We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveller rating
445
396
117
49
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
396
117
49
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class wine tasting outdoor pool train station figline valdarno great history breakfast room opening hours italian garden pizza making class small town town square stepping back in time small shower middle ages amazing building scrambled eggs and bacon
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The hotel was really modern but the room was rather dated, the shower was small and I am not a particularly big person. They have an in door pool on premise but the out door pool is across the road and up a hill and they charge for everything, so not ideal. The restaurant was beyond idyllic and the food was indescribable, I would highly recommend it to anyone in the area, take a detour if you have to, the chef was a genius. The grounds are like paradise and very scenic. I would definitely go back and I would highly recommend it. But I would suggest staying in a better quality room, ours was rather disappointing and be aware of the pool!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainflake2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed 4 nights here and it was lovely.
They gave us a free upgrade to a garden room across from the indoor pool.
The breakfast was lovely and we had dinner one night also,the food and staff were all so nice and frindly.
It's easy for driving around or to get the train to Florence etc
We walked into town each night for dinner and it was so nice as the square was full of locals .

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

This hotel is absolutely beautiful!! We stayed there for 4nights and it was absolutely amazing!! The location is perfect, the building is incredible and the staff at the hotel are helpful, gracious and informative. The rooms are a good size. The swimming pools are great, but just remember to book a place if you want to use the outside swimming pool as it is not just for hotel guests. We went on a wine tour that was recommended by the hotel and it was great. Unfortunately, we didn't do the wine tasting or cooking class at the hotel as we didn't have enough time. The hotel is also conveniently located if you are planning to do a day trip to Florence, takes around 30min by train (just make sure you take the fast train). We had dinner at the hotel on our last night and it was really good. I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chantelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

This building has been here since the middle ages and obviously since those times it has been completely renovated and equipped with all the modern conviences that you would expect in a 4* hotel. However in trying to renovate in the style of past years, it does mean one has to do a lot of walking (and by way of lifts/elevators as well) to get to your bedroom, dining room, bars, etc. We were part of a large group of sports car enthusiasts and this was one hotel that could take us all. There was a heated indoor small pool, but if you wanted to use a neighbouring large swimming pool and bar facilities, then you had to obtain a pass to allow you to enter and it was a bit of a walk! However and our bedroom was comfortable and clean and we had an excellent shower room.

Room tip: Try to get a room near the main reception to cut down on all that walking!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Absolutely agree with the negatives that 'Haruspex17' listed in previous post. On the positives, the half board option was great value for money and we took full advantage of the supplement upgrade menu which offered an extensive range of excellent dishes, we usually like to try local restaurants but ate in the hotel every evening it was so good. David the Head Waiter was excellent and really looked after our every need, we also experienced the cookery school with Anna where we cooked pizza and gnocchi for our lunch - thanks Anna for such a wonderful morning. This is a great location to visit Florence, the fast train 30 minutes and the station is an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel ( be aware that you need to validate your train ticket in the machines on the platform before you board)

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CDG51020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews