We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$90
PricelineUS$90
Hotels.comUS$90
TravelocityUS$90
FindHotelUS$90
Orbitz.comUS$90
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
246
12
2
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
246
12
2
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza mayor delightful surprise each morning stayed nights excellent hotel the location is perfect alvaro garden turndown flowers town barichara accommodations region
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2020

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. From the warm welcome by Ximena to the care and attention from all of the staff throughout our stay. The property itself is within a lovely garden, in a closed setting. It is a tranquil, beautiful hideaway. Our room was clean, comfortable and perfect for our needs. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The owners of this place could not do more to make your stay excellent; they truly understand the term hospitality! Thank you so much.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank SCoulsonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

After a long day of travelling we had a warm welcome from the owner Ximena. The room was a self contained unit in the grounds. It was well equipped and very comfortable. The bathroom was well designed but one morning there was no hot water. The previously mentioned construction work didn’t bother us during our two night stay. Breakfasts were generous and tasty but the water for black tea was sometimes not hot!

Ximena was outstanding in looking after our needs and we were offered a fresh juice or hot drink every time we came back to the property. She was always available to recommend restaurants and interesting places to visit. One morning my wife told her she needed to see a doctor for a medical problem and Ximena arranged for a local (English speaking) doctor to call within the hour.

Villa de Leyva is a beautifully preserved colonial town and Casa Terra the perfect place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank aldman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2020

Hotel Casa Terra was the culmination of our two-week long flawless itinerary in Colombia in February 2020. We were greeted by Ximena upon our arrival to this little gem located a (cobble)stone's throw away from Villa de Leyva's enchanting Plaza Mayor. Our host is a valuable source of information on the main attractions and restaurants in this captivating pueblo. The hotel, more an upscale version of a splendid B&B, is located in a well-groomed garden and our Suite Prestige was simply exquisite. Breakfast consists of a fruit bowl , yoghurt and granola, 4-5 kinds of bread, jam, fruit juice, eggs, tea of coffee, all of which can be reordered at will. All of the staff were constantly attentive to our needs for the whole duration of our stay. Some previous reviews mention construction work being undertaken. However, the workers keep all nuisance and noise to a strict mininum and we were never annoyed by their presence on the hotel grounds. We are grateful to Ximena for having wrapped up our stay in Colombia in such an elegant, grand and exquisite manner. She is a true ambassador of Colombian hospitality. We cannot wait to go back to Hotel Casa Terra.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yalie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2020 via mobile

Superb boutique hotel with smashing staff close to the two main squares in this wonderful town just love it
Great restaurants lovely little shops an idyllic place to spend a couple of days a good place to unwind

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

I spent 2 nights, and overall it was wonderful. Some staff speak fluent English (but not all). All staff were friendly and helpful. Wifj worked well, the bed was comfortable.

My only big complaint is how noisy it is, especially in the early morning when I would have preferred to sleep later. The layout of the property is such that most rooms are facing the common areas (especially where breakfast is served). As a result staff and other guests voices are quite noticable inside the room. Additionally anyone using the staircase makes much noise, as it squeaks with every step. Not a huge deal, but if you are a light sleeper, its impossible to sleep past 7am with all the noise.

There was also quite a lot of water damage on the walls in the bathroom.

Despite those issues, i would consider returning.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews