We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel(Caerphilly)(Great Value!)
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manor Parc Country Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
56
21
19
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
21
19
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakwell worth a visitlovely atmospheresunday lunchgenerous portionslovely country pubpotatoesnew ownerscurryselection of beerssunny daywonderful mealbar mealsreal aleroaring firebrought to the tablepie
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

So pleased to see new owners at our favourite local. I urge all locals and passersby to call in and see how much it has improved since the new owners have taken over. I wish them all the very best as they rebuild the Hollybush as a great country pub, with a warm welcome and delicious food. See you there soon!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Had a great time last night, Adrian & Deb are only 2 days in & what a transformation. Can't wait to see how it will improve over the coming months. Doombar on tap was well stored & served & a great selection of wine was available. Great atmos & well worth a visit

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Russco2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

A family of 10 of us today decided to try this place after it recommended. On arrival we made our way upstairs to be told sternly upstairs isnt open. We follwed the waitress downstairs where she said "if you had rung we could have arranged the tables". Whilst this isnt an unreasonable request she made us all feel very unwelcome as if we were putting her out. We left. Ironically we chatted to another family in the car park who were also leaving of her rudeness. Thankfully we found another pub with good customer service and had a lovely meal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacky H, Manager at The Hollybush Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for review on trip advisor, We have investigated your review and would like to reply to your comments.
The restaurant area upstairs is never open lunch times monday to friday unless you booked.
You were offered a table in bar that you declined as it was not suitable for you.
We were busier than normal because the pub up the road had a power cut.
I am sorry you thought that the waitress was rude but she was under a lot of pressure from customers that had arrived without booking. I have spoken to her and she apologised for this. I cannot understand why large tables of over 8 people could not booked a table then you would not of had the situation that occurred in our bar area. we could of organised the restaurant area to be open for you and your group

Glad you enjoyed the quiet branded pub up the road as we filled our tables twice over.
look forward to you booking next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Popped in to The Hollybush inn for a break on our way to our holiday destination, what a pleasant place. They made no fuss accommodating six adults for dinner. Staff very friendly, food to our likening, good sized portions for the price. Plenty of choice on the menu, even for our fussy family member.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CMA0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Booked for Sunday lunch. Usually you book for the restaurant but they were good enough to let us change to the bar. The service was poor - two teenagers one of whom had obviously not worked behind a bar before. They were polite, tried hard but unfortunately I wasn't the only customer commenting on both the (long) time taken to serve, but also the inaccuracies of our bills. This alone wouldn't have been an issue, but coupled with mediocre food - I shan't be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SRW19661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacky H, Manager at The Hollybush Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

thank you for your review on trip advisor

Yes one member of staff was very new and was being trained , due to 2 staff phoning in sick that day left us with no choice but to put a new member of staff on the bar with 1 more experienced, if the food was not to your liking you should of given us the opportunity to rectify your issues you had with the mediocre food you stated,
please give future restaurants the chance to rectify issues before putting on trip advisor

thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews