We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner!!!”

The Dam Pub Gastropub
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Thornbury
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A popular family owned Gastropub set in the quaint village of Thornbury, Ontario. We are featured regularly on The Food Network's "You Gotta Eat Here!" Folks come for miles to enjoy Chef Ed Sleep’s culinary delights, over 1000 whiskies in Stephanie's Whisky Bar, and our impeccable service with seasoned waiters. All this nestled into our circa 1875 house with a welcoming and cozy ambience. Reservations highly recommended.
Reviewed 19 December 2020

Wow! I had the Dam Pub's house salad and my husband ordered calamari and braised beef short ribs. Wow! Amazing food and service!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank kats478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2020

First time back since last March. I really missed the atmosphere, staff and decor. I had a wonderful meal of one of their features (braised Short rib). I couldn’t have made it better myself, presentation was also very pleasing. We were welcomed with enthusiasm by the masked owner (Stephanie) and her staff. Renovation are also looking good, overall I missed this restaurant and will be back in the near future. Congrats to the new head chef Eddie.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 0CFR180654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020

I returned to the Dam Pub today after the indoor dining had been closed since March due to COVID. The food was amazing as always. The ambience was just as warm and inviting as last year and the staff were so friendly.
It's definitely one of my favourite restaurants to return to.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lad1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020 via mobile

Had the unfortunate experience of dining here in September. The owner was arrogant and the food reminded me of boil a bag. Asked for water and was given bottled water and charged.

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020 via mobile

Had the lamb shank, Shepard's pie and the fish & chips, calamari and deep fried Haggis apps
Flight of scotch and wine as well as a local cider
Service was exceptional.
With the separation of tables and heaters the patio was amazing.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 854glenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dam Pub Gastropub also viewed

 
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Meaford, Grey County
 

Been to The Dam Pub Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.