We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
14
22
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic bamboo few steps mosquito net hendrik electricity hut egon coconut boat gunung sea beach flores hosts
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Stayed here for some relaxation during a backpacking trip round Flores. I stayed in one of the bungalows, it was cool and spacious and pretty. Basic but clean bathroom, cold water shower but it's so hot you don't want hot water. Friendly staff helped organise a hike up Mount Egon (tough but so worth it!) and to the local Arak distillery. The beach is lovely and quiet and clean, beautiful clear still water with fisherman on boats. If you're staying here for longer than a few days, you will exhaust the menu swiftly. You have to order anything other than the basics in advance, and both I and the other guests tried this and had orders forgotten. The noodles and rice are very sweet (and sweetly presented..) but get a bit boring quickly. The fish when it came was delicious. If you ask for Marinus as a guide, he took me to a village where we bought fresh fish and the hotel helped us prep and bbq it on the beach which was great. A tranquil spot for a bit of low key relaxation. Not high-end luxury, but a sweet, peaceful place to sit on a beach or be a base for some hiking for a couple of days.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windupbird2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

after an really exiting roadtripp across flores we were happy to just have a couple of days in the hammock. The food there is nice and cheap. They do this awesome food decoration! the bungalows are clean and have everything you need!
We did this trip to the island and had blast! if you have the change..do it! they took us out on a boat to an island for a night. We slept at a beach next to the most beautiful water and cooked our own food..including a fish we catched. The cottages provied us with food and tents, mosquito spray and candles and the boat. we stopped at a few places to snorkel and saw whales on the way. The whole thing was 1.250.000 IDR.
We also swam in the ocean at the cottages at night and there was glowing plancton...which was cool assss :)

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MarieTigges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying here! Bed with a good fitted mosi net was very comfy, private bathroom had a great modern shower head and western toilet. Staff is super nice and helped us with everything we needed. The beach is black sand and the sunset had very beautiful colours. Also walking along the beach was peacful as there are hardly any other people around. Food was freshly cooked and very delicious. Thank you very much we will come back again!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank verainv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We arrived in a squashed Bemo about an hour from the airport to this little beach haven. Lovely simple bamboo huts about 8 metres from the beach with a lovely garden and beautiful view of the islands.... Bed was ok and had mossie net and there was enough water via shower/Mandi. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Food was tasty (the curries especially)
Fantastic coral reef just off the shore line. We borrowed snorkeling equipment (but it wasn't the best)
We wanted to give more than 3 stars but the fact that the beach is dirty let this place down. I ended up sweeping up lots of the leaves and debris in front of the hut on the beach so we could sit in the hammock.... disturbing lots of sand flies and mossies. ..If the staff spent a bit of time just cleaning the beach in front of the cottages this place could be paradise.
Word of warning.. Check boots and clothes (even hung up ones) for creepy Crawlies . ...I had a scorpion on my shirt sleeve.
It's a good job the food is nice as there aren't any places to eat near here... you are a bit isolated. We hired a motorbike though - overpriced like the rest of Flores.
We did enjoy it here and would stay again if in Maumere.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LoubLou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

We started our Flores trip in Maumere and went from the East to the West. After our flight we were brought to Sunset cottage which is an hour of a drive by taxi and stayed one day.
The cottage we stayed in is like 5 meters from the Beach, and it is the ultimate place to relax, swim, read a book and enjoy the lovely foods which are made fresh!! We met nice people (Hendrik the owner and miss Christien) who helped us with our trip.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Sasje30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews