We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$164
Hotels.comUS$164
TravelocityUS$164
PricelineUS$164
Orbitz.comUS$164
eDreamsUS$164
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
14
1
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
1
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san carlos the river indio maiz bungalow region property nature margarita hike frogs castillo sound forest birds meals tour guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2020

Guacimo Lodge is far away enough to enjoy the beautiful natural sorroundings of Rio San Juan, but close enough to arrive by boat without much of a hassle from San Carlos. We're picked up from El Castillo and 20 min later we arrived at the beatiful lodge. Even though we organised our booking last minute, Manuel (the owner) and all his staff were very accomodating and super helpful. They can even contact the boat company on your behalf to confirm your seats. Also, I'd suggest purchasing an inexpensive "Claro" sim card if you need to be reachable or send a whatsapp while in Rio San Juan. The internet signal in the area is poor.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and we even got an upgrade to the superior cabañas which are filled with small details, very romantic. The "regular" cabañas are more rustic but very charming.

You can just relax or walk around the property’s rainforest, take a boat trip down to the Rio Bartola - beautiful scenery amongst the forested river banks with lots of flora and fauna (birds, turtles, cocrodiles). We even had a swim- no crocs in the shallow water :)

The lounge area is a lovely place to relax and drink a couple of 'toñas' while watching the sunset. Food was tasty and spicy (we asked for it): river fish and prawns, gazpacho, quinoa salad, lots of fresh fruit etc. Beef isn't part of the menu as livestock ranching is one of the main causes of deforestation in the region. I also liked that local ceramics are used in all meals. Beatiful Jinotega bowls and plates.

Overall a really nice experience! Recommended.

Room tip: All cabañas have a nice view but the older ones are higher up and it's a bit steep in case you have mobility issues.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Caldeluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
María Soler Iglesias, Propietario at Guacimo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2020

"Thanks so much for your review and feedback. Hope that you had the chance to unwind, enjoy the nature of the place and recharge for further adventures!. Good luck and hope to see you visit us again in the future!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

We visited Guacimo Lodge intending to stay 2 nights, but changed to 3 as soon as we arrived! It's very isolated in glorious grounds right on the bank of the San Juan river. So quiet and still except for birds and frogs.
The staff are very helpful and arranged two excellent tours for us.
All our food was prepared to order in the kitchen right next to us and it was excellent. I had some massive "shrimp" (looked like small lobsters!) straight from the river, and fish also.
We were met at El Castillo by Jimmy who expertly handles the small motor boat which also took us on tours. We saw lots of wildlife and could watch a huge variety of birds right from our cabin window.
Spotlessly clean, and the cabins fully mosquito protected.
You may need to know that you get to the cabins up steep slopes, on good stone paths and steps. Also, it is pricey, but when you understand how isolated it is, you can see why.
Highly recommended

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 51francesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 November 2019

A wonderful lodge on the banks of Rio San Juan. Beautiful grounds, superb views, very comfortable and stylish, great food and an amazing team managing it all! We loved everything about our stay, including the broad array of tours and activities to do in the area (colorful - and “culturalful” El Castillo, cacao, bird watching, hike through the property’s rainforest or just unwinding at Rancho Grande as the sun sets by the river...). A place to relax, to experience and to discover. We look forward to our future stay! Thank you to all of you at Guacimo for such a memorable time.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lau74SXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cruiser757053, Propietario at Guacimo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2019

Thanks so much for your words! They mean a lot to us! It was a pleasure to host you at Guacimo. Your knowledge of Nicaragua, your curiosity about rio San Juan and your passion for cocoa are all contagious! I hope you have the chance to visit again in the future and wish you lots of luck! Hasta pronto, Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2019 via mobile

My dad and I stayed at Guacimo for 3 nights and loved every minute, from the boat ride down the San Juan to the lovely bungalows in the open air. The service was great- especially Marjory who helped us along the way with all our activities and transportation. There’s a lot of relaxing to do, as well as activities in the jungle, like trekking through the amazing Indio Maíz reserve and kayaking in the smaller rivers. I’d recommend Guacimo to anyone who loves to be in nature in comfort and get away from it all in a unique place. There’s also El Castillo 20 minutes away, which was a huge highlight of the trip, with its fortress views, history, good lunch spots and peaceful streets. There could be a wider selection on the lodge menu and as far as drinks go, but tourism had been at a lull since last year’s uprising so a more limited selection understandable. Overall it was an amazing experience.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank mmwhytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 January 2019

From the moment I first contacted Manuel the owner of Guacimo we were brilliantly looked after. We chose not to take the public boat from San Carlos and instead took the Guacimo boat, we were met incredibly efficiently at the port, shown around the town, and taken for lunch before embarking on the 2.5hr journey down the river to El Castillo..the lodge is 10 minutes further down the river towards to the reserve. We eventually arrived at the stunningly lit lodge as night fell, it was very dream like and there we were immediately made to feel at home by Manuel and his superb staff. The rooms are perched on the hillside above the restaurant and are absolutely perfect, with fantastic views towards the river. We only spent a couple of days in the area which was enough time to visit the town, the amazing the castle, the reserve which is 10 minutes away and also to chill out by the delightful pool area and listen to the birdsong.

From here our plan was travel all the way down the river to Greytown and then up the Caribbean coast via Punta Gorda, Monkey beach (ancient burial site) and onto Bluefields...I was struggling to organise this from the UK because its quite an unusual trip but Manuel once again took it upon himself to help and contact people locally and he organised the whole thing for us...it was a tough-ish journey but one we will always remember.

Only regret was not spending more time at the lodge to explore the primary forest that belongs to the property......next time maybe.

Room tip: You can't fail but if you're fit maybe the one at the top.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews