We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience and amazing guide!”
Review of Austral Altitude

Austral Altitude
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hiking - Trekking - Coaching trail all over the island ... Occasional, confirmed or sporty walker, Didier Cologni and Thierry Chambry, Mountain Guides, always answer to the ambitions of each one. From the discovery walk to the sporting journey, from the day hike to the itinerant trek, with our guides immerse yourself in the heart of nature where each path reveals the various facets of this intense island. Their professionalism allows a safe escape in this natural and authentic play area. Also "A path to discover, A story to share, meetings to enjoy" will pace your steps to guide you in this paradise of hiking!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I recently did a one day hike to the Mafate Cirque guided by the wonderful Didier Cologni from Austral Altitude. Didier was a fantastic guide, incredibly knowledgeable about the area and island, and so full of enthusiasm and passion for the place and hiking more broadly. We were blessed with a beautiful day and Didier ensured we stopped regularly en route to enjoy the views and to share some facts and history about the area. On the way back up the mountain he was incredibly patient and supportive, setting a great pace that was challenging but manageable (I wanted a challenge) and it meant we got up in super quick time. And to top it off, when I was tired at the end of the hike he even kindly drove the car down to the bottom of the mountain! So friendly, engaging and a real delight - I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thanks again Didier! Until next time! Amy (UK)

Thank AmyC5007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIDIER C, Propriétaire at Austral Altitude, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

All the pleasure of having guided you. I had the privilege to immerse you in the heart of Mafate, magical circus.
This sunny day has allowed us to fully experience Reunion, an intense island!
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Didier Cologni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

1 - 5 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018

Giving only 5 stars isn’t enough in my opinion, I would give Didier and his family 20 stars or more. Didier is a really passionate mountain guy, funny, full of knowledge, responsible and soooo much experience in reunion trails. I hiked part of the cilaos Cirque, run through the Mafate Cirque and then run to few waterfalls. Whatever you want to do, Didier will make sure you have the best experience
I couldn’t be more grateful for my experience with him and his family! I’m pretty sure we will hike again in the future! More than a guide, Didier is a friend

Darle solo 5 estrellas en mi opinión no es suficiente, a Didier y a su familia les daría 20 o más estrellas. Didier es un hombre de montaña apasionado por lo que hace, divertido, lleno de conocimiento, responsable y con mucha experiencia en los senderos de Reunion. Hicimos hiking en parte del circo de cilaos, corrimos los senderos de mafate y luego corrimos por las cascadas. Lo que sea que quieras hacer, Didier se hará cargo de que tengas la mejor de las experiencias.
No podría estar más agradecida por mi experiencia con el y su familia! Estoy segura que iremos por un hike en el futuro! Más que solo un guía, Didier es un amigo

Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIDIER C, Propriétaire at Austral Altitude, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

All the privilege to have met you and guided on the crazy paths of Reunion ... The intense island fascinates, intoxicates and offers us so many experiences that to share them remains a great moment.
It will be a pleasure to meet you here to explore the immensity of our small island.
Regards,

Todo el privilegio de conocerte y guiado por los locos caminos de la Reunión ... La isla intensa fascina, intoxica y nos ofrece tantas experiencias que compartirlas siempre es un gran momento.
Será un placer darle la bienvenida de nuevo para explorar la inmensidad de nuestra pequeña isla.
Atentamente,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Went on a hiking trip with Didier Cologni of Austral Altitude to the peak of Piton Des Neiges to watch the sunset. It was an amazing experience and the view at the top was simply breathless. Very grateful to Didier who gave very good advice all the way to the top and back. Without him for sure i would not have been able to reach there. Thanks to Didier and Austral Altitude for this wonderful adventure that i shall remember all my life.
Jean Michel of Mauritius Island

Thank Benoit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIDIER C, Propriétaire at Austral Altitude, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

What an incredible moment all up against the sunset!
Colors, sensations, emotions and all to offer a bouquet of happiness ...
All the pleasure of having guided you to the top of the highest peak of the Indian Ocean.
a great moment shared in your company that adds to the many memories that are so much fun!
I wish you happy holidays and see you soon
Take care
Didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

my wife and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary in the Island of Reunion. During this time, went on a hike to the Mafate Circue with Didier Cologni of Austral Altitude. Didier made this the most wonderful and memorable hike that we had ever experienced.The trip was planned to perfection and he took us to the most beautiful places.
Vijay Naicker Durban South Africa

Thank vijaynaicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIDIER C, Propriétaire at Austral Altitude, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

At exceptional event, exceptional hike!
I was delighted to guide you to the magical discovery of Mafate.
With the souvenir video of this journey, you can savor as much as you want these unforgettable moments.
I wish you all the best adventures and I look forward to seeing you again on our island.
See you soon and best regards,
Didier your mountain guide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIDIERC1416, Propriétaire at Austral Altitude, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Austral Altitude also viewed

Sainte-Suzanne, Arrondissement of Saint-Denis
Saint-Benoit, Arrondissement of Saint-Benoit
 
Saint-Philippe, Arrondissement of Saint-Pierre
Hell-Bourg, Salazie
 

Been to Austral Altitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing