We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Season(Vlore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Lux(Vlore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
35
47
41
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
47
41
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsea viewrestaurant staffseafoodrooms are spacioussunsetmirroralbaniavlorauji
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The promise of a great view of the sea, excellent location, private beach and swimming pool lured us to this hotel. The price ( around $200 p/n for a family room) was very steep for Albanian standards or any standards but hey, it looked like it was going to be worth As it turned out, the location and views delivered but the rest not so much.
The hotel is located on the road to Sarande right before you get to the Uji i Fhote Tunnel.
It has a pool , parking lot and private beach. The beach can be reached by crossing the street, is pebbly, narrow , small and very crowded with fellow guests.
The hotel lobby makes a pretty ok impression, but the receptionists speak poor English and aren't very knowledgeable of the rooms.
We asked and paid for a family room with a view. We got a family room in the back of the hotel with a view of the pool, and if you stood on the tiny balcony ( with one chair and a dead bird) you could crane to see the ocean.
The apartment had 2 bedrooms and one bathroom, and all looked in need of updating. The AC was not in working order. Needless to say for the price we paid ( again I have to emphasize this is Albania, so the price was high!!) we marched back to the front desk to ask for a new room.
The hotel was full, but we ended up being relocated to the front of the hotel with a view of the ocean. Again the room was not something to write home about, but we did love our magnificent ocean view and the balcony. The bathroom was teeny tiny with a shower that would not drain, so we ended up having a flood after 5 min showering. The AC worked on and off ( mostly off).
Breakfast was buffet style, with meats/cheeses/juices/bread etc. Not lavish, but acceptable. Loved the terrace with the view where you could sit and have breakfast.
Several restaurants and bars are within walking distance including one on a pier with fantastic views.
I would have written a more favorable review if the price of this hotel had not been so high in comparison to what it offered in terms of cleanliness and service.

Room Tip: Any room ocean side will have a magnificent view. Rooms in the back look out to the mountain wall.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Natalie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Vlore is a nice place on southern beach of Albanian Adria coast. The Hotel New York a good chance to explore the region and have rest on the beach. The people and the staff is friendly and helpful but the management of the Hotel is poor. At first we did not find the Hotel as the emblematic skybridge what is still on the hotel's internet homepage photo already demolished. Even the Hotel sign is not visible from the road in front of the house because it was not switched on. Only one elevator serves the guest ant it is small and slow. The staff often can't find the room's key as the cleaners did not return it to the Reception. The sea view from the is wonderful but the own beach is very poor. There is no access from the rooms to the parking area. The breakfasts are plenty but always the same, after few days is insipid, but their croissants are heavenly. Wifi is free but the quality is not good. Many small mistakes what are unnecessary and uncomfortable for the guests and easy to manage it better.
The young receptionist girls are very good and did everything to feel us better.
The Hotel New York can be much better!

Room Tip: The sea side rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frigyiklaszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Just outside Valona, this hotel is on the main road.
Recently refurbished, all rooms are spacious and very clean. Maybe having the television behind a mirror wasn't the best idea ever. You really can't watch it with some light in the room.

Breakfast on the average: good selection of food but I expected a bit better.

The restaurant serves great fresh fish but the bill can't be added to your room's bill (or at least they couldn't do it when I was there).

All the staff is very kind and gentle. Ready to answer to all your questions.
One of the best hotel I've been in Albania.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

I had to stay six weeks in Vlora for work. New York hotel offered a tremendous deal, combining a seaview, spacious room with excellent service by very friendly hotel and restaurant staff, a superbly located swimming pool, easy access to a (small) beach, ample parking space, remarkably good, yet inexpensive (sea) food and efficient office facilities. The location of the hotel is perfect, not too far from Vlora centre, but far enough to be free of vacationing crowds. It is at the end of the new Lungomare beachfront, which allows for pleasant walks or lengthy runs.
The only (minor) point for improvement could be the breakfast that is certainly adequate by regular standards but could be made a bit more in line with a four star hotel if some basics were added such as fresh orange juice, choice of bread, more egg variety, honey besides jams.

Room Tip: sea view rooms offer perfect sun rays and splendid sunsets
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

This is the first time I visit Vlore. My friends and I+love received 2 rooms in this hotel for 2 days. No words can describe the experience we had. Starting from entering the premises, you expect to be welcome by an usher to take you to reception and thing take your luggage to your room. That didnt happen, we were asked to take our own luggage and show our self to our rooms.
My room was nice, only because I paid a lot of money but my friend's room was a nightmare, ants in the bed, bad shower, no bidet, etc.
The pool is very small and filled with chlorine and they dont have a private beach nor a good beach to swim.
We thought a good night sleep and then a morning breakfast will do the trick and we might start to love the hotel. Huh, that didnt happen as well, the breakfast is only 2 types of cheese, corn flakes, 2 types of sweets and some fruits.

I have to give credit to the staff members, they are just amazing, friendly and very welcoming. They will try to help you anyway that is humanely possible.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ezzat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews