We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saxmundham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ceeforina
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2020 for a stay in July 2020

Very pretty one story cottage , good location near to the High Street in Saxmundum,. Possibly the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in in a holiday let! Sweet little dining room, lovely kitchen, everything we could have needed. The cottage is one story, so ideal for someone, like me, with mobility problems. The bath/ shower was low enough for me to be able to step into it, which was a first for a holiday cottage. Will be back for a longer visit...

Date of stay: July 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2020
Thank you for your Review of ‘Flint Cottage’.
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back.

We’re really pleased you found the beds comfortable. We think a good night’s sleep in a comfy bed is important too.

Flint Cottage is indeed perfect for people who don’t want any stairs. All on one level. No steps either (even out to the garden)

See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser51...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped, comfortable, warm holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 20 September 2019 for a stay in September 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Flint Cottage is really well equipped, very comfortable, even the beds, and is easily warmed up if the weather is a bit chilly. It is a well placed cottage for visiting Snape Maltings, Aldborough, Southwold, Thorpeness Minnsmere Orford etc.
The Trinity cafe on the right as you turn off the main road do an excellent breakfast and allow dogs inside.

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2019
Thank you for your Review of ‘Flint Cottage’. We are pleased that you found it comfortable and cosy there, slept well and enjoyed your stay.

The whole of Suffolk is very dog-friendly and there are lots of places where you can can take your dogs with you. Trinity’s Cafe in the Market Place is one of our favourites too. Run by two lovely ladies - Stella and Karen - and just 5 mins walk from our Holiday Cottages.

We’re glad that you found it easy to get to the places you wanted to visit on this trip. There are lots of other interesting places close by too. Perhaps you’re saving them for your next visit?

We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry M
Hatfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect pet friendly base for exploring.”
Reviewed 20 September 2019 for a stay in September 2019

Saxmundham is a nice small town that is ideally placed to explore this area of Suffolk.

Flint cottage is nicely fitted out and exceptionally clean and comfortable - just right for my wife, adult daughter, two small to medium sized dogs and myself.

Really enjoyed our long weekend stay here and would very happily stay again, hopefully for a bit longer next time.

Thank you very much to the owner (Dawn) for making us so welcome.

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2019
Thank you Barry for your Review of ‘Flint Cottage’. We’re glad you all enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back anytime.

We’re particularly pleased that you appreciate our efforts and high standards of cleanliness (our Housekeeper will be very pleased to hear).

Yes, there is indeed a lot to see and do around the Suffolk Heritage Coast so perhaps a longer stay next time?

Being so central, your base in Saxmundham makes it very easy to get to all the places of interest.

We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, spotless and convenient”
Reviewed 20 September 2019 for a stay in September 2019
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is charming with lots of character. The outside space is limited but enough room for small table and 4 chairs in courtyard. Easy 10 minute walk to the centre or 10 minutes walk to country park. Location ideal as plenty of variety of places to visit within 20 to 30 minutes drive.
What really stands out is the welcome. Dawn was so willing to share recommendations and offer advice.

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a Review, Sue.
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in ‘Flint Cottage’, which is indeed quite characterful - the main parts of the buildings are around 200 years old.

Being in the centre of the old town of Saxmundham is a great bonus, as you’re just minutes from the High Street and everything you’d need, and we are fortunate to have a little bit of outside space so that our guests can sit out and enjoy the sunshine.

We love Suffolk so it’s great when our guests are enthusiastic to explore the fabulous Heritage Coastal region - and find they love it too!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, so you can explore some more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnalour...
1 review
“Little gem”
Reviewed 29 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019

This cottage is clean and has everything a family needs for a great holiday. There is s pub in walking distance and the Suffolk coast is only a short drive away.

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a Review on your recent stay at one of our 4* Holiday Cottages in Saxmundham.

We’re pleased that you liked staying at ‘Flint Cottage’, and that you appreciated the high standards.

We love the Suffolk Heritage Coastal region and we’re glad that you enjoyed exploring the area and found all the places of interest quick and easy to get to.

The ‘Poachers Pocket’ Pub is our favourite local so we’re glad you liked it too. Local Ales, home-cooked food, nice people, and walking distance from the Holiday Cottages.

We’d welcome you back anytime and look forward to meeting you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.