We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining”
Review of Wally's Restaurant

Wally's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European, French, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Wally's - since 1986. Fine dining restaurant featuring fresh five star Bahamian/International cuisine in a relaxed yet classic atmosphere.
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful restaurant. The food was pretty good too. The service was off though. We felt rushed but we just ignored our server. Lack of training? Also tried the famous bread pudding and it was okay.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Patate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2018

The menu says that tips are not included BUT the tip was included in the bill, so watch for that scam. We began by having to ask twice for wine list. Towards the end of dinner, we asked for a second round of wine - the waitress disappeared for 20 minutes. When she came with the wine, we were standing up to leave. She said, “oh, I didn’t forget you” - really!! Yes she did, she was goofing around with the other staff in the kitchen area. We asked for a credit for the 2nd wines and left. All this restaurant has going for it is the pretty patio area.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank GBL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallysabaco, Owner at Wally's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for your review. Wally's strives to deliver superior food and service in a timely and consistent manner. We appreciate reviews whether positive or negative as it helps us to stay focused on our goals. In the case of your experience we have evaluated the situation and observe the following: Your ticket was started at 8pm and you checked out at 9:08pm. During that time period your table of four ordered drinks, your meals and then desert. A one hour dining experience is average for our customers. A 20 minute absence from your waitress is unacceptable although it is difficult to understand that absence when your drinks, meal and desert where all served within a 60 minute time period. We have informed the staff that any lengthy absence is unacceptable. You mention that tip was included and that one should watch out for that scam. The bill includes VAT only and never a tip and your bill confirms the same. It is suggested that when posting comments one makes factual comments. We do not include tip although we do make suggested percentages. In your case no tip was left. Please come back and visit Wally's and we will present you with a special bottle of red wine as our apology. Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

It's so nice to have a great place to visit. We've been coming here for a few years and it always feels like home. Great food and such good friendly service.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PickONE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Fish cake appetizer was fantastic, beer was cold, and staff was friendly. We probably should’ve sent the lobster back. The seafood platter was ok but not great. It consisted of only 2 over cooked shrimp, a tiny piece of fish, and a mountain of fried conch.

One of the two stall restrooms was out of order for the ladies. The working stall had a toilet that was too big for the stall so my wife couldn’t sit on the toilet and close the door. This would be fine if it were a dive bar but considering the prices our expectations were higher and we were disappointed overall.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank jitjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Walking up to the restaurant the building a surroundings are impressive. Really a cross between casual and forma dining. the food was really well prepared and served in a timely manner. The service was just okay which was the difference between rating it a 4 rather than a 5. Will definitely go back

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wally's Restaurant also viewed

Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
 
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
 
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
 

Been to Wally's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing