We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality French cuisine ”

Restaurant La Bastide
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Monpazier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I have been visiting Monpazier for nearly twenty years and have seen the fortunes of the few restaurants rise and fall. La Bastide is the finest restaurant in the town currently.
There is an impressive menu of well matched French cuisine, with a good range and interesting complementary dishes.
There were three of us and we decided to share some white wine so had two bottles of Bergerac quartet vents at €18 per bottle. It was excellent quality. My two companions had duck as mains and it looked very tasty. I had red snapper, which was skilfully prepared and a delicate balance of flavours.
We ate out on the street on a balmy August evening and it was pleasant. We were joined by a couple of bats at the end of the evening after the house martins had gone to bed.
One drawback that is no way the fault of the restaurant is that if you eat outside you are quite close to passing cars and noisy mopeds. There are plenty of covers inside.

Thank Sal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard C, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre sympathique avis. Nous sommes désolés pour les quelques désagréments mais les rues ne sont pas piétonnes à Monpazier. Bien cordialement et au plaisir de votre prochaine visite....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We ate here last year for the first time and couldn't wait to go back this year. Market day on Thursday so a special menu - €17 for 3 delicious courses of fresh food, beautifully cooked and served!
Thank you again.

1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard C, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017
Google Translation

Toute l'équipe du restaurant vous remercie et espère vous recevoir à nouveau lors de votre prochain passage au marché.... l'année prochaine peut-être ? en attendant portez-vous bien, cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Having strolled around the town as part of our tour of the Bastides within the area we settled in for some lunch at this restaurant which had something for everyone whether you wanted a light meal, sweet or savoury and at reasonable prices. Well worth a visit.
The service was good and the waitresses were attentive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clivers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard C, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017
Google Translation

Un grand merci de toute l'équipe du restaurant. Et au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau, Cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

First time we saw this restaurant open in the two weeks we stayed so unfortunately only got to eat here the once. But what a treat though. The service and food were both top class. Value for money was also a winner. Our experience was only slightly let down by what we thought was a lacking ambiance. By that we mean magnolia walls and a rather stark interior. Kind of like a hotel restaurant. Maybe if the place was a bit more full it may have distracted us. However, the placings were set out perfectly and the presentation plates, glass, chinaware were well thought through, so please take the ambiance criticism with a large pinch of salt.

1  Thank Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard C, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions pour votre avis et sommes ravis que vous ayez bien mangé. Cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

You think that you've had the best and then you come here.......
A starter of duck in various guises before fillet of sturgeon with rice and caviar and the best cooked veg amounts to a great meal. You couldn't better this!... until you have the creme brulee!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Batcave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard C, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre avis et espérons vous recevoir bientôt dans notre restaurant. Cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Bastide also viewed

 
Monpazier, Dordogne
 
Nojals-et-Clotte, Dordogne
Monpazier, Dordogne
 

Been to Restaurant La Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing