We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track but worth the trek”

Le Moulin De Langoust
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Gourbit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This is not a place you go by chance but it's worth the trek up the hill. Gourbit is a tiny village between Tarascon and Saurat, take the "Parc de la Prehistoire" exit from the end of the dual carriageway roundabout.

As usual with these small restaurants, opening hours are limited with reduced opening hours in the winter so it's worth phoning to make a reservation. They don't have a website but do have a Facebook page.This shows current opening hours as

Thurs: 19:00 - 21:00
Fri / Sat 12:00 - 13:30 / 19:00 - 21:00
Sun 12:00 - 13:30

The menu was interesting, good value for money at €24.50 for 3 courses and the service was smiley and efficient. Portion sizes were generous to the point that eating a dessert was possibly a step too far.....but rude not to, I always think......on that point, I thought the standard of deserts was not as good as the other courses being of the ice cream sundae etc variety, but that's a minor quibble. Good selection of well-priced wines from the South West of France.

On a previous visit, I was a little surprised that the heating in the winter was provided by a rather smelly paraffin heater which rather spoilt the first impression, but didn't detract from the experience once the food and drink started flowing. In short, worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FootloosePair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc M, Gérant at Le Moulin De Langoust, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Merci beaucoup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017

This restaurant is run by a young coup,e who obviously enjoy their work. The food is excellent and home made with the chef popping out to meet his clients and make sure his food was appreciated. The prices are very reasonable too .

Thank Suzy09220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc M, Gérant at Le Moulin De Langoust, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Merci beaucoup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This restaurant came highly recommended and we weren't disappointed. Be prepared for enormous portions though. I started with the goats cheese with three different flavours and was impressed by the imagination that went into the choice of flavour - all were superb and imaginative (thyme, honey and mirtle). Next was the peche de jour which was superbly cooked and very tasty. My wife had gazpacho which had a beautiful natural flavour followed by an impressive confit du canard (one of the best she has eaten). We finished off with the dame blanche which left us full for the rest of the day. Wine choice was nice with a Corbierres vieilles vignes which was not a disappointment but full of character and flavour.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ckal0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc M, Gérant at Le Moulin De Langoust, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We came to Le Moulin de Langoust on the recommendation of our B&B hosts in Saint Savin. We were NOT disappointed. A small place with the cook and a server and they work together to serve you a nice meal. I would call it high end French cuisine and they had a diverse menu with meat, seafood and even offered to make vegetarian dishes for us. The scallops were great and the main course for me was a nice piece of salmon. The dessert choice was a Max Profiterole and its enough for 3 people! Do not miss a chance to venture here if you are staying in the area of Tarascon. Its worth the ride.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveSeattle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc M, Gérant at Le Moulin De Langoust, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Merci beaucoup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Good comprehensive menu on offer with choice for everyone, attentive service , presentation was excellent and foie gras creme brulee exceptional. We will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HJW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Moulin De Langoust also viewed

Tarascon-sur-Ariege, Ariege
Tarascon-sur-Ariege, Ariege
 
Tarascon-sur-Ariege, Ariege
Tarascon-sur-Ariege, Ariege
 

Been to Le Moulin De Langoust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing