We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Villa Casagrande allows you to spend the night in what was one of the grandest villas outside Florence. Built in a corner of the town's fortification, one can but feel the sense of insecurity that must have prevailed at that time. The modern facilities are excellent, and the location perfect for easy access to the small town. However, there are some negatives that weigh on my rating: 1) while the reception is competent and courteous, there is no offer to help with luggage or to provide assistance in carrying them downstairs to the room (no lift); 2) the outdoor swimming pool is not on the villa's premises and requires crossing the road, walking up a hill, and finding out it is overcrowded - a non-starter; 3) the indoor swimming pool is OK but does not have enough chaise-lounges for all of the guests; 4) the beautiful Italian garden used on the website is actually in need of maintenance.

Room Tip: Some rooms require going downstairs (about 10 steps) and have no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haruspex17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

This is our second week of touring Italy and we booked this hotel as a "it's inexpensive and close by The Mall, let's take a chance" hotel. The rest of our hotel stays are all in 5 star hotels. Beautiful property and nice size room. The dinner was one of the best that we have had in Italy and we are very picky foodies (please see my other reviews of MIchelin starred restaurants).

TIPS:
1. Our room had a very small shower. Make sure you ask about the bathroom size.
2. They don't carry your bags.
3. FREE washer/dryer use (with 3 euro laundry detergent purchase). Amazing bonus!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Giaphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Having booked through a Dutch agency, we were quite positively surprised to find out the hotel is basically a huge 15th-century villa with loads of authentic details, none of which were clearly mentioned in the agency's description. The hotel is beautiful, with friendly staff and great amenities. The wine tasting was wonderful, and the attached restaurant is truly amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Room:It's clean and big enough for couples,and equip with what you need.
Location:40 mins driving from Florence airport,which is quite convenient.
Environment: The whole atmosphere is very elegant and middle ages style,I like the garden courtyard a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jennyen819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Upon arrival the guest check in was very thorough, especially Devon? and Andres were both incredibly helpful. 34 travelers in total in our group so this can be a bit overwhelming but the staff took it in strides and were incredibly friendly.
Room nice but very hot, no ac working in my room and in June this is no fun. Up early the next morning off sigh seeing; upon return to the Villa the AC was blaring lots of cold air. All was well then.
Restaurant decent and for the most part the staff was very nice with the exception of Francisco. Too many times he was very rude to our group and fairly nasty and arrogant to other guests. Several of our people tried to go back and find out why he was so nasty and he would just walk off. Not a positive image for Casagrande.
The cooking school was wonderful! Anna was great as was the other lady whose name escapes me. Amazing food, great time and fun way to spend the afternoon - I highly recommend this activity. I also, learned that they give guided tours of the private quarters of the villa and saw some amazing photos from other guests. Unfortunately we weren't told of this activity and ran out of time.
At first this place comes off as a bit quirky but once you get use to the multi levels and finding your way around the villa it is very enchanting. The chapel, gardens and public spaces are all very charming and clean. I will definitely return for another stay at the Villa Casagrande.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuadDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.3 km away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#1 of 2 in Cavriglia
149 reviews
2.9 km away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,405 reviews
10.5 km away
Hotel il Viandante
Hotel il Viandante
#1 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
#4 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
200 reviews
16.4 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
581 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Toscana
Hotel Toscana
#5 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Casagrande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Casagrande

Address: Via Giovan Battista del Puglia 61 | Figline Valdarno, 50063, Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Price Range: €39 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Casagrande 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Casagrande is an elegant, superior category hotel, located in the old town centre of Figline Valdarno, a little town strategically located in a central position between the cities of Florence, Arezzo and Siena. It is a large, distinctive building with a spacious, austere enclosure in pure Tuscan style. Ideal both for business trips and for tourism, the Staff of Villa Casagrande will welcome you with their willingness to satisfy your every need and, by giving you specific advice, they will help you discover the beauty and the flavours of our "Tuscan Land". Free parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Casagrande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Casagrande Hotel Figline Valdarno
Casagrande Hotel Figline Valdarno
Hotel Villa Casagrande Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing