We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely report in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I picked this resort on the basis of the reviews and was not at all disappointed.

We stayed in a standard room which was great. (We only really slept and dressed there). The standard of cleanliness was great. the room was serviced to a pretty good standard everyday.

The location was great, but it depends what you are after. personally, I would not want to stay in Chaweng as it was pretty full-on and commercial. The resort is about 2k from the centre of town and the "tuk-tuk" cost about 50 bht (can get it cheaper) each way.

The pool and the beach are perfect. you are away from the hustle and bustle and it is a great place to relax. Even the beach vendors are more laid back.

Overall, we loved the place. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gongboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 703 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

Why choose anywhere else for Mama Jacquie's 50th celebration!?
What an amazing resort- far beyond our expectations.
Welcome cocktail, friendly staff and AMAZING views!.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the firendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. We arrived early to find that our rooms were already ready and meticulously presented. No matter which part of the resort, there were fantastic views to be had!- the walk up the hill was sometimes a challenge, but golf buggies were on hand to give us a ride after we had had too much of the sumptious breakfast

What can we say about the breakfast?
Best spread imaginable, from fresh waffles and chefs on hand to cook eggs whichever way you wished- not to mention top notch hygiene.- each morning was a foodies delight that we talk about still so many months on!.

A special thank you to the General Manager, Venice and all of thier staff for thier phenomenal hospitablity- knowing our names and remembering our orders each morning! our list could go on!.

Another thank you goes out to the pool bar staff, Than(g?), Thien and James and others who made drinking in a tropical paradise all the more fun! Good Tunes, Good cocktails, great views.

Thank you to the always smiling security staff who ensured we crossed safely several times per day!
To the Maintenance Staff and Gardeners- thank you for keeping such an immaculate resort for us.

What a safe fantastic place is was to stay for a group of 4 women.
Dont hesiate to book- your expectations will be exceeded.

Travel Dates- 22 October 1st November.

Mama Jacquie, Auntie Monica, Miss Trudy, Miss Chloe

Room Tip: The hill side seaview room up the back of the resort had amazing views and was a budget price. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have to say that this property, at its glory, was a beautiful place. We stayed there based on reviews we read. It is a disaster.
1. We had requested two rooms as we were traveling with our son. When we checked in, we were upgraded, separating the family since there was a room in between. Needles to say we did not use that room because they could not change the wonderful upgrade.
2. Both rooms smelled old. The tv's were from 1995, old with "luck to be working" remote controls. My son (he is 8) tried to have a bubble bath in the jaccuzi but when he turned on the jets, water with foul smell came out. Needles to say, he didnt enjoy it. Let's not even talk about the bed bugs that bit my husband.
3. Internet was not free. I do not remember when was the last time I stayed at a hotel in which wi-fi was not part of the rate.
4. Beach/Pool towels are given 1 per person. I had to actually go a get my family so each can have their ONE towel. How lucky, ah? We had to use the same towel that we HAD to use to cover the raggedy chaise lounge cushions, full of sand, to dry ourselves.
5. We were forced to pay for a Xmas dinner. Very expensive but, it was Xmas after all. They had a great show, kids choir... The food? What needed to be cold was warm (try warm, soggy ceaser salad) and what needed to be warm/hot was cold. That was the worst turkey that I had ever had. The menu said that they were having fillet mignon and seafood. Never there. Water and soft drink were not served, unless, of course, you purchase them. We had to pay for a very expenseive dinner that did not inlcude ANYTHING to dring with dinner; only sangria or fruit juice during a reception.
6. Mini bar. They were trying to hold us because the housekeeper said that we drank a bottle of water when we didn't. The front office lady actually said that I was wrong and that we needed to pay for it and could not leave. We bought our own drinks and snacks. And, when did hotels started to tell a customer that they are wrong? Even telling me that if we didn't pay, they will take the cost out of her salary!?!?!?!?

This hotel, besides a very much needed renovation, they need to re-train employees, learn about banquets/events and learn about treands of other resorts where resort fees are charged to avoid many little charges and penny pinching.

Very sad. Luckyly, our holiday could only go better after that experience, and it did (at other resorts, of course).

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank APT2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We just got home having our wedding at the Nora Beach Resort & Spa on the 18th November 2011. We really just can't say enough about the resort, the staff or our Wedding Planner Michelle. It was amazing. They made our stay and our wedding day so much more special than we could have ever dreamed. The wedding setting was absolutely beautiful and more than I could have ever hoped for. We were treated like royalty by everyone, and so were our family and friends. The resort is beautiful, the staff are very friendly and the food is wonderful. We stayed in the Pool Villa with our 15mth old and it was superb, clean and had lots of room for her to run around. Although this was the 2nd time staying at the Nora, I'm already planning to go back for our anniversary! I couldn't recommend staying here enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a beautiful resort and well planned out. Initially I wanted an Ocean View villa but it wasn't available and we settled for a Nora villa - which was absolutely lovely. Very clean, well appointed, and all the balconies were private, so you weren't facing each other. The pool is great, with a small non-smoking section (it's about time someone did this) and the only downfall was they often didn't have enough towels to go around. No bother, just take one from your room. The rooms are made up daily and hotel staff are always so polite and ready to smile. They are genuinely polite people. We hired motor bikes from a guy just 50 metres down the road - $5 a day. This gives you a lot of freedom to travel in and out of busy Chaweng. Not so keen on Chaweng as the main street is congested but there are so great restaurants. If you like excellent quality Italian, go to La Dolce Vita. Just a little further down is Coyote (mexican). This is a quiet place until about 8 ish, then if you catch a band there - the one with 2 females who dance and sing and play guitar with their band - they are excellent. But back to the resort - big thumbs up. On a hill, so you do need to walk up and down a path to get to the breakfast terrace from some accommodations. Not for noisy families - they should seriously go elsewhere. This is a peaceful, enjoyable resort with beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Ocean Villas are closer to the pool (nice, but could be noisier) Nora Villas - if you have problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestBonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,560 reviews
1.7 km away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
2.8 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,494 reviews
2.9 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,388 reviews
3.8 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: €78 - €203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing