We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Great Escape

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Sunset vista from the Upper Deck
Unrivalled views of Hope Town's candy striped lighthouse
The Atlantic beach, steps from the house
Tahiti Beach - a golf buggy ride away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hope Town, Elbow Cay, Abaco Islands, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire N
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015

My husband, 3 year old child, and I had the best family holiday to date at the gorgeous Great Escape!

The house is perfectly located in Hope Town, only a few minutes walk from a wonderful coffee shop, grocery stores, water front restaurants, bars, and the beaches. We hired bikes for the duration of our visit, and it was a great and very easy way to see the island.

The Great Escape is beautifully presented, extremely comfortable and very well equipped for a relaxed break, soaking up the sunshine and and laid-back Bahamian vibe!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addie84
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming house in the most relaxing destination in the Bahamas”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Great Escape is a gorgeous house situated perfectly a few minutes stroll from the beach and all the amenities of Hopetown. Really enjoyed the beachy-decor of the house, which had everything necessary for entertaining ourselves at home (including WIFI better than home!). The owner pointed us to lovely spots around the island for dining, cocktails, coffee and enjoying the sand and surf. New Year's Eve on the island was a highlight - the residents truly make an effort to put on a great party and fireworks display. Highly recommend this place if you are looking for a private, chilled-out escape to the beautiful Bahamas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swinging in the hammock with a book
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnRoute8
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So glad to visit again”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Another great stay at the Great Escape - it felt like coming home. The owners, Ingrid and Kirsten, are lovely and went out of their way to make sure we felt welcomed, introducing us to locals and giving us inside knowledge of the events going on.

Lots to do for the 4 of us - beaching, dancing, snorkeling, and lots of cocktails. As I mentioned in my last review, the house is spacious, bright, airy, well equipped, and well located to beaches and bars. Loved having my morning coffee on the large deck. Ingrid and Kirsten are easy to deal with and extremely straight forward.

I'm very surprised to read the negative review as this was not at all our experience. I highly recommend staying and look forward to returning ourselves next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Occasional island-wide power cuts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori W
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house, aesthetically, is exactly as advertised. The amenities are mostly, as well- although, the wireless did not work at all and nor did the stove. The location is nice and within walking distance of beaches and the small town.

That being said, when we arrived they changed the price of the rental (we pre-paid) and came by every day to demand more money- in cash.

I would avoid this place just to avoid the scam.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2015
We are very sorry that you had issues during your stay at The Great Escape. We will try to make the information about the third bedroom clearer for guests in the future. As stated in the information on Flipkey, the price for the week includes the two double bedrooms, but the third bedroom can be unlocked for a small extra amount. This should have occurred at the time of booking, apologies that it did not happen for your booking. It was certainly not a scam, as the information about the third bedroom is provided on Flipkey.

Being on island, we do occasionally have issues with the wifi. We try to get this resolved as soon as we can, apologies that this was not possible during your short stay. The stove has been fixed - thanks for alerting us to this problem.

Again, we are sorry that you felt the need to warn others about The Great Escape. We love this beautiful house and really want to share it with others who visit Hope Town and Elbow Cay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erinbfg
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Great Escape was the prefect house on the perfect island. The house is beautiful, relaxing, and comfortable. The veranda was the ideal place to read for hours and was always breezy and cool. I haven't slept in such a comfortable bed in ages. The house is in a perfect location near the amazing Atlantic Beach, the village, swimming pool, lower dock for the ferry, and a charming coffee shop.

If you want beautiful beaches, quaint homes, no traffic, no big hotels or developments, no annoying tourists, quiet nights,....it is the perfect relaxing getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: That's a hard one. Probably the veranda, but just the overall house too.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing