We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location & Not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Booked Superior Sea View on Agoda and stayed here for 3 days 2 nights. I would not return if i were to come back to Samui for holiday due to price vs location.

Was given a room on level 2. Room number 2207. Staffs told us that level 3 rooms were fully occupied.

STAFFS:
Welcoming, warm and polite. They even prepared a birthday cake for me on my birthday. Very very sweet of them. Thank you =)

However, only one or two staffs are familiar and proficient in English language. Could not understand my request for hair conditioner.

ROOM:
Superior sea view has literally no view from level 2. Only rooftops and small teeny bit of sea view.
If you still want to proceed in booking this place, make sure you request for level 3 (highest floor).

No complain about cleanliness. But the bathroom is a bit seasoned. Rusted tap, shower heads. Need some upgrading IMHO. Love the bath tub.

This particular building for superior sea views and standard rooms is a stand alone which is situated right next to the road. Honks and vehicles passing by can be heard from inside the room. Not too loud but it can get irritating when the vehicles passing by blasted advertisement of some muay thai game few times in one hour.

AC is not cold enough despite fan speed at 3 and temperature 17degree Celsius. Requested for change of room the next day but it was fully booked. So we had to deal with the fairly so-so room temperature. Middle of the night it got abit too warm and sweaty too. (i personally like very cold environment in the room especially after a whole day out in humid weather)

No conditioner provided. Only shampoo conditioner which doesnt work for my frizzy hair. Requested for conditioner which was available in pool toilet but the staffs could not understand my request. Kept bringing shampoo conditioner despite explaining. Other items like room slippers, hair dryer, wine glasses, fridge, safety box, bathrobes are available.

AMENITIES:
Beach, pool and amenities (fitness centre, business centre) were great.
Private and quiet beach with umbrellas and beach chairs.
Pool was just nice but can get crowded. There is a pool bar which serves good cocktails. But downside is the bartender has to run to another bar at the beach side to prepare drinks as they dont keep some certain liquors at the pool bar. Takes a long time to reorder drinks or to get some cocktails delivered.

BREAKFAST:
Both days were disappointing. Quality and taste of food provided were bland. Even the tomyam and noodles are poorly prepared. Diluted tomyam soup. Not what i expected from any restaurant in thailand. Only nice thing i love from the breakfast selection was the freshly prepared eggs.

LOCATION:
Hotel is far from Chaweng main area whereby Hard rock cafe, Hooters, central festival mall, Chaweng night market, bars are located. It is 10minutes away with motorbike. If you are looking for nightlife and entertainment, then this is not the hotel to stay in.

There are several local restaurants, massage parlour and a family mart at a walking distance.

I will suggest to rent a bike from the stall opposite the hotel for 150 baht per day. Otherwise the transportation fees to get around the island is very expensive. 200 baht to get to Chaweng night market. 300 baht to get to fisherman village night market from the hotel. To be honest, the fees here are more expensive than bangkok as they dont have the mini tuktuks.

Room Tip: Request for level 3 for best view of superior sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sulinegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siriporn2015, ผู้จัดการ at Samui Resotel Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear sulinegg

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Samui Resotel Beach Resort and for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear your overall experience fell short of your expectations on this occasion and there were several areas of disappointment during your stay.

We regret there was a investigate and trying for tourist tasting our soup and improve as for most of people taste before serves as breakfast, The superior room we have on the 2nd or 3 th floor in case of request subject to room available it may couple we stay with us longer then we can swap with other couple as we inform you that on that day we did not have any Superior room available and on building stand alone one the road side.Regarding A/C unit per 8 rooms on second floor the temperature can't be lower than 18 degree as in thailand as use the same every where in case of lower then cutting , as the same day we investigate 7 room are working properly. however we are ongoing communicated with the organized supporting of this A/C how can be lower than 18 Degree and hope this problem will be solved.

We appreciate this must have been very inconvenient but unfortunately these issues can occasionally happen from time to time. We hope the way we handled the situation helped ease some of the disappointment.

Sincerity Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Stayed in Resotel resort from 2nd until 9th august 2017, there are positives and negatives, dont waste Your money paying for pool access room the pool area is very small no layback chairs no sun, no privacy for these areas,better off going to pool which is right there. Has beautiful beach area. That was a positive,Be warned it is to far to walk to central shopping and eating and it will cost you 200baht each way for taxi, the hop on hop off bus is cheaper but they were quite often full and never seemed to come when needed. We had many issues with our room air conditioner cutting out and at midnight one night, lights going out unable too switch them back on then in middle of the night they come on, very noisy right next to the main road( this was our pool access room ) bath did not work and had to ask for toilet paper twice and room towels and bath mat, the positive is the staff attended to any complaint in a friendly timely manner, the breakfast as far as we were concerned was way below average to what we have experience in other resorts within this price range the coffee was foul, overall we were a little disappointed in what we got for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Maybe the villas would have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paunobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siriporn2015, ผู้จัดการ at Samui Resotel Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Mrs.Noble

Thank you very much for sharing a review of your recent stay at Samui Resotel Beach Resort and please accept our sincere apologies your experience was disappointing on this occasion.

Regrettably, one of our Pool access Room is "Rooms located on the 1st elevated level of a story low-rise building with access to the outdoor
shared pool set along the building from its spacious 9 SQM terrace with a daybed" due to this room type we did not have a sunbed and umbrella on it due to a small balcony on the building cannot set up like a private villa and more space , air-conditioning cutting due to one unit we have 8 rooms sharing and once of other room fix heater then cutting immediately fix its, regarding the light on night is it may i know it will be fix and do not leave you departed with uncomfortable .

however. i'm so very sorry that during stay i did not know you don't like the room in case we may know will be upgrading to the Pool Access Villa come with you are expectation with a private pool and sunbed, take into account your feedback regarding the taxi and price we are unable to fix it,


Thank you for also pointing out some other maintenance issues in your room. We are in the process of fixing these and are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.


Sincerity Yours

Samui Resotel Beach resort teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

With my family we stayed 6 days in this cozy hotel. Staff very polite but poorly organized by sometimes finding the room unclean. For the rest beautiful stay with the beach and the beautiful sea very close to the room

Room Tip: Modernity and architecturally characteristic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferrucciogiustini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siriporn2015, ผู้จัดการ at Samui Resotel Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear ferrucciogiustini

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and your compliments towards our team members. We are glad to know you truly enjoyed your room beach and location with us. It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back for another great experience.


Sincerity yours.

Samui Resotel Beach resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We are very disappointed with our stay at Samui Resotel Beach Resort. Hotel looks nice from the outside but the rooms are very outdated. The standard room we took had a view of nothing but a roof. The power went out at least 4 times a day (we stayed there 3 nights). The sheets all have stains on them. One of our blankets had a blood stain and when we asked for a new one, they brought us another stained blanket. The water pressure turns on and off every few seconds as well. The staff was friendly, but it's not worth the stay. Overall I advise you not to stay at this hotel when coming to Saumi.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NatalieHazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siriporn2015, ผู้จัดการ at Samui Resotel Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear NatalieHazan

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Samui Resotel Beach Resort and for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear your overall experience fell short of your expectations on this occasion and there were several areas of disappointment during your stay.

We have tried to carry out as you are dispointed upon arrive that you room is not seaview as you can read carefully in the website then you will find is a Stand Room is no view is quite clear in case of sea view room we have only for Superior Room and Ocean Pool villa ,unfortunately the second day we were moved to other of our Standard room number 2220 is a bit can see the beach is were happy and move,

We appreciate this must have been solved the problem that you were information about the sheet and electric in case if may know during you stay on this room. Please apologized.

Best regards;

Samui resotel beach resort Team




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We have stayed at this hotel several times before, the location and beach remain beautiful.

On this occasion we stayed in a pool access villa. While the rooms are clean and comfortable, it seems that the hotel may be experiencing maintenance issues and parts were under renovation.

We will a little disappointed by the swim-up pool bar as it was not properly attended, it did not carry its own stock and each time that we ordered, our drinks had to be collected from another bar.

The hotel otherwise remains a good choice in my view. I hope that the maintenance issues will be resolved by our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WeLove2Travel_ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siriporn2015, ผู้จัดการ at Samui Resotel Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear WeLove2Travel_ZS

Many thanks for staying at Samui Resotel Beach Resort Resort, Koh Samui and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We will make sure to pass your encouraging comments on to our staff. All of them do their best to go the extra step and ensure our guests are well taken care of.

Thanks to feedback such as yours, our pool bar order it seem to be communicated with our team to improved. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Samui Resotel again on your next trip to Koh Samui.


Sincerity yours;

The Samui Resotel Beach Resort teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
3.5 km away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
1.2 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,978 reviews
1 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#3 of 103 in Chaweng
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#37 of 103 in Chaweng
640 reviews
1.1 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,415 reviews
3.5 km away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Resotel Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Resotel Beach Resort

Address: 17 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Samui Resotel and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: €86 - €232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Resotel Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lifestyle chic resort set on a 200 meters beach front location of the quiet Southern section of Chaweng Beach with 79 well equipped, elegantly appointed guestrooms and pool villas offering spectacular sea view for a refined retreat and relaxed beach holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Resotel Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Resotel Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Resotel Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing