We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
439
395
117
49
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
395
117
49
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class wine tasting outdoor pool train station figline valdarno great history breakfast room opening hours italian garden small town town square stepping back in time small shower middle ages amazing building scrambled eggs and bacon food for breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This hotel is in a small historic town of Filigne in the Chianti Region, only around 30 minutes drive to Florence. The hotel was once a noble villa mainly from the 14th Century. It has been restored and maintained in a very high quality and keeps its historic feel.

The gardens, foyer and surrounds are extremely beautiful and well appointed. There is an indoor heated pool and a gym that you can use but if you want to go into the hot tub, sauna you will need to pay 24E for a couple! That was kind of disappointing.

The breakfast was wonderful, including hot foods, the best in Italy! The staff are also very accommodating.

Our room was quite spacious and well-appointed. The bed was too hard for me but I requested a mattress topper and was given one, which helped. The biggest issue for our room was it's location. It was right by a passage way that was used to get to the breakfast room and because the floors were terracotta we heard quite a bit of noise in the morning outside of our room and in the room above us.

The restaurant on the premises is definitely worth a visit. Yum!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on a popular passageway
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank natashageorgiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Loved my stay at Villa Casagrande. . .the villa, the restaurant, breakfast, location, the village. Absolutely will be going back. Met all expectations from what I read and the photos on the web site and more. Village just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank caryn20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

First Impression

Second time we are here because it's a perfect stop if you are driving north south. It's a quaint little village and the hotel is built in the city walls. It has loads of quaint features and character! Rooms are very basic but I'll overlook that because of the charm of the place.

Parting Impression

Slept well! Enjoyed the city will drop by again. Thank you friendly staff!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Li11i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

The Villa Casagrande provided the perfect setting and location for a visit to the Chianti Tuscany region. Very convenient to Florence and enjoyed the short train ride.
Staff was very helpful, breakfast excellent and the room fit well with the historic setting. The grounds provided for a scenic and relaxing visit. But, the highlight was the pizza making with Anna. Overall a wonderful experience.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DJC0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

For our romantic weekend we booked a beautiful and comfortable room, maybe one of the most expensive in the hotel. We left our luggages and went to dinner. When we went back to the room the power was completely out and we had to call the reception hoping they'd solve the issue. Unfortunately they couldn't do anything but give us another room that, of course, was not even remotely close to the one we chose. Long story short we had to pay the same price as the original room and we were disappointed because we didn't see a great effort from the staff to fix things. Besides this bad experience, the place is great: beautiful building, good food, indoor pool and spa.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews