We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Luna del Rio(El Castillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Victoria(El Castillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Guacimo Lodge(El Castillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
53
5
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
5
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful roomthe ownerown gardensan carlosthe riverin townhot showerhour boat ridearrange tourshotel is locatedrooms are spaciousa wonderful staywonderful placevegetablescastlesoundmeals
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We stayed at Lara's Planet for 4 days in January and had a wonderful stay. The only way to get there is by river boat and there are no cars in town. Natasha even sent a boat to the ferry drop-off to bring us to the hotel. We stayed in the upstairs room that faced the fort. The room is spacious and comfortable with a large balcony. The views of the area were terrific. Natasha was a very caring host and set up a number of activities for us. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent. Even if you don't dine here...it was fun to have a beverage over-looking the river before going out. It's very easy to walk around the town from this location. There were several other visitors staying at this time and we had lovely conversations while enjoying the view of the river from the first floor lounging/dining space. We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The upstairs room facing the fort offers an amazing view of the river and town.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha H, Propietario at Hotel Lara's Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Sam

It was a great pleasure hosting you and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

El Castillo is a fun place to visit and Lara’s Planet is a fun place to stay. The room is comfortable enough, the balcony lovely, the food is fine. Natasha is a quirky host and she adds to your experience. We appreciated Natasha’s referral to a good guide for river tour and her travel advice. The other tourist restaurants and amenities are on the other side of town, a 10 minute walk. This hotel is located in a noisy residential neighborhood. We were glad we went to the trouble of visiting El Castillo and that we stayed at Hotel Lara’s Planet.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jschuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

When we stepped in El Castillo, we rushed to Lara's Planet, which seemed to be a great place (and with lots of positive reviews), to find lodging.

The owner/manager greeted us (two humbly dressed backpackers) with the sentence "I dont have cheap rooms".

We humbly left and lodged somewhere else.

We decided to give it a second chance and went there the following day for dinner (our Lonely Planet book mentioned nice vegetarian options).

Lights were off and there was nobody - then the same woman came out of her house next to the hotel, clearly not excited about having us.

She sighted when asked about dinner and replied "I can try, but dont ask me anything complicated".

We sat down a bit embarassed and feeling unwelcomed, but decided to scan the menu.

We asked if a burger with chips would be possible - she said cutting and frying the potatoes would not be. How about a pasta carbonara? - sorry but i dont have the ingredients.

We smiled, apologized for the inconvenience of visiting, and left.

Why keep a restaurant/hotel open if you dont want clients? We are puzzled to read the 46 good reviews... did the management change?

Sam & Quitt

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Samuel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This is one of those places you will remember. A wonderful location with the best views on the river and El Castillo. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and have the best bathrooms we saw in Nicaragua. Natasha the owner is a perfect host and can arrange all things including tours. The meals are also great with vegetables from her own garden.

Room Tip: Best rooms at the riverside, Room Danielle has the best view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gert-Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel l, Owner at Hotel Lara's Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Jan
Thank you for your kind remarks. We hope very much to see you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

A lovely well designed and built small hotel with fabulous views along the river in El Castillo; It is not utterly luxurious but a little luxury, literally at the edge of civilisation. The owner, Natasha, was attentive, utterly charming and an excellent cook. She can also arrange tours that pick you up from the hotel. Our room (3 adults) was delightful and the hotel well worth its price;we were given an immediate upgrade on arrival without asking and unlike many of the places we stayed on our trip the breakfast was substantial and the coffee kept flowing. El Castillo is a 2 and a half hour very enjoyable boat ride downriver from San Carlos; boats travel in both directions several times a day. We took a boat late morning and returned upriver the following afternoon; Well well worth taking the trip and visiting the Bartola reserve and fort while you are there. yes it will probably rain for some of the time but then it is the rainforest. One of the best times we had on a 4 week trip to Nicaragua. Amazing wildlife; bring your binoculars and a poncho. Thank you Natasha for making us feel so welcome. All 3 of us gave you 10 gold stars.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the river. All rooms are upstairs and therefore further away from the mozzies
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel l, Owner at Hotel Lara's Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear guests
I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Equally we enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews