We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$59
View deal
Hotels.com
US$59
View deal
Agoda.com
US$49
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/07/22
Booking.comUS$59
TravelocityUS$59
Orbitz.comUS$59
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
68
26
15
18
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
26
15
18
30
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

The hotel was very average. It was gaudy with tacky Egyptian theme everywhere and the carpets were very very unclean. The maintenance staff seems minimal and even the reception area not clean . It had a smell from the entrance it self and had no air of cleanliness or welcome. As I entered the main reception I felt I had made a mistake!
The breakfast area was very small with the buffet area and the sitting all crammed into a small space. There were a few spaces outside which had a lot of flies on the tables as the tables were not entirely clean and plenty of food dropped and not cleaned up on the ground.
Our showers also didn't work well. The hot cold didn't mix at all and one had a choice of very cold or hot water. Rooms were average and didn't supply a kettle to use the tea coffee facilities provided. I called housekeeping three times but no one turned up with a kettle to boil some water.
The plus point of this hotel is the location. At season time the beach and sea is safe and great to learn some surfing.
For the price which the hotel charges much better options available in the area.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PriTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana & also thanks for your valued feedback & we will look in to your dislike & issues will revert back from the management will apologize for the inconvenience faced during your stay.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

We recently visited Sri Lanka and booked this hotel according to the rating it got on Booking.com. Prior to our arrival i read all reviews here and was really worried. Yes the Egyptian theme is a bit weird but the hotel as Beautiful views,excellent location and right on the beach. Hotel has a lovely big clean pool. We got excellent service from two waiters,thank you Chameera and Gihan,you guys went out of your way to serve us,always prompt and with big smiles,these guys work really hard. The food was average to good,desserts wasn’t to our taste. Diet coke and Carlsberg beer was out of stock. Some concerns were that we sometimes had to ask several times for our room to be cleaned,no towels at times and even toilet paper. The white tables and chairs at the outside seating are very old and should be replaced. Rooms were nice but the bathrooms are very old....water in the shower was either cold or very hot.
So yes not the best hotel that we have stayed at but also not very good.....
We made the best of our stay and still had fun.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sanet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana & also thanks for your valued feedback & we will look in to your dislike & issues will revert back from the management will apologize for the inconvenience faced during your stay.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020

The Hotel has an amazing location and looks great.

However the level of services is disappointing. In our case it began with expired wifi passwords, then not enough towels in the room and the airconditioning was not working and even repeated complaints did nothing to improve the situation.
As a result the room temperature stayed around 30 degrees centigrade with not even a fan to cool you.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vikasranjan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana & also thanks for your valued feedback & we will look in to your dislike & issues will revert back from the management will apologize for the inconvenience faced during your stay.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

Kabalana is a very nice hotel with Egyptian concept.
we had a sea facing room with wonderful views. The hotel has big swimming pool.Food was delicious. Specially breakfast & dinner food.We like big buffet. Come back.!!

Room tip: Sea View Big Room
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DenisMark123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020


Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback & look forward to welcome you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

Perfect holiday we had Kabalana Beach, Location, Food and everything is good. we would like to special thank for Ms Nadeesha at Reservation. staff & service of the restaurant is good,Pool is clean......

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erandi364
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelkabalana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback & look forward to welcome you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews