We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
4
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
2
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 8 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2006

Just came back from a weeks stay at the polixeni apartments on the outskirts of sidari. I went with my boyfriend and we were placed in the old apartment block which is very basic, but at least its clean. We met some lovely people out there. Hello craig, shirley, bobby and bekki if your reading this!!!! One of the couples we met were in the newer block which was really lovely. Another two girls we met even had two floors to their apartment which was excellent. The family who run these apartments are sooooooooooo lovely, they make your stay even better. Watch out for one of the brothers though ha ha (we nick named him charlie) as he will keep you up all night drinking!!!!!!! all in all we had a fab time. The pool was lovely and clean, we even went night swimming, which was so much fun. It really is a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank katytatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2006

We (15 yr old and I) took a last minute self catering, allocation on arrival holiday last August and ended up in Sidari. We were the last drop off the coach and when we arrived, at 7am the sun was already on it's way up.

The studio apartment was very spacious and light, with 2 single beds, a decent fridge, 2 ringed cooker with grill/oven, sufficient and matching cutlery and crockery, for any meals we wanted to cook. Hairdrier, shower/bath, TV, phone and patio furniture on the balcony. As daughter remarked, "This is a cotch!" (Translate: this is rather comfortable and nice!)

The beds and towels were changed weekly, though we had ours changed 3 times during our stay, and you only get 1 loo roll, "after that - you're on your own!" This was a genuine quote from the Manager, bless him. However, there were supermarkets everywhere and if you stick to local produce they aren't too expensive. Nearing the end of our holiday, I was craving toast and paid £2.75 for a loaf of Kingsmill bread, but you can only get that in town.

For those who wanted a holiday, not washing up, there is an abundance of tavernas on the way into the main resort and every type of cuisine is catered for. Yes, we did usually eat out as the Polixeni's food wasn't particularly great, but Bobby served a mean ice cold draught Mythos in a frozen glass.

The location of Polixeni was far from the centre of the resort and even though sited on the main road, it was very quiet and tranquil. The good side of being so far away meant we had to walk a good 20 mins,into town, therefore keeping us fit and being able to justify yet more kleftiko and swordfish!

The beach is a bit further away than 250m, as the Hotel claims, maybe they meant as the crow flew! The beach is the longest beach in Corfu, and it is worth getting up early, (or don't bother going to bed after visiting Caesar's nightclub) to see the sunrise.

We visited the Canal D'Amour which, has a natural tunnel cut in the rock formations and if you swim right through to the other side, you will meet your lover for life. The water was too cold for me but child went in, swam through the tunnel and then only that night met a young lad who she is still in touch with...aaww!

The owners and staff were marvellous and will join you for a very large ouzo or two in the evening.

TIP: make sure you have plenty water and juice in your fridge for the hangovers!

If you just want to lounge around the (very) clean pool, get some sun, peace and quiet, and possibly do a bit of shopping in the evening, I'd recommend Polixeni.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Funki_Fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lägenheterna rakt fram när du kom dit hade solen nästan hela tiden, de som börja på 300, bor du även högst upp kanske inte ljuden hörs så mycket. Annars hör man när folk går ovanför, de som går tungt eller med skor på.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews