We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”
Review of Fossheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fossheim Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Prague
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We visited this hotel for an overnight stay on our way from Geiranger to Oslo. We found it in a guide book recommending exquisite restaurant. Well, the room was ok (see pictures) but firstly they asked for something like 1900 Nok ! We argued that its completely out of season and ended on 950 Nok. We was curious about the restaurant but we found it heavy overpriced - the only option was a menu for 380 Nok/person - no choice! The meal was not very tasty - some kind of fat pork - really not a gourmet experience we were prepared for.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vaschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

have been here twice.There is both hotel and cabins. Rented the cabins with bath and kitchen.Beside a river with a bridge.Only problem is the small beds

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ting2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We ski a lot, and this is a skiers hotel. Great rooms, but the food is outstanding. It seems they try to use only local ingredients in their dishes, different and great. The children enjoyed reindeer, not your every day dish, but fantastic. For good tips on skiing try talking to the manager, Knut Eric, he,s been skiing across Greenland a few times and knows his way around Hemsedals secret powder spots. We,ll be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasdanwox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We had the perfect Christmas holiday at Fossheim last December. This excellent family hotel has a special atmosphere and is really suitable for all ages.
Gourmet meals and helpful staff made this holiday into something we are looking forward to repeating.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACTFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

The common areas such as the restaurant were really good, as well as the sauna and the cozy area at ground floor with sofas and fireplace.
Both breakfast and dinner was very good.

However, our room wasn't that nice. For example the bathroom smelled of mold and the carpet should have been changed some years ago. Additionally it was quite noisy.

I know that there are newer deluxe rooms for a higher price and I presume that these are of higher quality.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kapitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemsedal
3.8 km away
Skogstad Hotell
Skogstad Hotell
#5 of 5 in Hemsedal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.9 km away
Skarsnuten Hotel
Skarsnuten Hotel
#1 of 5 in Hemsedal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
36.9 km away
Scandic Valdres
Scandic Valdres
#1 of 3 in Fagernes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Thon Hotel Hallingdal
20.1 km away
Liatoppen Fjellstue
3.7 km away
Hemsedal Cafe Skiers Lodge
Hemsedal Cafe Skiers Lodge
#7 of 14 in Hemsedal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fossheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fossheim Hotel

Property: Fossheim Hotel
Address: Ulsak, Hemsedal 3560, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hemsedal Municipality > Hemsedal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Fossheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fossheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing