We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value by Lake Baringo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baringo District
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tamarind Garden
Reviewed 24 January 2017

This fairly small, mid-range, cottage style, very friendly hotel is worth trying. It is under ten years old but feels older. We have been here before and stayed again because of the great welcome and the very good value offered. We loved the food. The owner Ann and two staff members Robert and David went out of their ways to look after us.
We enjoyed a walk through the bush led by Alex Kaplagat to see nocturnal birds. It was amazing what he could spot e.g. owls, nightjar, eagle owl and bee eater. An early morning boat trip near the shore to see hippos, crocs and many bird species was also very enjoyable. We really liked this hotel but if you want absolute luxury stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms then choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinneydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed here for one night during our safari. I adore Baringo and Bogoria and would recommend the area to everyone, off the main tourist track but well worth it for landscape, birding, boat rides and lovely walks (not to mention the hot springs and flamingos in Bogoria!). The Tamarind guest house is located about 20mins from Marigat (great place to buy honey) right on the lake edge of Baringo. The location meant that we were a 5min walk from where we took a boat ride at sunrise which provided EXCELLENT bird watching as eel as hippos and crocodiles. The boat ride also provides fascinating insights into climate change effects with rising water levels in the area, and local life and culture. Our guide Sam from the local village was wonderful and really knowledgeable. This was my 5th time in Kenya and third time in Baringo (the previous two in capacity of ecology teacher with university students) so the mark of an excellent guide was that I learned a lot of new things. After the boat ride we walked up to and around the magnificent cliffs which I would also highly recommend.

The guest house itself it lovely! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was nicely furnished and had hot water and a fan (it gets very hot!) which made for a comfortable stay The restaurant bar area is really nice and the food options and quality were great! Definitely recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Anna has worked hard to build a small, simple, friendly lodge. The rooms are small but comfortable; the lounge area is atmospheric and relaxed. We enjoyed an excellent supper and a delicious breakfast. The staff were courteous and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer, but this was a work trip. Lovely, all the same, to hear the bird song in the morning. I hope I can get back there soon.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

I was undecided of where to book my clients visiting lake baringo till I personally decided to to there by matatu to have a first hand look of the area since the story was that all the hotels there had been overrun by the increasing waters of the lake. luckily the tamaring garden and the manager alberto gave me a good deal and the place was comfy and secure. my clients liked the place and I can only recommend people to stay there while in lake baringo.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and they are building a tented camp inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAXTON T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The Tamarind Garden is still having its first season and is already doing well. It is a kind of hybrid between the usual African courtyard hotel with small ground floor rooms gathered around an open area and something more upmarket. A clue to its charm definitely resides in its name because the owner has created quite magnificent plant life in every corner of the place by religiously applying trucked-in water every morning and evening. The restaurant is quite beautiful (open, thatched structure) and the food good, if ordered in advance. Breakfast is superb and coffee is the genuine article. All the rooms are double, and ensuite with shower and toilet and lack only bedside lights and fans to make them perfect. Anne - the owner - is a lovely woman who frets like a mother over her guests' welfare. It's 1000 sh pp (13$) for bed and breakfast and so costs little more than camping when the food is taken into account.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkDArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Tamarind Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Garden

Address: 1 Kampi ya Samaki, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Baringo District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Baringo District
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing