We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Visited the Lochnell for 5 nights in May 2017, with my wife. The welcome we received was top drawer and this continued throughout our stay. The hotel has 10 letting rooms, two of which overlook Loch Etive, hence the title of the review. You have to climb 2 flights of stairs to get to the room but the view was worth the effort!!
The room was nice and comfortable, with a lovely bathroom ( no bath ) and shower. The view from the bathroom was also excellent. There was a queen size, comfortable bed and tea / coffee facilities. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer storage available ( bring some hangers ).
Breakfast was served from 8am until 9.30 am and was superb, especially the full Scottish. Fruit juice, yoghurt, cereal, fruit and toast ( make your own and as much as you like ) was available and we were always offered another pot of tea or coffee each morning.
Evening meals were served from 6.30pm until 9pm and the food was excellent. It's not a la carte, but the quality, presentation and quantity were excellent. Good choice available, with a nightly "specials" menu. The menu didn't change throughout our stay, but there was a good choice of meat, fish and other dishes available. My wife said the fish was excellent and I loved the various meat dishes, especially the pork loin.
The best part of our stay were the owners, who made us feel so welcome right from the start. They were friendly, amusing, and easy to talk to and seemed to genuinely care for all their guests. This was no mean feat, as whilst we were there, we talked to French, Italian, American and English tourists, all with different tastes and requirements, but the owners handled all this with good humour and great service.
Will defo be going back to the Lochnell, it's a wee gem!! Location is excellent, 5 miles from Oban, 43 miles from Fort William, and Glencoe just a 30 minute drive. Scenery and views are stunning from the hotel. From our room balcony ( room 1 or 2 ) we were privileged to see a sea otter feeding on the back of a boat moored on the loch, wonderful experience. If you do visit, you must go to Ardnamurchan, a truly beautiful place, and visit Sanna beach, a truly memorable experience!!
Couldn't really fault the Lochnell. It doesn't look much from the outside, but once you're inside, you won't be disappointed!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank chrisharris444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Tripple room with good views over the river and well away from the bar. The room was clean and tidy and well looked after. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided along with a Freeview TV. Ensuite bathroom had a good electric shower and nice fluffy towels. Toilet flush was a bit temperamental and occasionally the cistern would fill continuously unless handle returned to usual position.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and it exceeded expectations in many areas. Firstly the hard working couple who own it could not be more welcoming. They and their staff always had a big smile and made us feel welcome from start to finish. The dining room is a conservatory and patio with views over Loch Etive, the Connel Bridge and the Falls of Lora. If you get the opportunity see if you can secure Room 1 which is built into the roof and as well as a being a clean, en-suite bedroom, it has its own patio doors onto a balcony with a table and two chairs. With the right weather (which we had) drinking wine on this balcony looking down on the Loch is an absolute must. Definitely a place to return. Please keep up the good work in being the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a balcony overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

I could not fault the cleanliness of this place or the lovely evening meal that we had or indeed the wonderful view, however I can say that I found the rooms to be slightly dated in appearance with regards to faded pictures, non matching and stained furniture and tired wallpaper also the TV was the size of a matchbox which was a bit disappointing for the size of room, but I suppose there was always the view.

The most disappointing was the fact that breakfast was not served until 8am, In my opinion this is a bit late, however might suit some.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nyah1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The welcoming atmosphere continued though our stay. The restaurant was great and we enjoyed our Seniors meal. There was a spectacular sunset and it was lovely to walk along the 'beach' to capture it. Our sleep was disturbed by a noisy motor running which was a shame as otherwise it was a comfortable place.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rutlandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
498 reviews
6.7 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,861 reviews
6.7 km away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
449 reviews
6.9 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
855 reviews
6.9 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochnell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochnell Arms Hotel

Address: North Connel, Connel, Oban PA37 1RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range: €66 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lochnell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lochnell Arms Hotel is a small family run hotel in a spectacular Loch side location, situated just 5 miles outside of Oban. We have 10 on-suite bedrooms, lounge bar, restaurant which is also open to non residents, outside terrace, and public bar with pool table and darts. The cosy lounge bar has a large open fireplace, and the restaurant has a stunning view over the Loch. All our meals are home made and freshly prepared by our chefs, who use local produce where possible. Popular Sunday carvery served all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lochnell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Nell Arms Connel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing