We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sandai Resort(Baringo District)
US$80
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Soi Safari Lodge(Baringo District)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
3
2
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
2
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed here for one night during our safari. I adore Baringo and Bogoria and would recommend the area to everyone, off the main tourist track but well worth it for landscape, birding, boat rides and lovely walks (not to mention the hot springs and flamingos in Bogoria!). The Tamarind guest house is located about 20mins from Marigat (great place to buy honey) right on the lake edge of Baringo. The location meant that we were a 5min walk from where we took a boat ride at sunrise which provided EXCELLENT bird watching as eel as hippos and crocodiles. The boat ride also provides fascinating insights into climate change effects with rising water levels in the area, and local life and culture. Our guide Sam from the local village was wonderful and really knowledgeable. This was my 5th time in Kenya and third time in Baringo (the previous two in capacity of ecology teacher with university students) so the mark of an excellent guide was that I learned a lot of new things. After the boat ride we walked up to and around the magnificent cliffs which I would also highly recommend.

The guest house itself it lovely! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was nicely furnished and had hot water and a fan (it gets very hot!) which made for a comfortable stay The restaurant bar area is really nice and the food options and quality were great! Definitely recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Anna has worked hard to build a small, simple, friendly lodge. The rooms are small but comfortable; the lounge area is atmospheric and relaxed. We enjoyed an excellent supper and a delicious breakfast. The staff were courteous and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer, but this was a work trip. Lovely, all the same, to hear the bird song in the morning. I hope I can get back there soon.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

I was undecided of where to book my clients visiting lake baringo till I personally decided to to there by matatu to have a first hand look of the area since the story was that all the hotels there had been overrun by the increasing waters of the lake. luckily the tamaring garden and the manager alberto gave me a good deal and the place was comfy and secure. my clients liked the place and I can only recommend people to stay there while in lake baringo.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and they are building a tented camp inside
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAXTON T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The Tamarind Garden is still having its first season and is already doing well. It is a kind of hybrid between the usual African courtyard hotel with small ground floor rooms gathered around an open area and something more upmarket. A clue to its charm definitely resides in its name because the owner has created quite magnificent plant life in every corner of the place by religiously applying trucked-in water every morning and evening. The restaurant is quite beautiful (open, thatched structure) and the food good, if ordered in advance. Breakfast is superb and coffee is the genuine article. All the rooms are double, and ensuite with shower and toilet and lack only bedside lights and fans to make them perfect. Anne - the owner - is a lovely woman who frets like a mother over her guests' welfare. It's 1000 sh pp (13$) for bed and breakfast and so costs little more than camping when the food is taken into account.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkDArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews