We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible late lunch ”

The Boat House Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boat House Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Lamberhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Perched on the water's edge and with panoramic views across the water and surrounding countryside, The Boat House Bistro at Bewl Water offers a simply stunning setting for a relaxed and leisurely meal. Neutral tones, nautical theming and unparalleled vistas allow the beauty of Bewl Water reservoir and nature reserve to take centre stage. Using fresh, locally sourced produce, our team of highly skilled chefs create a range of exquisite seasonal dishes, offering a, exquisite refined menu. We can also accommodate for special occasions, larger parties, private and corporate events and functions, and weddings.
Restaurant details
Description: Perched on the water's edge and with panoramic views across the water and surrounding countryside, The Boat House Bistro at Bewl Water offers a simply stunning setting for a relaxed and leisurely meal. Neutral tones, nautical theming and unparalleled vistas allow the beauty of Bewl Water reservoir and nature reserve to take centre stage. Using fresh, locally sourced produce, our team of highly skilled chefs create a range of exquisite seasonal dishes, offering a, exquisite refined menu. We can also accommodate for special occasions, larger parties, private and corporate events and functions, and weddings.
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We had seen the place online and wanted to try so booked a table for 330pm on Saturday for lunch.
2 courses £19 great deal.
I have to say this is the definition of simple food perfectly executed!
The chicken was to die for, literally didn’t want to leave a spec on our plates.
Order the sauce on the side so that you get a lot of it because it’s finger licking good!
The Eskimo dessert was extremely indulgent just a bit much for me but still faultless.
We were so impressed and will be back!
Incredible view goes without saying

Thank Mary-Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BewlWater, General Manager at The Boat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Mary-Beth M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Boat House Bistro.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your late Saturday lunch and found the food to be perfectly executed.

Your kind comments have been passed on to the relevant teams who will be delighted to hear it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

The Boat House Bistro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Delicious chicken roast with a stunning swede mash, scrumptious chorizo stuffing, rich gravy (jus) to die for, the most perfectly cooked roasties and seasonal vegetables. Followed by a hearty bowl of a yummy profiteroles and a deliciously zingy key lime pie with raspberry sorbet. All this served with a smile and a beautiful view across Bewl Water. Will will most certainly be returning as we’d love to try more from the chef who clearly knows what he’s doing - top notch cooking and deep flavours.

Thank FunkyMunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BewlWater, General Manager at The Boat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear FunkyMunkee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a great review of The Boat House Bistro.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your dining experience.

Your kind feedback has been passed on to the relevant teams who will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

The Boat House Bistro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Came here in January & done the fish & chips on Friday which was fantastic & great value . So thought we would try it on a Sunday afternoon & took two friends well what can I say excellent service friendly staff & wow our starters & main course was excellent .Will be back had a lovely afternoon

Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BewlWater, General Manager at The Boat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Nicole C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a great review.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your Sunday afternoon with friends. We are also pleased you found the food to be excellent and the staff to be friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

The Boat House Bistro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Wow what an amazing valentines gift! I learnt so much in a short space of time.
my Boyfriend can't get me out the kitchen now.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank actionjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BewlWater, General Manager at The Boat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear actionjules,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your cookery lesson at The Boat House Bistro.

We are pleased to read that you thought it was an amazing valentines gift and that you learnt so much.

Your kind comments has been passed on to the relevant teams who will be delighted to hear it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon; keeping cooking!

Kind regards,

The Boat House Bistro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We were visiting Bewl and decided to go for a roast #betterthanyournan’s the food was amazing, and the service was great even on a busy subda6 afternoon. I will definitely be coming back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BewlWater, General Manager at The Boat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Courtney S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your positive review of The Boat House Bistro.

We are delighted to read that you found the food to be amazing and that you felt the service was great.

Your kind feedback in regards to our food and service has been passed on to the relevant teams who will be delighted to hear it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Boat House Bistro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House Bistro also viewed

Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Wadhurst, East Sussex
 

Been to The Boat House Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing