We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly overpriced, callous staff attitude, good location though”
Review of Monolith Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bhimtal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monolith Resort
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bhimtal
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The property has all the potential, big space, well-placed. t
he staff doesn't seem to care though.
totally dusty room at time of check-in. not even a basic analgesic like crocin/combiflam or anything in their first aid box. we requested them to get from market - it was declined on the pretext that markets are closed at 7 pm in this city.
they claim free wifi, but only at reception.
they claim doctor on call, but offer to take you in your car (or their 2 wheeler) to nearby dispensary.
food was fine, view from room is good. green space is good,
walkways are shady.

Room Tip: most rooms have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2016

The only USP of this hotel is its view of Bhimtal lake otherwise it was a very bad letdown.The reception was dusty with a threadbare carpet. The room had supposedly been cleaned with a sanitized sticker on the pot. Shocked to find it had been used and not cleaned. Room had dust over the tables and tv . No curtains only blinds on the window which were grossly inadequate. Bed cover was also dusty. " Swimming pool" had frogs swimming in it at night and had apparently not been cleaned for quite few days. In short definitely a no no

Room Tip: am not recommending it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harryg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Had traveled to Bhimtal with family for 3 nights. Had seen some very good reviews of the place hence, chose the same. The Resort has an amazing facade and beautiful location. The Staff is extremely friendly and the food good. However, the resort rooms are very ill maintained. They seem not to have been cleaned and maintained for ages. the rooms are musty and wet. They also have cobwebs which have not been cleaned. The lights on the upper deck do not operate. Also, there is no heater in the room which makes the room smell wet and musty. Overall its a good experience however, over priced.

Room Tip: If you are staying here negotiate hard or opt for family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bobbysinha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The Resort is located in a very appropriate place giving a beautiful view of the Lake and surrounded with hills. The service was great with all the staff taking care of all our needs very well. From restaurant Manager Mr Kamlesh Joshi to other staff like Tarun Jina, Suresh, Mr Pandey all have been really good in whatever responsibility they have been given. The cottages are well maintained built with in a very unique manner giving a different experience all together. I would recommend this resort to all who want to visit Bhimtal

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anilberlia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I am writing this letter following my stay at your property V-Resort, 2 days back (stayed room no.106, dated on 20th May- 21st May). Booking ID: NH2101118982221.
This letter is in regard to the poor level of customer service with high customer dissatisfaction.

We have been Redisson, Hyatt, Novotel, Golden Palms, Taj, Leela but never seen poor service like V-Resort Monolith, I opted for your property after checking your website which portrays a completely different picture, as compared to reality. You claim to provide a lot many facilities which is not even available on your best rooms – the super deluxe independent room.

Right from the time of check-in, my experience had been the worst ever. There was nobody to welcome at the reception. It took 10 minutes for a room service boy to address us and another 15 minutes to call the receptionist. And to the height of irresponsibility, the receptionist is unaware of the booking details, and the service boy took the baggage to the room without even informing us for the same.

The room service has never attended on any of our calls either for the tea, meals or cleaning up the rooms. The bathrooms and toilets were not cleaned before the check-in and I had to drag the person along with me after calling for the service some 10 times. Power-cuts another havoc. I didn’t even dream of facing electricity cut-off in such a 4 star claiming property. You have got electrical appliances which either wouldn’t work or there would be no electricity to operate. This is how you conserve electricity, I hope. No water, we had to go Nainital after breakfast but due to no water supply by resort we couldn’t go to there. People were taking water bucket from pool. And, management was helpless. Allowed dog to roam in dining hall.

If I talk of your hotel outside the room, the swimming pools have not been cleaned for the past 1 week, so filthy water breeding flyes, frogs & mosquitoes. The table tennis court does not have any equipment other than the tables. Other games are only there on the advertisement of your website.

In short, you have totally shattered our vacation leaving us more tired than ever. I have written all these comments on the website. Your property and services are not even worthy to be checked-in for free. We paid almost Rs. 10,000 per day. Its not worth more than Rs. 2500/-.

I will definitely take up these issues, and will make sure that your property does not even get a single star.

Attaching some pictures which I took it for your reference.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ankur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bhimtal hotels
3.7 km away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#6 of 12 in Bhimtal
216 reviews
1.8 km away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
3.2 km away
Aamod at Bhimtal
Aamod at Bhimtal
#5 of 12 in Bhimtal
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Harshikhar Bhimtal
0.2 km away
Lake Retreat
Lake Retreat
#3 of 12 in Bhimtal
35 reviews
7.7 km away
The Pine Crest
The Pine Crest
#11 of 12 in Bhimtal
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monolith Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monolith Resort

Address: Mandir Marg, Bhimtal 263136, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Bhimtal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bhimtal
Price Range: €50 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monolith Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing