We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
236
309
82
19
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
309
82
19
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor first floor ocean view one night room was spacious nice hotel stayed nights delicious food hotel is located arts museum relaxing environment swimming pool western style breakfast wide selection family room buffet breakfast open air
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017

This hotel is located right next to the beach with great views of the sea. Came with the family of 4 and booked a nice large room. It definitely was pricey but I would say it was totally worth it. This hotel is frequented more by Japanese families and local tourists.

This hotel is large and has 2 wings. It has multiple restaurants and a choice of 2 places for buffet breakfast. We went to the one on the second floor and it also had nice view of the sea. In fact, you could sit outside to dine but since it was winter when I went - it was too chilly to do so. The spread was decent.

My family room was large with a nice balcony overlooking the sea. You could spend some time just lounging on the deck chairs and have a coffee if you wanted to. Beds were comfortable.

The highlight of the hotel would be its various facilities in house. I was fortunate enough to be able to watch an evening performance of a traditional Japanese dance. It must have been some special event and the function room on the ground floor was filled with other guests enjoying the dance routine.

The hotel also has a games/carnival room on the ground floor. There are simple traditional games like shooting targets with a bow or a cock rifle. Mostly I would say the kids would enjoy these. You could win simple prizes on completion. In the same room there are arts and crafts activities available eg photo frame making and so on. Good for a bit of family bonding.

The hotel also has a treasure hunt game for the children. You get a bingo card with various check points and things to accomplish. There are treasure boxes scattered all over the hotel for the kids to find also. Very well planned. And of course a prize if managed to complete 5 tasks in a row.

The side of the hotel opens out to the beach. There were prawning pools for a bit of laid back fishing. Trampolines and zip-lines for the children. The beach was amazing with nice clear sand with no debri. Had fun identifying the bird tracks in the sand.

Parking was underground but this small carpark can be filled quite quickly. The secondary carpark will be across the road from the hotel.

There is a small mini mart on the second floor of the hotel.

2 Onsens were available for guests. An open air one facing the sea on the first floor and another one on the top floor with sea views as well. These were well sized and awesome!

The hotel was also close to the famous Whirlpools of Naruto - so a good rest stop.

All in all - a fantastic stay. Definitely will come back.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmsgms2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
明 星, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Renaissance Naruto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you very much for staying at Renaissance Naruto Resort .

We are delighted to see you enjoying your stay at our hotel with restaurants, ocean views from the guestroom, hot springs and activities.

Especially Tokushima’s traditional dance "Awa Odori" performance held every evening at our hotel and is very popular for many guests not only for Japanese but also guests from overseas. This dance has a history of about 400 years and is famous as one of the Japan's three major Bon Odori festival in summer. Did you try to join dancing?

Also, the natural hot spring you used is good for refresh, alleviating stiff shoulder, and for the skin thus it is called “Hot water for a beautiful person". You can see the sunrise rising from the Naruto Strait and the fantastic moon road floating on the sea on the full moon night from the open air bath.

The Naruto Strait where is 10-minute drive from the hotel, is famous for whirlpools and one of the world's three major tides. Especially the whirlpools seen at the spring tide are the largest in the world size. You can see powerful whirlpools from a glass-floored bridge suspended 45 meters above the ocean, or from aboard a whirlpool sightseeing boat.

Thank you very much for giving us a lot of praise words this time.
Your next travel to Japan, we strongly recommend you to come in the time of cherry blossoms and enjoy the scene and taste of Japan. We all are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

This Marriott chain hotel is located in a quite suburb area near Naruto/Tokushima. All guest rooms are oceanfront and have very nice ocean views. It has 3 different spas, 1st floor has an open air spa, 7th floor has small but private spas only for the guests staying in suites and 8th floor has an ocean view spa. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed all the spas. Overall, this hotel provides very relaxing environment and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to take rests and recharge energy.
Due to it's location the transportation is not convenient and therefore I strongly recommend to rent a car if you want to stay here.

Room tip: Our room was upgraded to a suite.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ksyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We planned to stay only one night but we prolonged it to have a complete relaxing day at the coast. The hotel is very luxurious and well kept but as some mentioned it it some years old and not designed according to the latest fashion (complaining on a very high level). The rooms are very big, superclean, and we had a balcony showing to the sea. The dinner buffet was really good but not worth the high price of about 35 Euro. If you stay more than one night you get the lunch for free and this is comparable to the dinner. One chef could perfectly speak English and I learned a lot from him how to prepare and eat the different japanese dishes, this was very helpful and friendly, thanks again. The two Onsen were marvelous and relaxing. We were late in October but spent some time at the perfect beach close to the hotel. We can fully recommend this hotel if you need some time off during your trip.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiatG9214UE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely Hotel! Great View!! Me and my family enjoyed our stay very much!!
Special thanks to Mr. Hiyajo 比屋定! He Checked-in us and well explained all the hotel facilities. We asked him about the ferry to Wakayama, he checked all the information for me immediately. He knew that reservation will be required for the ferry and the staff at the ferry could not speak English, Mr. Hiyajo assisted me for the reservation without my request. He is very helpful and super friendly!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IanIPxD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

My family stayed in the Renaissance Naruto Resort for a night in late January 2016.  The hotel located in a quiet and pretty seashore.  I requested an additional bed in my twin room and the hotel staff upgraded our booking to a spacious 4-bed family room.  My children loved really it!  Indeed the room was well-maintained and typically clean.  Parts of the exterior walls of the hotel building were having renovation works, that did not affect us however.  Our room had a terrace that offered a stunning sea view.  We saw sunrise there in the next morning at our room.  At night we heard of occasional terrace door banging sounds probably generated by other hotel guests at their own rooms.  They ceased before mid-night.  The air-conditioning worked excellently and kept us in a comfortable temperature.   
Our plan included a buffet dinner.  It was a Friday night and the restaurant (on the first floor) was almost full.  It appeared that most guests were Japanese in yukata.  The restaurant staff communicated with us mainly by sign language.  The dinner offered fresh sea foods.  I particularly liked the sashimi, fired oyster, and udon.  With extra payment you could have a selection of a wide range of wine also.  
We used the same restaurant for the buffet breakfast in next morning.  Again the food was in Japanese style.  We noticed that another restaurant on ground floor offered western-style breakfast.
I have used both the indoor (on the top floor) and outdoor (on ground floor) onsens. The outdoor one offered sea view with better atmosphere.
With a reasonable price we could have a stunning sea view, spacious and very comfortable room, fine Japanese food, both indoor and outdoor onsens, good services, plus proximity to local attractions of the Arts Museum and the Uzu-no-michi.  We were all satisfied.  We definitely recommended this hotel to family and couple travelers.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_Chan_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews