We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$149
Hotels.comUS$149
PricelineUS$157
eDreamsUS$149
CheapTicketsUS$149
TravelocityUS$149
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
190
80
36
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
80
36
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews azul ocean club san juanillo private beach pancakes bedroom villa rental car grounds are beautiful gravel road laid back delicious food great restaurant we loved our stay every meal tiki hut drive beaches marbella
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2020

Recently stayed at this hotel. Had great yoga classes in the morning. Five star service with a very friendly staff. Very Covid friendly. The hotel rooms were clean and well maintained. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Erez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip last minute due to Covid-19 and travel restrictions. Even though our cancellation time period was long past, the Azul Ocean Club Hotel refunded our money. I just wanted to write and let everyone know and say that at such a difficult time for us, this was much appreciated- especially in a time that is difficult financially for all of those depending on the tourist industry. We truly appreciated the gesture and look forward to the time when we can re-book and stay at your beautiful resort.

Date of stay: March 2020
5  Thank natashap236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

Amazing and quiet place. Clean room. Wonderful restaurant. Private beach.

Advice: rent a car, consider renting one that's a 4×4. This is down a gravel road but within driving distance to major cities to visit. We wanted rest and relaxation, not a touristy crowded place.

Get a place on the first floor if booking 1 room, those are the ones with a private outdoor shower so you can star gaze while rinsing the shampoo out of your hair!

The restaurant is yummy but can get pricey. Think about buying groceries for your room.

Keep your toothbrush in a travel container. Some tiny ants like toothpaste.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kedersch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

Stayed here for 3 nights in February 2020. Walked into our room and was overwhelmed by the Doterra infuser. We had to unplug, remove from room and open windows.
Rooms are clean and nice. However, we repeatedly stubbed our toes on the pull out sofa. Room prices are reasonable however food and drinks are over priced and mediocre at best.
We ordered food by pool and we were literally attacked by an aggressive iguana. He was notorious for this and staff thought it was funny. We warned family with young boys to not have food by pool.
Overall my husband felt like it was a 90’s establishment trying to make a poor comeback. I didn’t mind the rooms(once oil diffuser was removed). Great beach, over worked staff, ok food -but over priced

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Audrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Room- The 2 bedroom states it can sleep 6 people, which it can but it would be rather tight. I suggest if traveling with 3 or more people, I suggest booking the 2 bedroom villa.

Breakfast- Breakfast was included w/ the classic Costa Rican breakfast, waffle, pancake and 2 other options which I can't remember. Juice and coffee or tea is included.You could add on meat for $3-4 dollars.

Lunch- Pretty good and the pricing was average. We also ordered drinks which weren't bad as well. There is a happy hour by the pool.

Dinner: Pricing was reasonable. Steak, Sea Bass and Tuna were absolutely delicious. Shrimp alfredo was rather bland but after some salt, pepper and grated cheese, it was delicious.

Traveling from Liberia- I highly suggest arriving on an early afternoon flight. DO NOT arrive in the evening! Stop by the super compro before going to the hotel. We stopped by the super market in Liberia in the Santa Rosa Plaza shopping center (About 10-15 min in the opposite direction of heading to the hotel). The hotel provides complimentary small bottles of water daily.

Rental car: Book a 4x4 automatic truck even if it is only 2 people traveling. The drive is about 2-2.5 hours and the last 30 minutes the road is unpaved, and rather rocky and extreme hills in some areas.

The closet town is Nosara. Its a cute surfer town. Delicious food options as well.

Food- We noticed everyone is laid back and food is made to order. Don't wait until you are hungry to eat.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank dannylaw02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews