We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All and more”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Dale A
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All and more”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner Vikki and I stayed at Alfie’s Place during our first short trip to Malta at the end of February 2015 to celebrate her birthday and the completion of renovations on her flat. We were looking for a base that gave us an opportunity to explore Malta, experience Maltese life, culture and history and to relax. If you’ve read any of the reviews above, you’ll probably guess we weren’t disappointed.

Vikki chose Alfie’s place based on the reviews here and the area in which the apartment was situated and both surpassed our expectations. Before we’d even got on the plane, we felt welcomed by Alfie’s close attention – his prompt replies to emails and any queries or questions we’d got.

As others have mentioned, Alfie offers to collect guests from the airport for a fee cheaper than the local taxis and we opted for this. The thing with Alfie is it’s not just a taxi ride – it’s an introduction to Malta and to what you might call “philosophie Alfie”. From the moment you meet Alfie at the airport you know you’re on to something special. You’re never just another guest. Alfie has taken note of why you’re in Malta and what you’re interested in and conversation flows as easily as if you’d known him for years. He’ll make detours to point our places you might be particularly interested in and to show you some practical things you might have forgotten about in your excitement – such as where the ferry from Birgu leaves for Valletta, where the bus stop is, where the local shops are.

The ‘Alfie tour’ ends in the little square at the heart of Birgu. If you arrive early in the morning it will be bustling with all the local shops open and local people chatting and drinking coffee at the few cafes. If you arrive, as we did, in the evening, it may strike you as a very quiet place. In either case, you cannot help but be struck by its beauty.

Again, Alfie pointed out all the places we might need – the grocery, the cafes, the bakery, the newsagents etc. He then took us for coffee and to meet his friends who can be called on if he’s not around to assist with any problems you might have, which I suspect is very rarely. Then it was to the apartment and an introduction to all the facilities.

“Alfie’s Place” is situated on one of the most beautiful streets I have ever had the pleasure to see. It dates back to the C15/16th and is formed entirely of three storey sandstone buildings, all with exquisite balconies that once formed part of Malta’s capital when the island was the fortress of the Knights of St John. Apparently it is one of the most photographed streets in Malta and it is easy to see why. Yet, despite the daily tours of Italians and German tourists wandering down to admire it, it is not a tourist site. It is a real place where Maltese people go about their daily life. And if you’re acute, you’ll spot a plaque at the bottom of the street from the local council praising the residents for keeping it clean, putting out lots of plants, and basically making it a lovely place.

The apartment itself has everything you need as a couple or a couple with a child. The sandstone walls and stairs give you the sense of living in a castle, but with all the modern amenities. It has a charm and authenticity that is hard to find elsewhere. As others have noted, it is a little small to ‘hang out’ in – but if you’re not planning on having a dinner party it is perfectly ideal.

As for Birgu itself. It rewards a wander around its medieval streets. For history lovers, well – you can’t go very far at all (literally the end of the street) before bumping in to something interesting. It has everything a community needs in terms of local shops, though if you’re there at the wrong time of day you won’t notice they’re there. It’s a beautiful, friendly and genuine place.

We’d recommend D’Centre for its friendly staff, amazing great value food and relaxed atmosphere; Osteria.Ve is a fabulous Italian restaurant – friendly and attentive staff, brilliant Venetian chef and great value (check out the “Times of Malta” review) – and amazing mussels; Café Du Brazil is the place to hang out for a morning coffee; the Labour Club is friendly, cheerful and can do you a pizza and a pool game; In Step (if you’re early enough) will provide you with a copy of the Guardian or the Independent if you’re getting sick of only being able to get the Daily Mail; “The Spiral” that has recently opened will give you a cup of tea and introduce you to the works of local artists.

Perhaps most warming of all is the bakery. Here you can buy freshly baked Maltese bread from the bakery. Not a bakery shop. Literally the bakery. You walk through the door, see the bakers at their craft, wait until they have a moment, and they will sell you an amazing loaf before rushing back to get the next batch from the oven. It is an experience that fills any but the hardest heart with pure joy.

Finally, Alfie is one of the most genuine and attentive people you could meet. It was very touching to arrive at the apartment and to find a bottle of wine left for Vikki for her birthday. He is one of those increasingly rare breed of people who calls a spade a spade and deals with you honestly and straightforwardly. He cannot do enough for you, perhaps to a fault. It was quite chilly when we were there and we tried one of the heaters – it failed after five minutes. This wasn’t a problem as there were other heaters. When we told Alfie about it, he said we should have called him and he would have brought a new one around that night – I have no doubt at all that he would have… but it wasn’t necessary. I know that by the time I post this it will have been replaced.

In the short time we got to spend with him we discussed Malta, its history, its politics; UK politics; Australian politics; World politics; our family, his family, the state of the world and society. All of which added immensely to our understanding of Alfie, his home and Malta.

With Alfie you meet a host, but come away knowing you have found a friend. And that is priceless.

We very much hope we’ll be seeing him soon.

(Alfie: Remember the “Mind Your Head” sign!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for the kind words and always great to know people got their monies worth out of a trip. Feeling was mutual and enjoyed having you and the conversations. look fwd to see you again when the time is right and rest assured the Head sign will be on lol. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found this here & took a chance
all we can say is Wow
the owner was superb & that is an understatement
He picked us up from the airport & gave us a run down of our location
then we settled into our new home for a week
beautiful original house in Birgu with a long history going back to the 1500s
any would be traveller that wants a slice of Maltese life this is for you.
Thank you so much Alfie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & hoast
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review and knowing you enjoyed your stay is definitely satisfying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Broo...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful week at Alfie's Place”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week at Alfie's place. We cannot rate this highly enough - the house was amazing. Birgu (Vittoriosa) is a wonderful, characterful place that has everything any traveller could want and is a hidden gem. Alfie is a great host who could not do enough for us and we were grateful to him for pointing out all the local amenities. We will definitely be coming back. Thanks Alfie for everything you did to make this holiday so special. Lisa and Adam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, located on a quiet street, but in an ideal spot to get around the island
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
Hi Lisa, Adam it was lovely having you and always great to hear you had a great time. Look fwd to see you again in the future. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkaau
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“In Beautiful Birgu ...”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Alfie's Place is set in the most amazing location in Birgu, one of the Three Cities. For lover's of history, peace and quiet, this is the place to be.

The house is well equipped, clean and comfortable. Alfie himself is a charming host who ensures that his guests are well catered for. His friendly manner, excellent local knowledge and recommendations were much appreciated. (As was his personal touch in following up as to how I had settled in) Great customer service.

The house is in a street straight off a postcard but with close proximity to buses and ferries. Malta's buses are a great experience in themselves and at 6.50 euros for a week's travel are super value.

Within a few minutes walk there are a few local cafes and restaurants. (I can recommend D Centre for it's pizza!) Within walking distance there is the Inquisitors Palace and the Malta at War Museum, which I highly recommend for it's insight into life during WW2. The views from the waterfront are stunning.

Alfie ensured that the fridge was stocked with some basics to start off with. Gratefully appreciated. For those wanting to prepare meals the kitchen has every possible utensil needed. The bathroom was also stocked with various toiletries. There is a TV in the main bedroom (although no English speaking channels could be found) and there is Wifi as well.

Highly recommended for your stay on the amazing island that is Malta!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The great location
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking time to describe, knowing that you enjoyed your stay is my satisfaction in itself. Hope to see you again in the future . Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macaroon6...
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Alfie met and picked us up from the airport, took us to the local bar and made us familiar with the area before taking us to the apartment, which was ideal, all you could need was there, we couldn't have asked for a better host or place to stay. 10 minute walk to the ferry across to Valletta where we got a weekly ticket for 10 euros, which we used everyday and would highly recommend. Public transport is ridiculously cheap, 1.50 for the day anywhere in Malta on the bus, traffic is a bit nuts in the built up areas but better than a car. We went to a lot of the restaurants in the area; Cafe du Brazil for breakfast, dCentre for dinner several times and drinks, Il Forn and their very naughty paintings room, Del Borgo fantastic inside, Majjistral for the wine and the lovely hosts, The Tate (vegetarian), the portions of food in Malta are very generous I may add. Go into Valletta and onto Strait Street, lots of bars, restaurants etc.
Birgu is a lovely area, away from very touristy areas, very clean and being renovated, like much of Malta is just now, it is having a major facelift.
I would highly recommend Alfie's place for couples and families with small children, we had a fantastic time and he is very helpful and goes out of his way to make sure you are in the know about the local amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, helpful host
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your review, nothing gives me pleasure than knowing got value for their money. It was lovely having you and getting to know you, hope all is going well for the new year, Enjoy and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing