We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
369
155
29
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
155
29
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pine forest walking holiday teide national park coastal resorts turkish bath peaceful hotel steam room three nights climbing wall the hotel website swimming pool enjoyed our stay balcony overlooking half board a wonderful stay superior room fantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We live on the island and we come to this hotel for peace and tranquillity. It is set at the top of a hill surrounded by forest. Tremendous views and walks. You can walk to Vilaflor but its down a steep hill and us a pull coming back. A car is really essential. The hotel itself is oldy, worldy, comfortable and restful. Staff are wonderful, spa is lovely and the restaurant for a hotel is good value for money. Definitely worth a try.

Room Tip: We always book a superior double. Just has that extra touch. The suites are lovely if you want to pay more.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tommo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Genuinely friendly staff, great spa facilities and an awesome location.

Vilaflor is the highest village in Tenerife - so, the Hotel Spa Villalba also offers a great base for outdoor pursuits and exploring Mount Teide National Park.

The sense of calm and quietness is really quite something (especially if you are looking for an alternative to the coastal resorts). Lovely spacious room, with balcony.

Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful experience, we hope to see you again!

Room Tip: Ask from a room over looking the forest or pool.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Beautiful hotel set in the very peacful village of Vilaflor. We enjoyed the spa, gym and pool. Continental breakfast was tasty, our event meal was superb . The room and hotel in general was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martindalefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Just spent a lovely week at Hotel Spa Villalba to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. This was our first visit to Tenerife. Not liking large hotels which are in other resorts this hotel seemed to fit all our wishes. It was confirmed as soon as we walked into reception. The lady apologised that there was only one restaurant. That is all we need. The hotel had been found by our travel agent in a tour operator's brochure, but on checking the hotel website it was much cheaper to book direct, although we did book the flights and car hire, which were part of the original package with our travel agent. Due to our anniversary we had booked the suite with jacuzzi and terrace, we were not disappointed. There was a lovely sitting room with TV, fridge and safe, tastefully furnished. The bedroom had a super kingsize bed, it was a case of waving my wife goodnight as it was so large. There was also a TV and large wardrobe. The bathroom was large with a big jacuzzi, bidet and twin washbasins. The first night we found it to be hot in the suite, as the hotel heating still thought it was winter. On consulting reception we had to turn everything off to make it a comfortable temperature. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job each day. Our room 104, which was on the ground floor looked towards Los Christianos. The view through the pines in the grounds was obscured ofen by clouds half way down the hill. The skies at the hotel were cloudless. The grounds were very relaxing with seats located throughout. The trees were full of birds singing with the occasional woodpeckers.
We arrived just before 3.30pm with the restaurant due to close at 4pm. Antonio was very welcoming and we enjoyed a lovely salad. We were on half board and were pleased that the restaurant opened at 7pm as we do not like eating late. Each night the starter was a soup or salad or vegetarian option. We had a main course choice of fish, meat, usually pork or beef, and a vegetarian option. There was a sorbet cheesecake and fruit for desert. Antonio and his staff were excellent. He had a wry sense of humour. He was ably supported by Matthais and two recent members of staff. We enjoyed the house dry white wine produced nearby. One night, due to the dishes we ordered we asked Matthais's adivice in choosing a suitable wine. His excellent knowledge of wine meant we had the perfect wine to go with the meal. This might be because his family were involved in a local vineyard. Some earlier reviews were not impressed by the breakfast. However we found it very good. It was buffet style with cereal, cold meat, fruits, yoghurt along with scrambled egg, bacon and boiled eggs. There was lovely freshly baked bread as well.
I had been in contact with the hotel prior to our arrival and on the day of anniversary the ordered bouquet of flowers duly arrived and Antonio gave us complimentary glasses of Cava at dinner on learning of the event.
Overall we had a lovely week, excellent staff and location. We went out and explored that end of the island. On our travels we did not see a hotel in a location that bettered Hotel Alba. There were a few British visitors with the majority being German French and Belgium. This might explain why there was no BBC channels on the TV. The wifi was excellent with good speeds. We did not use the spa or the swimming pool.
We hope to return to the hotel in the future. It provided a restful retreat away from the busy coastal resorts.

Room Tip: 104 had a lovely terrace
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We have enjoyed our stay in Vilaflor. It is such luxury to stay somewhere so peaceful and comfortable - a real home from home. To stay here you need a car and we found TF-51 by far the best route up from the south. There are a few walks you can do from the hotel through the pine forest and it is possible to walk into the town (although quite an uphill struggle back to the hotel). There are a few good restaurants in Vilaflor - we liked the cafe in the main plaza and La Paz on the road towards Teide was good value. If going to Mount Teide, which is a 30 min drive, it is best to book online for a time to go up in the cable car and go early to ensure a parking space. It is colder in Vilaflor than down by the coast which we found ideal for walking but drove down to the coast of Adeje for some warmth on other days. The driving can be a bit of a pain somedays as once you have completed the local walks and visited the town there is nothing else to do in Vilaflor. The spa in the hotel is small but well maintained. I found the pool a little chilly to swim in but the jacuzzi and steam rooms are great. I also appreciated that I didn’t see any cockroaches while staying here. This was a main concern for me as I have a slight phobia and it was a relief to relax knowing that I wouldn’t have to deal with the little critters! Staff were friendly and efficient. The restaurant food was excellent- slightly more choice for vegetarians would be appreciated but having 2 menu options is better than none at all. If you want a quiet, relaxing (no small children allowed!), holiday then you can’t beat this place.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank smeiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews