We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Booking.com
US$81
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$55
View deal
Hotels.comUS$104
PricelineUS$90
Trip.comUS$117
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
102
40
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
40
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride cross the main road hospitality staff room service easy access welcome drink nice place to relax visited this hotel very pleasant stay fantastic location sri lanka outing chill surfers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2022 via mobile

I traveled with my family for one night we had nice time in south lake.
Friendly staff, testy food, nice location, very calm place for family, best place to chill out.
Thanks for all services.

Highly recommend

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MisrarRafeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservations Rasika, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr.Rafeek,

Thank you indeed for sharing your experience and we are glad that we could make your expectations during your stay. Do not forget to visit us again if you are travelling southern part if you re-visited down south.

Thank you & stay safe.

Regards
Rasika - Reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2022

We visited this hotel few days back. The staff were very great and quality service, so, the eat is verity and excellent , also the rooms were clean. it has fantastic location for the people that visit the town for work. Will recommended this hotel for all persons that to travel this city.

Date of stay: March 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxxMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2022

We NEVER recommend this resort for any person to have their most valuable WEDDING function.They even do not have a proper documentation process on our function date..They have took two wedding functions for one day for one hall and ask us to move for a another resort to have our wedding without taking any responsilibity..They just take it as a mistake and put all the stress on the couple.Its okay that even they tell it with having a proper period to managed at all..But they have told us to move for another hall by having only TWO days for the function..That was their service and responsibility towards their functions.Please think HUNDRED TIMES before having your valuable day with them..Never recommend for anyone..

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chathurangid2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservations Rasika, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2022

We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us with regard to your wedding function and yes, we can understand the gravity of it and how it affected you as a couple. Again, extremely sorry for what happened and even though we made arrangements, we know how terrible the situation felt. We do take your comment seriously and appropriate action will be taken to improve standards and activities as you mentioned in your comment.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future to South Lake Resort.
Thank you & Stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2022

Food was bland and lacked any real choice.
No real amenities in the rooms (didn't have tissue box, no toothbrush, no tooth paste).
Room was quite small and the AC right blowing right on to the bed - which made temperature control very tricky.
You'd have to walk a decent distance and cross the main road to get to the beach - other than the beach there's absolutely nothing of substance to the hotel. The hotel property it self is quite small, so there's not much you can do there.

It's a massive waste of money. I'd not go there even if they paid me to be there.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asanka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservations Rasika, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2022

Dear Asanka,
Thank you very much for the time spent on reviewing us and the comments made. However, we sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay. We do take your comment seriously and appropriate action will be taken to improve standards and activities as you mentioned in your comment.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future to South Lake Resort.
Thank you & Stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2022

Clean and perfectly maintained. Super friendly staff. Very spacious. Two beautiful pools. This resort is perfect for surfers who seek for comfortable rest after the session and for travellers who want just to relax. Decent value for money.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Arkadi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews