We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“4th time we have stayed at Banana Fan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Fan Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“4th time we have stayed at Banana Fan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Very friendly staff happy to anything for you., Banana Fan is on the best part of Chaweng beach clean which sand and clear blue water.
The rooms are very clean, cool and quite.
The food at the resort is also very very good.

We look forward to our 5th stay at banan fan.

Brett

Room Tip: Stay in a suite of deluxe suite they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brosebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    344
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
304
634
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stanwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Excellemt service from well trained staff. Breakfast very good. Lovely spot.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtyardhotel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here for a one night stop off when passing through koh samui.

Probably wouldn't stay in the Chaweng area if we were staying longer as it's a bit touristy and dare I say tacky.

However it was convenient for us (close to shopping, bars and restaurants) and this resort is tucked away behind the hustle and bustle of the main road.

The staff were absolutely lovely and helpful with organising our transport to koh phangan and the bungalows were spacious and clean. Breakfast was served on the beach front and there was a great selection of food.

Definitely recommend if you're looking for a relaxing place to stay that still has the convenience of being located in the Chaweng area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an0n13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This hotel was good, however there are alot of mosquitoes about - possibly due to the heavy greenery around the rooms. The rooms are small, but have everything you would need.

The pool area is quite small, but we always managed to secure a chair, but the weather wasn't good durring our visit.

The food is vey good Thai food, and we eat there everyday for lunch, and there are loads of restaurants around for dinner or variety.

Our issue with this hotel was that people or the resorts around them we're letting off fireworks EVERYNIGHT, it sounded like a bomb going off and is never a great way to be woken up! It also seemed to go on and on - something needs to be done to address this urgently!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonnyhotspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The resort is well situated with shopping available in the street either side of the hotel . There are other restaurants also around although we pretty much ate at the resort while in Chaweng and the restaurant is highly recommended by us .The rooms are adequate , there is room for improvement in decor , there are tiled floors and it's a little dated overall but spacious , plenty of room in comparison to other hotels anywhere .The mattress is hard , but that suited me !The grounds/gardens are lovely , well kept and naturally tropical and well planted , the frangipani are plentiful and everyday there is a saying like "sweet dreams" spelt out in flowers on the lawn . The pool is a little deep I thought and not shaded ( not unusual ) . The beach here has sand , beware as many resorts do not have sand the water comes up to a sea wall . The sea was a little trecherous and unfortunately not suitable to swim in most of the time . It is certainly not suitable for little children . The restaurant is great , for every meal and the staff are good . There is a singer every night and really you can sit there and not know what decade you are in , very relaxing ! The restaurant is on the beach , higher than it , and the views are spectacular morning , noon and night . lovely to see the full moon reflected across the sea. you can sea the coastline of Chaweng and the fireworks at night . The staff are all very nice and polite . I would like to thank Pop :) particularly at the tourist desk as she was lovely and delightful everyday , so helpful , thank you ! We had some great trips around the island with Cash as our driver , he is also very patient and kind . The entrance to the hotel is lovely and breezy and an open air tropical feel with nice decor . We had some very nice meals also out of the hotel at "the Cliff "restaurant with great sea views and "the Meridien" restaurant . We visited Zazen resort for lunch which well worth going to , very special and also we went to "Nikki" resort and we were made welcome for a swim and lunch . The island is quite a paradise , with also many parts undeveloped and lots of roadside stalls . I do recommend the resort highly for older families and couples . I took a long time to choose The Banana Fan and am very happy we stayed there . Just be aware of the sea not being too swim friendly in front of the hotel , in January anyway .Koh Samui is a lovely paradise island with lots of charming surprises as you tour around . It doesn't have the cacophany of Phuket .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARTYANGEL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#6 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.0 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
1.9 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.3 km away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing