We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch”
Review of The Mill Cafe

The Mill Cafe
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Thornbury
Price range: US$3 - US$24
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A Thornbury landmark restaurant located on the edge of the Beaver river/Mill pond dam. Enjoy amazing views and delicious food on the patio or apres ski by the cozy fireplace. Open for lunch and dinner
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

My husband and I had a late lunch at the Mill Cafe. The patrons were seated at every other table, so a fair bit of Covid-safe space between people.

I had a vegan option of black bean taco with fried avocado and sweet potato fries, and all of it was so delicious. My husband had a burger and fries, which he enjoyed. Great friendly service.

This is our third visit and we will definitely return.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank susangM9499GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2020

The service at the mill was very good - they were tolerant when we showed up stuffed with cider, early for our reservation, and not inclined to order for a while. When we did finally order - a roast apple salad with shrimp and the trout with dill sauce, we were pleased. Good enough portions, and very generous with the side accountrements - the trout said it came with sun-dried tomatoes and they really were a lot of them - and the roasted apple in the salad was delicious.

Perhaps a bit pricy for the portion size, and one large TV which they could safely ditch.

Not the best meal I've had in an establishment like this, but worthy of the small town they reside in.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 599Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

Tried The Mill Cafe with friends for lunch. Exceptional service and a great meal. Nice view of the water from the patio. Will certainly be back!

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank drummerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2020

The Mill was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. We enjoyed the fish dinner and the tartufo dessert - decadent!

The patio is a lovely spot even in the time of covid. The service was friendly and efficient and the meal was tasty and a good amount.

I would definitely recommend it.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sheeshin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2020

We enjoyed a nice lunch on the back deck overlooking the water and dam. The food was good and the service was excellent. We appreciated the precautions they were taking too.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maritimemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill Cafe also viewed

Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Meaford, Grey County
 

Been to The Mill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.