We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Draethen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hollybush Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Draethen B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Just visited over the weekend with friends for a meal and a drink. The new owners were really lovely and welcoming, so to were the locals! The food was all freshly cooked and delicious! We'll definitely go back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

So pleased to see new owners at our favourite local. I urge all locals and passersby to call in and see how much it has improved since the new owners have taken over. I wish them all the very best as they rebuild the Hollybush as a great country pub, with a warm welcome and delicious food. See you there soon!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Had a great time last night, Adrian & Deb are only 2 days in & what a transformation. Can't wait to see how it will improve over the coming months. Doombar on tap was well stored & served & a great selection of wine was available. Great atmos & well worth a visit

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Russco2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

A family of 10 of us today decided to try this place after it recommended. On arrival we made our way upstairs to be told sternly upstairs isnt open. We follwed the waitress downstairs where she said "if you had rung we could have arranged the tables". Whilst this isnt an unreasonable request she made us all feel very unwelcome as if we were putting her out. We left. Ironically we chatted to another family in the car park who were also leaving of her rudeness. Thankfully we found another pub with good customer service and had a lovely meal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacky H, Manager at The Hollybush Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for review on trip advisor, We have investigated your review and would like to reply to your comments.
The restaurant area upstairs is never open lunch times monday to friday unless you booked.
You were offered a table in bar that you declined as it was not suitable for you.
We were busier than normal because the pub up the road had a power cut.
I am sorry you thought that the waitress was rude but she was under a lot of pressure from customers that had arrived without booking. I have spoken to her and she apologised for this. I cannot understand why large tables of over 8 people could not booked a table then you would not of had the situation that occurred in our bar area. we could of organised the restaurant area to be open for you and your group

Glad you enjoyed the quiet branded pub up the road as we filled our tables twice over.
look forward to you booking next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Popped in to The Hollybush inn for a break on our way to our holiday destination, what a pleasant place. They made no fuss accommodating six adults for dinner. Staff very friendly, food to our likening, good sized portions for the price. Plenty of choice on the menu, even for our fussy family member.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CMA0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hollybush Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollybush Inn and Restaurant

Address: Draethen NP10 8GB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Draethen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Draethen
Price Range: €45 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Newport and Cardiff, the Hollybush offers self contained luxury country pub accommodation, that is convenient for many major sporting events including the Ryder Cup and Rugby Internationals. Our rooms are furnished to an excellent standard together with a high standard of cleanliness. Our aim is to maintain this high standard of service and to accommodate you in a friendly and hospitable atmosphere. Rooms at the Hollybush are spacious giving you a place to relax and feel at home. We offer mini bar with complimentary Welsh water and food is available from the selection of Hollybush menus. All rooms have: en-suite bathrooms Coffee and tea maker Non-smoking room Iron and iron board Trouser press Flat screen TV Bed setee Deluxe bathroom amenities Hair dryer Mini fridge Writing desk Wireless internet access Safe rooms (dead lock, spy hole, door chain, well lit access) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing