We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Priceline
US$53
View deal
Agoda.com
US$44
View deal
Hotels.comUS$50
Trip.comUS$46
FindHotelUS$54
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
160
127
44
21
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
160
127
44
21
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews resident manager yoga master housekeeping manager sri lanka pool attendant breakfast buffet clean spacious rooms swimming pool hotel restaurant private beach sea chef quarantine colombo surfers surfing instructor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

We first came to the Insight resort, by recommendation of our good friend Veerle Helsen, the author of Surf and Stay, on December 6th for 4 nights. We were so happy with the location that we have rebooked 4 more times since and will have stayed for a total of 6 weeks here, spread across December 2021 and January 2022. The location is perfect. As surfers we want to be as close as possible to a good surf break, so we were pleased to have 3 excellent surfing locations right in front of Insight. The building is really nice, with lots of space, nice garden en excellent pool, overlooking the ocean. We really enjoy the breakfast buffet, perfect after a long surf. The staff has always made sure to give us our favourite room, room 505, overlooking the surf, so we can do our surf check from our comfy bed.
Everyone working here is very friendly, always present when you need them and super professional. I would like to give a special thanks to Ginny, the frontdesk manager, for always going above and beyond our needs.
This place feels like home, will return if we come back to Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank buftje
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2022

Dear Lady/Gentleman,
Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for your excellent comments on our staff and food. Appreciate it and we shall convey to them to encourage more. You are the brand ambassador for us.
Thank you and hope to see you again.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

Very nice atmosphere with the private beach but room cleaning is 3 days once that is most awful. Most of the rooms have a view of the ocean and a bit attractive gardening area, friendly squirrels.

The restaurant could provide a vegetarian menu. Most of the food is not tasty, buffy is not worth money, even the Naan like rubber. Out of the resort nearby small restaurant, which is preparing tastier than insight resort. However, the restaurant manager is very good and nice, he re-fry the naan or re-cook the possible food as on request to as an eatable. At Last, we ask him no need for buffy give a 1-dish with good manner cooked and he did it.

Have to appreciate the Restaurant manager and their team Prashant, others… humbly served.

Cons:-
The hotel has to provide the proper Amenities, not to request or repair every time.
Very worst cleaning services, Room cleaning has to be every day.

Awful to ask for a complimentary water bottle 3 to 4 times a day with the reception staff, it is their responsibility to provide it every day on time, but pay for the water bottle to reach the room in minutes.

Each request has to make 2 to 3 times in the reception, which is horrible.

The bed has to improve with the Softest mattresses, innerspring are disturbing our sleep to turn around the bed

When all the rooms are almost occupied food is very worst not eatable.

There is no kid’s zone or play infra for children.

A good Resort but poorly managing which makes it repulsive.

Room tip: The ground floor is good
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank sundar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

Dear Gentleman,

I acknowledge your comments and wish to make our response in that regard.

1. Gentleman, due to Covid, we practice the best of health protocols in our resort. For our professionalism, some of the Tripadvisor comments itself will stand evidence.

It is our practice post-Covid, to check with the guests when they are checking in, if they would want Housekeepers to come into their rooms and clean on a daily basis or would they opt to reduce it to 3 times a week.

We checked our records and your request has been for 3 times a week. That’s why the Housekeeper has only been there 3 times a week. These practices are offered to minimize human interaction for your benefit. However, had you insisted for daily housekeeping, certainly, we would have done so.

2. Regret, I have to give you back the responsibility for not indicating that you are a vegetarian before check-in.

Well, if food was not to your taste we regret that. However, the other 2 members stayed in your room praised our food. Was very happy and they were not vegetarians.

Your entire group had 55 passengers staying for 14 nights. To our advantage no one else has complained about services of the hotel or food throughout their stay.

After we came to know you are a vegetarian, we instructed the Restaurant Manager to always offer you extra vegetarian food. I’m sure that’s the reason why you are impressed with the Restaurant Manager.

3. To the best of our understanding, we always provide amenities proper; however, once in a while there can be a drawback. However, moment you bring it out, we immediately correct.

We provide the complimentary water bottles only between 9am to 9.30am. Sadly at times, if you had wanted water prior to that, you could have ordered the previous night and kept along.

In our service standards, whether it’s a complimentary water bottle or a paid one, doesn’t make a difference. Normally, we would take the same amount of time to deliver. Your accusations there, sadly to me sounds irrational. As out of 55 guests for 14 nights, no one else complained about any of this.

4. We shall take note of your disappointment about the bed, however, the mattresses are not at all old.

I shall not further comment about food quality. Our valuable other Tripadvisor comments will justify it all.

Further, I am not sure why the gentleman is complaining about not having a children’s area, when there were no children what-so-ever in the group. Sounds like looking out for complaints.

Lastly, I guess the biggest disappointment of the gentleman is whilst being on quarantine, he tried to forciably go out which is against the law; and had we allowed, we would have been in penalized.

The situation became impossible. As a result, we had to seek the help of local health officers to come and advise. He explained and said that both the hotel and he would get into trouble if we allow the passenger to go out, and prevented him from doing so.

I am sorry Sir, you may have not liked it; but we had to seek their assistance after many a cordial requests you were forciably trying to go out. We are of the view that this has triggered the biggest unpleasantness.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

As a couple, we stayed 13 nights in Corona quarantine at Insight Resort Ahangama and we are very pleased. The personnel was from Sri Lanka only and it felt local but still extremely friendly and welcoming.

Food is great and even if the hotel is not brand new, it has charm with a lot of open spaces, a large outside area including a swimming pool suitable for swimming and a private beach and massage.

I expected to feel a bit trapped during the quarantine but given the open spaces and the welcoming and service minded staff, I very much enjoyed my stay.

/ Arvid (Sweden)

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ArvidJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Dear Lady/Gentleman,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback and quarantine experience at Insight Resort on TripAdvisor.

Appreciate your excellent comments on our food, staff and overall services. Glad your quarantine was well spent and that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you once again and hope to see you at Insight Resort again.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021

I did quarantine here when I came to SL in Feb. Good Lankan food, great service and an amazing location! The staff are super friendly and its a great place to hang out. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barra929
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear Lady/Gentleman,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your quarantine stay at Insight Resort on TripAdvisor.

Truly appreciate your excellent comments on our food, staff and services. I am sure you had a pleasant stay with us and didn’t feel the time passing…

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you at Insight Resort.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2021 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks. The location is amazing just next to the beach and close to the center of Ahangama. Rooms and cleaning is really good, the food, staff, service! Have nothing to complain about :)

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank jenniferaQ1542OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Dear Lady/Gentleman,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback on TripAdvsior.

Appreciate your excellent comments on our food, staff, atmosphere and our overall services.

Thank you once again and look forward to seeing you back at Insight Resort.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews