We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
27
38
12
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
38
12
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful white sand beach chaweng beach beachside restaurant pool area plenty of sun loungers beach towels fridge shampoo samui facilities centara cereal
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I’m not going to be nice on my comment, but you deserve it.

Yesterday, January 2nd, we came for the first and last time to your disgusting and customer-unfriendly “restaurant”.

My girlfriend and I are located in a resort in Bo Phut. Yesterday we were both on Chaweng beach. While the need of going to the toilets became urgent we decided to come to your place. We have seen the signage at the entrance where it is written that the use of the toilets costs THB 50.-

We can easily understand this fee that you apply in you restaurant. You are not a public service, there is no doubt about it !

Therefore we have decided to have a seat at the bar and drink a beer, to become your customer and consequently have a free access to the toilets. When my girlfriend moved to the toilets, you looked at me very angry and asked me to pay an additional THB 50.-

When I replied to you that we ordered a beer by purpose to use the toilets, the woman behind the bar ran behind my girlfriend and screamed at her like a hyena !!

Yesterday, you have maybe won an additional THB 50.-, but you have lost a customer for life and you also completely lost your face towards your other guests at the terrasse, you looked at you quite incredulous.

You are not a restaurant keeper, you are a crook who runs after every Baht in your client’s pocket. You should rather be inspired by your Thai compatriots that are the most polite, kind and friendly people on earth.

Very short-term vision !!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravellingAround1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwan P, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

January 6, 2018. Dear Z7171, Thank you very much for your comments that it was clear you were not happy. We have to sincerely apologize that our facilities are reserved for our in house guests only. We will charge B50 for the toilet but it is not for the money at all; it is a measure to ensure that our guests will enjoy our facilities with the least interference from the public and to discourage strangers to stay away from our facilities. All our facilities are free to our in house guests exclusively. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed here in July 2017, it truly is a hidden gem. Right next to Centara, so well placed on the beach and for trips into the main part of Chaweng for shopping and nightlife. Loads of restaurants nearby, our favourite was the food court which is across the road, a little to the right and down that road, loads of different kiosks selling all types of foods and pretty cheap too.

The family rooms are huge, ours had two large king beds in, but the one next door had a large king and 2 x singles, tv, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, safe, massive well appointed bathroom with shampoo, conditioner and body wash provided. Separate beach towels, a beach bag (nice touch) and umbrellas too. Good aircon and ceiling fans, nice outdoor area looking onto gardens with a drying rack for wet swimmers etc. The family rooms are all at the back of the property (away from the beach) in two storey buildings - in the bathroom at night you can hear music from the Brazillian Club/Restaurant over the road, but with the bathroom door shut it is pretty quiet in the room. You have to walk through the gardens past the individual bungalows that are double rooms to get to the beach and beachside restaurant where they serve an adequate, but not fancy buffet breakfast, but really everything you need, fruit, cereal, eggs(there's an egg station for fried, omelette etc), bacon, sausage etc, toast and a few pastries, juice, tea and coffee - the view to the ocean in the mornings is delightful. We missed out on breakfast on the morning of leaving as we were going too early, but I found out that if I had asked the day before early enough they would have done up a breakfast box for us to take with us.

The pool is not huge, but very adequate and nobody else used it while we were there. Plenty of sun loungers too, although I imagine the pool area would get busy during monsoon when the seas are un-swimmable. Nice stretch of beach, again with some loungers on. The beach sellers are friendly, particularly the ice cream guys, try the black bean ice cream, just lovely. Beach seller warned us that there were jellyfish present and this can be the case, especially at this time of year and even box jellyfish are present and hotels have signs stating this nowadays.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to Tradewinds and for the price (compared to others on Chaweng), it really is a fantastic deal.

Room Tip: Downstairs family rooms are the best for easy access. 7/11 nearby for ice, snacks etc.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwan P, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

October 11, 2017. Dear Cassnu, Thank you very much for the fullest reveiw of our resort that all the future guests can really share and make use of the information. We are nothing luxury but definitely offer adequate facilties for a nice holiday and our rates are very affordable so you can enjoy real long stay with us. Our wifi signals are strong in all the rooms and the public areas. Please contact us directly so we can offer special services and rates. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This place is right in the heart of Chewang and close to all kinds of services. They have a beautiful of stretch of beach and a nice, if small, pool. There is a bar and restaurant by the pool charging reasonable prices for meals and drinks. The cocktails are watery; stick to beer. The included breakfast I found quite nice -- lots of fresh veggies, eggs to order, yogurt, etc. Healthy way to start your day. The staff were very responsive, helpful, and pleasant. You can get a massage right by the pool.

The basic setup is bungalows around a garden; the garden opens into reception and the street at one end and the pool and then the beach at the other end. The garden is lush and beautiful (pro!) but also perfect mosquito habitat (con!).

They were one of the relatively few places which had a family bungalow with three beds, which was one of the main reasons we choose it.

The facilities were pretty tired and dated. Our bungalow had a musty smell that never really went away. The wifi, at least in our bungalow by the front of the compound, was terrible. Considering what we paid, I would have expected the facilities to be a bit nicer and cleaner, but it was certainly fine and we didn't spend a lot of time in our rooms anyway.

Overall, we are satisfied and would stay here again, but it's about time for them to invest a little bit in refreshing their facilities!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jtrabue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

April 18, 2017. Dear Jtr, Thank you very much for your review in good and perfect details. We offer location and beach and services at affordable rates for guests who want to enjoy long holidays. We definitely have plans to redo the whole resort. The present property is old but we maintain it in reasonable quality. We are nothing luxury. Luxury is only next door at 5 times the rates. We are a simple 3 star beach holiday resort.
I hope other guests can read and decide their holidays. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed day use of beach facilities. Cost 200 baht for lounge chair, pool, shower, toilet and WiFi. A good value to live resort life on backpackers budget. The bungalows I past looked very nice but I did not inquire about the cost.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank markocu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

March 19, 2017. Dear Mark, Thank you very much for your notes. On lazy days with not many guests we may offer our beach beds to outsiders for a charge. This facility is of course free to all our in house guests. We are located at the most beautiful spot of Chaweng beach. All our facilties are free to our in house guests; wifi, swimming pool, beach, bed beds and towels, pool beds and towels. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

It's not the Ritz, but the location is pretty good at the quieter side of Chaweng. Our room had Aircon, was cleaned, we got fresh towels everyday and the pool area was a bonus. I could be on the beach in 10 seconds walk from my room. It's one of the better stretches of the beach too.
For the price and location, it's good for us. No complaints about service, the people were always pleasant and breakfast was simple but good. It could maybe do with a lick of paint here and there, but as a package it's good value.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank gringoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

November 19, 2016. Dear GGboy, Thank you very much for your kind comments of your experience with us. You have correctly pointed it out that we are nothing luxurious but more than adequate for a nice and affordable long holiday. We have the nicest beach spot and the busy street in the front with supermarkets and restaurants and banks and entertainment. We try to do proper maintenance to make sure that even our buildings are not new that they are serviceable nicely to all our guests. We have free strong wifi signals in all the rooms. Our pool is on the beach with full sea view. Our breakfast room is also with full sea view. Our famous sea view seating for breakfast will give you stunning view. I hope you will bring back more friends. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews