Everyone went out of their way to make us comfortable. Russel was appointed to be our waiter for the stay. And he was amazing. He took care of all our needs, and when he heard we were Pakistani Muslims, went out of the way and brought us 'Biryani' and other continental dishes from the staff kitchen! (we were on a full board deal). Now onto food. The food at the Veli Restaurant is buffet style and included in the full board package. It offers over 15-20 main courses, 20 or so side courses and a ten foot dessert table laden with heavenly desserts! (There is ALWAYS a freshly made sorbet and an ice cream station there) The food mainly caters to Italian and European taste put we being Pakistanis would find 4-5 dishes to our taste always. There is a live grilling station so if you don't like raw fish you can have it grilled there. The entire menu is halal minus a few dishes which the chefs would point out for you. All the chefs are super friendly! They take you through the courses explaining what's what. Franchesco the Italian chef and the Pastry chef were my favorite people to talk to at the restaurant. The Menu changes everyday so you never get bored. The breakfast is magnificent with over 5 types of tea and coffees, 3 types of fresh juices, fresh fruits, variety of cereal, live egg station, hash browns and variety of cakes and doughnuts with toppings and spreads. along with a selection of breads. The view from the restaurant is stunning. Its located over water and you can almost always sea a black tip shark circling the shore from your table. There is a mosque located on the property with proper area for ablution and daily five time prayers are offered in congregation which guests can also join in. The entire island is laden with greenery and flowers. the Ginger spa offers sensual, extremely relaxing massages in a unique interior. The gym and TV room are open 24 hours a day everyday. The boutique and souvenir shop isn't expensive and has a good variety of stuff. The staff at diving center is extremely friendly! from the receptionist (Raju) to Marine biologiest (Andrea) to PADI certified diver (Paula) will go out of their way to make your trip memorable. Andrea offers daily free guided snorkeling trips which even I, a non swimmer could enjoy! The reef at Gangehi is one of the most beautiful reefs with colorful swarms of exotic fishes! You might also spot a shark if you're lucky! Paula offers SCUBA diving lessons which my husband immensely enjoyed. There is a list of free daily activities offered every day which you can find on your breakfast table everyday. The resort also offers paid excursion trips. We went to Bathala reef excursion for snorkeling and it was mesmerizing! We saw 3 sea turtles and a variety of rare fishes over there. Andrea was kind enough to capture a couple of our photos and videos with his go pro. We also attended Ramadan League Football Championship semi final and final (staff teams), my husband scored a penalty kick during a break and won us a 50% off voucher from the spa! upon staff request, We were honored to distribute the gold medals to the winning team. (Well played! Masud Rana, Ahmed Fauzi). This event was an amazing social experience and we met and mingled with the staff members and got to know a bit about their lives too! The sand bank is another great attraction that very few islands apart from Gangehi offer. It is over 2 km long and pure strip of heaven! powdery white clear sand with crystal clear blue-green waters and baby sharks, stingrays and other exotic colorful fishes! free canoes are available on the beach to canoe away! The walk around the island takes less than 10 minutes. Besides the veli restaurant is Kandu Bar which offers snacks and beverages (alcoholic and non alcoholic) and also free board games. On our last night at the resort, Harman at the kandu bar offered us his best complimentary passion-fruit drink! needless to say everyone went out of their way to make us comfortable! The views from our water villa were unmatched. It is hard to sleep in that villa because you don't want to miss the sublime moonlight beaming right in front of your villa! The clear sunsets views and rainbows from the villa patio will forever remain etched in our memories.
And while there are a lot of ups to the place, there are some cons too. The internet connection is not fast and not so reliable. So if you like to stay connected to fast internet you might want to consider getting a sim with data package from the airport. (We had dhiragu which worked like a charm!). The full board offer gets you buffet meals, but not the drinks (water, alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages can be bought from the beverage menu), we knew this so it didn't bother us. Sometimes the 'small talk' by the staff members becomes a full grown conversation (15 min - 1 hour). I think the staff should realize that on a honeymoon people might not want to have that kind of talks and keep the talking to minimum. In courtesy we couldn't cut off the conversations and frankly get quite uneasy sometimes. But these are few and its something we could ignore. There are no packed snacks (Chips etc.) available at the island, we knew this and brought some of our own. Electric kettle is not available in beach villa but Russel arranged one for us. In the Water villa a complimentary tea bar is available. While there are fun daily activities and excursions available, the activities are still less than what other resorts offer; like banana riding, water boarding, sky boarding etc etc so if you're more of an activity person, you might want to reconsider.
The NEVI speedboat is a cheaper alternative to the seaplane, but it can be uncomfortable. on our way to the resort we sat on the seats facing the back of the boat and it was an ultimate horror story. The sensation of your heart dropping into your guts is something one has to get used to during the hour and a half ride. So if you take the speedboat, make SURE you get the seats facing the front of the ship. It will make your journey remarkably easy and even fun filled!

Having said that, this place is a little piece of heaven on earth and totally worth the time and money. I miss Gangehi from the moment I left. We made memories of a lifetime there. Its The ultimate honeymoon experience, the kind of place you wouldn't want to return from!

Room Tip: Water villa 32 is on water (unlike 30-31),offers privacy and has an unbelievable sunset view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maaidah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Direttore at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Maaidah, warm greetings from Gangehi Island Resort and thank you very much for posting such a detailed, comprehensive and wonderful review. The entire team and I are thrilled to read that you made memories of a lifetime here and you had a great honeymoon stay with us. Thanks for awarding the excellent service delivered by our multicultural and professional staff who are highly passionate and friendly. Thanks for mentioning our facilities, the free daily activities, the excursions guided by our in-house marine biologist and the natural beauty of our heaven on earth. We also miss you and we do hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Perfect escape to a well-run resort--though off-season, resort was nearly full, and I was temporarily upgraded to Bungalow 43 at the far end of the pier for 3 nights because of a booking mix-up on Hotels.com, then moved to Bungalow 9 on the eastern tip of the island for 5 nights; each was wonderful! In July the wind seems to blow from the N and NW usually, so lots of breezes in the overwater bungalows; good air conditioning in the beach bungalow. And though I stuck out as a single traveler, the couples on the group trips (dolphin watching, whale shark snorkeling) were friendly and talkative. Veli Restaurant buffet was incredible: at least 2 kinds of eggplant each night, white fish or tuna 5 ways, a carving station, and a 10-foot dessert table, plus tons of other choices. Seems a good portion of the staff and at least half the guests were Italian. There were very few American guests. Marine biologists are friendly, educational, serious, and a cohesive group. Staff--waiters, "room boys"--quickly learned my routine and preferences, making it quite a personalized and civilized vacation. This was the trip of a lifetime and I enjoyed every second of it, whether reading or checking email at Kandu Bar (wifi is strongest and most reliable there), solo kayaking just outside the beach barrier, riding atop a dhoni to look for dolphins, snorkeling in the middle of Ari Atoll on a reef teeming with coral and curious fishes, having a hot cup of tea on my bungalow deck the one day it rained (and thank you to Victor who lent me an electric kettle!), playing "Bingo" after dinner, stargazing from the sandbar beach to see the Milky Way stretching north to south and finding the Large Magellanic Cloud just before sunrise, to watching the resident black tip sharks patrolling the shore. Thank you, Gangehi Resort and Staff, for one of the best trips I've ever had!

Room Tip: Sun is N of zenith, wind is N or NW in July: watervillas get PM sun & breezes. East end villas secluded, small beach for sun or quick dip
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Direttore at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Kris, it has been our great pleasure to welcome you to Gangehi Island Resort. Thanks for posting your comments and sharing your wonderful experience with us. We were so pleased to read your kind words about our warm and caring staff, the well-appointed accommodation and the incredible buffet at the main restaurant. We do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews